10/25 Bub AMPS 434, PMPS 373, +2 359, +4 404

Alli and Bub

Member Since 2022
Yesterday
Another day of high numbers. Don't even know if there is even a nadir. Was hoping the numbers would trend back down after the skipped doses, that doesn't seem to be the case. Feeling really discouraged...
 
I was reading your post from yesterday, and you said something about asking for permission to change your cat's diet? What I feed my IBD kitty is not something that I talk much to my vet about. She asks, and I tell her, but that's it. She also has an IBD kitty, so we do exchange notes. She doesn't feed Z/D either. She calls it "hydrolized chicken feathers". LOL. Needless to say, that clinic doesn't sell it. She, and I, feed commercially available food. Z/D is horribly high in carb, and changing food will make a huge difference in dose needed.

You've been on this dose long enough with SLGS, that you could try an increase to 3.25 units now. That is, as long as you are continuing to feed Z/D.
 
I am hoping to hear from the vet today, but will probably go buy new food. She made diet for him a priority and at the time, before his steroids gave him diabetes, it seemed like the more available choice. I'm just wondering how to best transition him to the new food. Not sure if it would be best to change it right away and reduce insulin to make sure the combination of food and the current dosage doesn't make his numbers go down too fast, or if I should mix the foods and replace the z/d over time and reduce insulin as needed based off those numbers...
 
The best way to transition is slowly. Replace 1 tsp at a time. Reduce his dose if and when his numbers start telling you to.
 
Thanks for the responses! This is so stressful and I feel bad having to change so much on him.

Do you recommend one tsp substitution every feeding or each day? I currently feed him twice a day, but I am looking into the automatic wet food style feeders once I get his numbers down and maybe feed him more frequent meals.
 
Each feeding. More small meals are definitely better. And I would get a feeder now, no need to wait.
 
Back
Top