10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431 +4 324 +6 430! +8 456 +11 505

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misty&Bast

Member Since 2012
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=81842

This morning I thought we might be doing better as Bast woke us up and jumped around and purred. Then he was HI again! grrr. he ate a little and I gave him the 1U. first time he ever flinched. Maybe I am not as steady in the morning. He is so skinny I sometimes have issues getting the "tent" because it slips away. I did hold the needle still for an extra second or two this morning to make sure I got the meds in, I have been worried I was missing/furshot. I usally try to shoot him when he is eating in the scruff. the vet did shave a spot but it does seem too high when i tent so i probabl will shave my own spot later. I have to trim his ear hair later also - i can't see th blood drop from the hair sometimes. Ear hair isn't like wiskers he can't feel it?

He did outfox me last night. I had him in the bathroom for 2++ hours to get a pee sample and nothing. I finally let him out after the +2 test and was brushing my teeth,,,, then i had a thought and sure enough the little fuzball was leaving the cummunial cat box.... ohmygod_smile well at least I know he is going. SO today I will try again with some differnt sand in the box in the bathroom.

I did get an answer on the urine question - The paperwork says 1 hour or refrigerate the urine and let it come to room temp before testing. The 15 seconds is after dip. So If i check every hour on a box in the bath room it should be viable.

I am home today working on a wedding dress so I can do 2 hours tests. I used the clear top on the lancet machine this morning so i could see it and got a good one even on the back og the ear. I will try twisting today also.

right now he is purring and sitting on my shoulder.
My civie cat Luna had a hairball this morning and is not ammused with the wet food. I might have to feed her some treat later.
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431

+2 is 431 and gave him his oral meds.
Left ear was giving me fits so hit the right ear and got a messy spot. (ugg)
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431

Hi Misty-
Just thought I would stop in and say "HI." At least Bast came down into numbers. Lets hope the juice works well for him today.

It appears your previous link didn't come through. Here it is.
previous condo

Have a good day.
Karen
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431

I am haveing problems with links today. I can;t seem to get both the profile and the ss sheet to work at the same time
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431

No worries-
Here is the instructions I was sent when learning how to post my previous condos.

The next time you post, open your previous condo in a separate tab. Go into the browser window and copy the URL.Go to the new condo you're opening.

In there, type the following:

Previous Condo

(If you want the link to have a specfic name, instead of "Previous Condo" you can type the name you want.)

Hit "Preview" - that will tell you whether you did it right.

You are doing great. Hang in there. :smile:

Karen
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431

I can't even get the profile & ss sheet to work in my siggie. I can have one or the other working. I will try later
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431

I'm not very good with the computer and have my short cut notes at home. Currently at work and don't get off until 8:00pm. I can post again when I get a chance. It took me 45 days to figure out how to get my picture up....Ugh. Not techy at all!!! Or someone else will chime in.

Karen
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431 +4 324

+4 is 324
he does not like being woke up! LOL You see I am normally at work 11 to at least 6:30 sometimes 9 or 10 (during holidays) so he sleeps and gets up when we are home in the evening, we go to bed 2-4am. So today he is getting woke up every 2 hours and he thinks it is 6pm- lol
he comes over to the computer and wants to sit on my shoulder. ( he either forgives the prick for blood or has a short memory...)

but i found a treat he likes- turkey. I had some turkey breast in a sanwich and he liked the meat- didn't want a smidge of cheese but Luna ate it instead- LOL
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431 +4 324 +6 430!

+6 is 430== I thiought that was suppossed to be the low dip! What the heck!
I am really fustrated- I know it has not been that long he has been on Lantus but isn't it suppossed to be working by now?
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431 +4 324 +6 430!

I think the problem with the links in your signature is that the http info needs to be in between --> put the http info between here. Also, make sure you have the "share" permissions set to "anyone with the link."

