10/25 Lovey PMPS 385 +3.25 175 +4.5 187

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106917
Confused ...

Could this be another bounce or could something else be going on? I have been doing some night readings at + 5 and am getting blue numbers. When my husband can get home for lunch, he does a day reading. He got one today at 325 at +5. Is it possible that Lovey is telling me this dose isn't good for her? could there be a rebound from too much insulin and I am missing when it happens since I don't do the intensive testing that many of you do on this protocol. I can understand bouncing but ....Do you think this could be the SOmgogyi effect?

Do you think Lovey is going lower after +5 or +6 and I am not catching it or could she be bouncing from medium blues still? Am I not doing enough testing? She did not bounce this much on 2.25. I can't understand what is going on?


Does more insulin help bouncing? If I move to 2.75? Does Lovey's spreadsheet look unusual?
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey AMPS 334 +5 325 PMPS 385 Bounce or Rebound?

I think the general rule is the more testing you can do, the more data you have. And more data is definitely better.

Its good to see that he is hitting some blues at night though! Crushy does that too....he will go lower during either the day or night, then the next cycle will be pink then back to lower numbers the following cycle.

I think there is a distinction between bouncing and the somgogyi effect. More experienced members may be able to shed light on that though.....
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey AMPS 334 +5 325 PMPS 385 Bounce or Rebound?

How is Crushy doing? He received fluids at the vet? how is he eating
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey AMPS 334 +5 325 PMPS 385 Bounce or Rebound?

he's eating well now thanks!
appetite seems to be fully restored :-D
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey AMPS 334 +5 325 PMPS 385 Bounce or Rebound?

Yes, it does look like you might have some bouncing going on, but it's also probably a good idea to go ahead and increase to 2.75

The more testing you do, the better you're going to know how Lovey is doing..it's that simple. If you have time this weekend, maybe you can do a curve or mini-curve. (full curve is every 2 hours for an entire cycle, mini-curve is every 3 hours for an entire cycle)

The protocol on increases:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Both the 1st and 2nd example apply to Lovey's numbers...You've been at 2.5 for 15 cycles (and have a couple nadirs under 200), but the 2nd example would apply too because some of the nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300....so you could increase .25 now and see how it goes
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey PMPS 385 and +3.25 175

Thanks Chris for your response. I am just a little confused with Lovey's patterns and steep drops. I did go ahead and move to 2.75 this evening. A 200 point jump in 3 hr 15 min? Lovey ate a snack a little while I go.

PMPS 385

+ 3.25 175
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey AMPS 334 +5 325 PMPS 385 Bounce or Rebound?

If you mean a 200 point drop, I'd be sure to keep testing tonight...at least until after her nadir. That's a big drop from a PMPS of 385 to a +3.25 of 175 and it'd probably be a good idea to give her a little food now..see if you can slow her down just a little

If that's what's happened, watch her to see if she goes looking for food...When China's BG drops, she heads for the food bowl, and that's a pretty common reaction
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey AMPS 334 +5 325 PMPS 385 Bounce or Rebound?

i would try to slow down that drop - that quick of a drop in itself, can cause a bounce. that's about 70ish points per hour. it's not a concern, but i would give some food, lc or maybe even a little bit of med carb, and get another test at +5, just for safety.
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey PMPS 385 +3.35 175

I fed two teaspoons LC about one half hour ago. Should I offer food again? I will test again at about + 4
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey PMPS 385 +3.35 175

I don't think you need to if you just fed her right before the +3.25...we don't want to fill her up now and maybe need her to eat later

She's not dangerously low, but when they drop that fast, it can be a good hint that they're going to have an active cycle
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey PMPS 385 +3.35 175

Chris, do you think it is possible that Lovey does a steep drop in the morning and then bounces soon after when I get a reading at +5 or so? Or is that not possible?
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey AMPS 334 +5 325 PMPS 385 Bounce or Rebound?

Hi Catherine,

I'm sorry - I don't remember - are you still using the Alphatrak? I looked on your SS & didn't see where you changed meters, so I assume that's what you're still using? Just want to make sure because there is a difference in the readings between animal & human meters.
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey PMPS 385 +3.35 175

Anything is "possible" but I'd think if she was diving during the AM cycle, at some point you would have caught signs of it at +5

Why don't you do a curve (every 2 hours) or mini curve this weekend (every 3 hours) and fill in some blanks?
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey PMPS 385 +3.35 175

Hi, Suzanne
Yes, I am still using Alpha Trak. I am going to change over, but I didn't yet.
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey PMPS 385 +3.35 175

If you like the small sample size the AlphaTrak needs, you should check out the Relion Confirm or Micro...they take the same TINY sample, and instead of about $1 a piece for strips (and only available at the vets office which is really inconvenient if you NEED them at 3am) they're about $18 for 50 strips
 
Re: 10/25 Lovey PMPS 385 +3.25 175

I ordered the relion micro and some strips from Walmart. I got it in the mail but i haven't opened it yet.
 
Catherine, there is a meter differential between the Alphatrak (animal) & relion (human) meters. The human meters read lower, but I'm not exactly sure by how much so I don't want to advise you on numbers. The more experienced members can advise you better than I, but while you're still using the Alphatrak, make sure members understand. I see it's in your profile, so that's good.

What % LC food do you feed and at what times?

Sometimes a 'bouncey' cat can be leveled out somewhat by feeding at PS, +1, +2 & +3. (Divide a normal 'meal' into mini-meals). With Tigger, who is a roller-coaster kitty, I'm experimenting with 5% (up from 2 & 3%), & giving more food at PS & +1, smaller at +2 & +3. But - ECID - some may do better with more food at +2 & +3, less to start. It does take up to several weeks to see an effect (tho' some cats respond more quickly).

Unless you're dealing with a hypo / low numbers & need to feed HC or syrup to get your kitty's BG up, it's usu. recommended not to feed after the cat's nadir unless its some fd treats or very lc chicken breast, etc. Additional food puts the brakes & slows the effect the insulin has later in the cycle.
 
Hi Suzanne, thank you so much for the feeding tips. The animal meter runs about 30 points higher than the human meters. I should not go below 80.

My 80 is equivalent to your 50.

Suzanne how much food to you feed at shot time and +1. My cat is about 12 pounds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top