10/25 Joplin AMPS: 261

Status
Not open for further replies.
I copied this from your yesterday condo because it's a great question/observation:

Cherylockholmes said:
But see, this is where I'm confused. If Lantus is based on the depot, and individual dose adjustments don't have any effect (at least that's what someone said just the other day) then what is the point in even giving a BCS, and why should it have any effect? Shouldn't that reduced dose not "show up" for several days based on the depot theory?
There is usually some impact during the cycle in which you skip the shot, but more of the impact tends to show up over the next few cycles.

What I have seen is that if you give just a tiny bit of a reduction, the cycle will often look about the same as if you had given the full shot. If you give a LOT of a reduction, or skip the shot entirely, then you are more likely to see higher numbers during that cycle (plus you'll often see numbers over the next few days too).

Your high AMPS yesterday was probably influenced somewhat by the reduced shot the night before, but it also looks like Joplin might have been starting a bounce anyway (see how he was 66 at PS, then just went straight up from there?). It looks like a bounce from something that happened during the 10/23 AM cycle. If it was a bounce, the high number may have happened even if you had given a full shot the night before, though it might not have been quite as high. Either way, Joplin is recovering nicely. :smile:

Good question!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top