10/25 Charlie AMPS 353 PMPS 77 +1 86 +2 94 +3 131 +8 326

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Hi guys,

We need advice.

We didn't test a lot today as we haven't been around. Also, as the past few days we didn't notice a real big impact with the .75 units, we weren't concerned. Now at PMPS, I see that Charlie is at 54. It is 7 minutes from shot time. We can delay a little bit, but not so much this evening as we need to have Charlie on a specific time clock for the cat sitter who will be here over the weekend, so we have gradually over the past week been moving both shots back a bit to accommodate that. Still, I don't want to move it past 9 (30 mins from now) as we agreed for her to shoot at 8:30 and I don't want to confuse things or introduce any complexity that would add risk while we're gone.

So for this evening's shot. Shoot? Shoot less (.5 units)? Stall? Don't shoot? My gut tells me to stall and wait max 30 minutes to 9pm. Then if we shoot at all, to make it .5 units max.
She's quite low tonight and I can't figure out why since I didn't think the .75 was having a real impact. There goes Charlie throwing us curve balls.

Second question:
- To prepare for the cat sitter, we will prepare a sample syringe with food coloring and water or with red juice. I was thinking that she should shoot .5 this weekend. Is that reasonable? Or too high, considering the .75 had the impact it did today?

Thanks for your help,
Jill
 
Re: 10/25 Charlie AMPS 353 PMPS 54 Need advice

You can stall or do a BCS of .5 u, but don't do both. That would be like a double reduction.

A full .25 u reduction is a lot for most cats and needs some dose adjustment. It might be good to do the BCS now and see how Charlie does on it before the petsitter this weekend.
 
Re: 10/25 Charlie AMPS 353 PMPS 54 Need advice

Also, without the mid cycle tests recently it is impossible to know how low Charlie might have gone. All those high preshots could have been bounces from midcycle lows.
 
Re: 10/25 Charlie AMPS 353 PMPS 54 Need advice

BCS (big chicken **** dose)? Is that the .5?

It's 15 mins later. I will test. In your opinion, what's the minimum she needs to be at in order to shoot the .5 units? Anyway we will reduce to .5 as tomorrow during the day we need to make a call. We fly in the evening tomorrow and the cat sitter comes tomorrow night.

Jill
 
Re: 10/25 Charlie AMPS 353 PMBG 54 Need advice

Now she's at 77 (fifteen mins later). We gave her .5 units and will test this evening.
 
Re: 10/25 Charlie AMPS 353 PMPS 54 Need advice

Good shooting, the 15 minute delay should not make a big difference. Yes, BCS is anytime we shoot a lower dose than usual for safety's sake.

This is where having all that extra data comes in handy. I'd continue to monitor at least hourly to watch for a rise today . If her shed was really full you could continue to see low numbers for a cycle or two.

When you get a late nadir like that it's a pretty good bet that she had been going lower overnight and you hadn't been catching it. A very full shed can delay the nadir. I'm glad this happened before you were gone and the petsitter was in charge.
 
Re: 10/25 Charlie AMPS 353 PMPS 77 +1 86

Not sure I fully understand. There have been a few times over the past weeks where she has had a low PMPS. I have the impression that Charlie sometimes has a second dip late in the day. We will test every hour tonight as I will have to make a call tomorrow on how much the cat sitter can shoot (.5 or .25). She is not sure she'll be able to do any blood tests since she has never done them before. I showed her how and she will try, but neither of us are sure Charlie will cooperate.
 
Re: 10/25 Charlie AMPS 353 PMPS 77 +1 86 +2 94 +3 131

She seems to be slowly going up. Going to bed now. I wonder if this is a bounce from going low today? Gnite all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top