? 10-25 Gizmo AMPS=334; +9.75=279; PMPS=343; +2=203; +3=136 Unplanned vet visit tonight & Neg IAA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

AMPS = 334
+9.75 = 279

PMPS = 343

Reduced dose to 8.5 units last night due to Gizmo's strange behaviors and lower number when I got home. Felt fairly confident about leaving him today, but as soon as I walked in the door tonight he was swaying as he walked. Grabbed a test and he was in the 200s. He walked over to his cube and basically fell into it. When my husband got home a few minutes later, I coaxed Gizmo out of the cube with a treat. He stumbled over and there was something wrong with his back legs. They kept falling from side to side. We called vet and at first they had no appointments except emergency after 8pm. Then asked if we could be there for 5. It was already 4:33 and we are 30 minutes away. I said it would be close. They said that's fine and off we went. Didn't make it until 5:20. :banghead:

Vet visit - of course he walked aound the room perfectly fine. She felt his spine and hips and said he definitely was resisting her. So she believed something was bothering him. Said we could do X-rays, but not necessary. We decided to do them for a baseline to check for arthritis. They came back and everything looked good. She research cabergoline side effects and acro in general, but didn't find much. Basically said the cabergoline and acro could have unknown side effects. However, she thinks it is just nerve damage due to the diabetes (which is kinda what I thought also). I asked about B-12 injections and she gave him one and said if it helped we could continue them at home (I asked since I didn't want to take him weekly). Also gave him Gabapentin 50mg tablets twice a day. Said it was a pain med specifically for nerve pain.

On a side note, he has been fine since we got home ... even went up and down the stairs! :rolleyes: And we got the IAA results tonight! :) Negative at 4% - at least he has something NOT wrong with him. LOl
 
What a day for y'all. Glad that the IAA is negative. So, what was wrong with Gizmo and his motor skills? If the x-ray looked good, is the vet thinking it is the cabergoline? Weird and wonderful that he is fine now that you are at home. CATS!!! They are going to kill us!
 
What a day for y'all. Glad that the IAA is negative. So, what was wrong with Gizmo and his motor skills? If the x-ray looked good, is the vet thinking it is the cabergoline? Weird and wonderful that he is fine now that you are at home. CATS!!! They are going to kill us!
The vet thinks neuropathy.
 
+3 = 136:eek:

Is it even possible that Gizmo dropped low during the day the past two days? Could he still be acting "drunk" (that is how my vet described a symptomatic hypo) when his numbers have already started to bounce back up? Just really wondering now since I decreased last night and then shot 45 minutes tonight and he is dropping very quickly. :confused:
Thoughts?
 
What are the benefits of these? I might look into using them.

The injectable B-12 is usually a different form...and isn't as effective as the oral for neuropathy. Injectable is usually cyanocobalamin, where the oral form is methylcobalamin

The injection has it's benefits...usually helps with appetite and energy, but if you want to treat the neuropathy, go with the Zobaline
 
Oh my goodness how scary. I’m glad he’s ok and the X-ray showed nothing.
Anything is possible but I look at your ss and it all seems similar when you were getting mid day data. I saw no lime greens since 9/10.
So many swear by Zobaline. I do see a difference in Beenie. Her rear paws used to slide out from under her like she was ice skating and not very good at it. So there is improvement.
Have you seen signs of neuropathy prior to these two episodes?

:bighug::bighug:
 
I thought neuropathy onset more gradually, not all of a sudden, but I could be wrong.

As Chris said, the injectible B12 is different from the kind you give to treat neuropathy. They good thing about Zobaline (and other B12 tablets) is that you can't give too much - they just pee out what they don't use. So it's not a bad idea to get it and give it a try. It does take several weeks to a couple of months to see results. With Cinco it was about 2-3 weeks that we started to see a difference, and several months before he was walking almost normally. He had gone untreated so long he had some permanent damage, but the improvement from the Zobaline truly was remarkable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top