Here's the link to your SS: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0AqsnbuQ1vRr3dFUyZ2J3MEVTaVhvTFhGMmg0WkJ1ZHc&output=html

It hasn't been that long. It takes 5 - 7 days for the insulin depot to form. It may be that Bast needs a dose increase but it's important to wait for the depot to form. Also, while Lantus isn't potent, what is sacrifices for potency, it makes up for in duration. (Potent insulins can be dangerous. Then slam numbers down quickly which means food must be on board in advance of a shot and you must be very careful about monitoring.)
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431 +4 324 +6 430! +8 456

The other thing that is probably going on is that the UTI is still present, and infection can cause higher BG numbers. The danger in upping the dose in reaction to these higher numbers (besides the explanation Sienne has given you that the shed needs to be "filled" and that takes a few days) is that when the infection clears, it can drop the BG numbers overall rather quickly. If you increase the dose, and the numbers drop from the infection clearing quickly, you could be faced with lower numbers than you expect or want all of a sudden.

Try to keep in mind that Bast didn't become diabetic overnight, and he won't get better overnight either. That's where "this is a marathon, not a sprint" comes from.

Patience pants are a must with FD.

Try these on for size!

Carl
 

Attachments

  • patience pants.jpg
    patience pants.jpg
    18.2 KB · Views: 348
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431 +4 324 +6 430! +8 456 +11

thank you carl- I will try to keep my pants on- LOL (needed that laugh)

I think I feel guilty that i didn't notice sooner or that i caused it feeding him dry food all this time. "I didn;t know " doesn;t seem like enough.
I have to work 11-9 tomarrow so unless I can sneak back for lunch I won't get any inbetween numbers.
I can take him to work but right now I think it will upset him- we have a haunted house next door and the screaming all day anooys me-
so I bet he would rather sleep on the bed all day.

I will save the "take the cat to work day" cards for later at the holidays when I really need it.
What gets me is other than being skinny you would never know he was sick.

So I will be good and give him the normal dose for pm and maybe take a last stick tonight.
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431 +4 324 +6 430! +8 456 +11

Hi Misty

Patience pants are something we all wear around here at some point. Don't be hard on yourself....none of our cats became diabetic on their own. We all make the best decision we can at the time. The important thing is you DID catch it and he's now getting what he needs.

I don't know if it will help you but I roll instead of tent when I shoot. So I pick up the skin where I'm going to shoot with my left hand (I'm right handed). And then I roll my left hand so the back of it faces the back of her head. This exposes the skin better for you to insert the needle.

PM me if you can't get the link in your signature block.
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431 +4 324 +6 430! +8 456 +11

"I didn;t know " doesn;t seem like enough.

"I didn't know" IS ENOUGH! Not too many of us did know that dry food was the worst thing ever. I sure as heck didn't, as every cat I've ever had ate it. The dry food itself isn't the only thing that caused this. Bob was the only one of a couple of dozen of my cats who ever got diabetes. For whatever reason, he got diabetes and the others didn't. And he was sick for weeks before I figured out it was time to take him to the vet for an explanation. He lost almost 10 pounds before I got a clue. Don't feel guilty over this. The important thing is what you do now that you know, and you're doing a great job so far. So no more time for guilt, okay?

What gets me is other than being skinny you would never know he was sick.
Exactly. Most cats on insulin, once it starts to work, seem "normal" to anyone who doesn't know they are "sweeter than normal". AND, remember, he has no idea he's sick. He just knows that for some odd reason, his "mom" is now chasing him all over the house with sharp things in one hand and a weird looking "stick" in the other. And the more she does it, the better he feels. :smile:

You ever see "Gumball Rally"? Where the Italian driver (Franco) rips off his rear-view mirror and says "What's-a behind me is not important!" ? That's us. ;-)

Carl
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431 +4 324 +6 430! +8 456 +11

OMG- that has been me- but i have been chasing him across the bed waking him up (LOL) :lol: he can't figure out what the deal with the sock is! Then he comes out and visits going "what is all this about" LOL

Thank You everyone I feel better. I am going to give him his pm shot now and take a new test before bed. ;-)
 
Re: 10/25 Bast AMPS- HI +2 431 +4 324 +6 430! +8 456 +11

Sounds great. Have a great night and if you don't have any more questions, could you please take the "?" Off?

Thanks very much! Good night, Misty.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top