10/25 Curry PMPS 96, +2-88, +3-72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tena and Curry(GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28141

All is well in CurryLand. I did increase her dose this morning.....She was on .75 for 5 cycles instead of 6......Wet noodles for me.....I beat y'all to it......She was flattening out by yesterday evening again with preshots above 100.....So I increased it to 1 unit.....which is what she was at before the move.



AMPS 104

+2-115
+3-93
+8.5 -99 (snack)
 
I can't help but smile when people consider 1.75u a big dose. Shadow was on 10u BID at one point.

Since Shadow and I came here, I have studied and read and learned. a lot. I think when cat owners are faced with a DX of FD, they want to race their kitties to remission so everything will be like it was when kitty was well. I suppose that is human nature. We all want the best for our loved ones. Like any other bean, when Shadow was first diagnosed, I freaked out. I wanted her to be well and whole again. Over time, I have redefined what I consider "well and whole" and I have tempered my goals for her.

I want her to be happy and as healthy as a little-old-lady cat can be. And that is our "mission statement."

We adhere closely to the protocol because I have seen how well Shadow does and how well she feels, but it isn't to get her OTJ, it is to keep her numbers green. I tweak her meals and shoot low to stay low and read and study and do my part to help keep her BG down. For her part, she loves canned food. :-D. She makes that part easy. I want her insulin dose to be what makes her feel the best, whatever that dose might be.

We have settled into a life that is easy and manageable. If Shadow goes into remission someday, I'll be thrilled for her. But I'm completely OK with it if she doesn't.
 
I wouldn't call going from .3 to .4. to .5 and then Fat .5 "racing". And the microdosing is most likely not as accurate for me....lots of room for error or just different dosing each shot since there is no line.....others might be really good at this....i'm not as talented and accurate... ..its still guesswork....as opposed to getting the doses at .5 and 1.0.....

Just trying to keep Curry in the greens...
 
oh I'm so sorry Tena - I didn't mean you at all - was just speak in generalities, more about myself and how my thinking has evolved as Shadow and I have gone forward.
please forgive me.
 
I don't think I expressed myself very well - what I thought I was saying is this: when Shadow was first diagnosed, I was heartsick. My vet has had other kitties go into remission so I set myself a goal and gave us 3 months on insulin for Shadow to get well. I never even questioned him when he raised her doses so rapidly because it suited my time frame. I was a dodo, totally ridiculous, naive, a dummy. She and I were going to race thru this because I wanted her to be well as fast as possible. But over time, I have come to realize that this all happens on her time frame, not mine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top