10/25 Bama Kitty PMPS 171 +1 177 +2 142 +3 117 +4 118 +5 128 +6 147 +8 137 +10.25 205

Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

Member Since 2018
Yesterday: 10/24 Bama Kitty AMPS 313 +2.25 271 +5.25 310; PMPS 348 +2.5 253 +4.5 243

Off to a good start solidly in the yellows where it appears he has been for much of the night. He ate his FF well in addition to Dr. Elsey's kibble. I'm still mixing the salmon with the chicken, about half and half, trying to use up the salmon. When I give him mid-cycle snacks, I stick with the chicken kibble although I can't tell much difference when he's had the salmon.
 
Nice blue! Pretty big drop from AMPS. You might want to give him a tsp of l/c or m/c and test again at +3.
Thanks, Summer. Gave him about a t of the Squeeze-up which I though was m/c but maybe not. It does have tapioca starch in it and he loves it but the calculations don't add up at scheyderweb.com like I remembered. I may try some other wet food that came in at 10% in a little bit after I test him again. This is both exciting and scary. I prefer a more measured drop rather than nearly 100 points in a couple hours but I guess I don't get a say in it. ;)
 
Thanks, Summer. Gave him about a t of the Squeeze-up which I though was m/c but maybe not. It does have tapioca starch in it and he loves it but the calculations don't add up at scheyderweb.com like I remembered. I may try some other wet food that came in at 10% in a little bit after I test him again. This is both exciting and scary. I prefer a more measured drop rather than nearly 100 points in a couple hours but I guess I don't get a say in it. ;)
I agree it can be scary. I think I always got the +2. It could tell me a lot about the trend. No, I didn't get a say in it either but the food helped if I was nervous.
 
I agree it can be scary. I think I always got the +2. It could tell me a lot about the trend. No, I didn't get a say in it either but the food helped if I was nervous.
I just took another reading here at +3 and he's steady at 168. I will have to leave the house at +5. My thoughts are that as low as he is staying steady, I shouldn't continue to feed but continue to get readings once an hour or 1/2 hour to monitor. Only feed if he continues to drop. He will be due a snack, if he's hungry, that I can give before I leave. Probably by then he will be headed for the stars but who knows.
 
Testing on the half hours until I leave at +5. Now at +3.5 he is @148 which is either a continued drop or meter variance. I just fed a small snack of Dr. Elsey's salmon kibble covered in about 1/2t of Squeeze-up. He'll eat just about anything if it's covered in Squeeze-up. I'll test again @+4 and re-evaluate. While I think he will be fine, I hate to be gone when I feel like I should be here to monitor.
 
When is his typical nadir? You don't have an auto feeder do you? Just make sure you leave some food for him. Maybe a little m/c. How long will you be gone?
 
When is his typical nadir? You don't have an auto feeder do you? Just make sure you leave some food for him. Maybe a little m/c. How long will you be gone?
I don't know that I've identified his typical nadir as he tends to be lower at preshot sometimes than mid-cycle. No, I don't have an auto feeder. If I got one, I'd have to train him on it since it wouldn't do the stirring, re-piling, adding warm water and general manipulation of his food that he has come to expect. :cat: I will have to leave for a few minutes but have changed plans somewhat so that I can come right back. Shouldn't be gone longer than 1/2 hour. I've just rescheduled some errands into the afternoon. And he's come up some since I fed him some FF Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast which I have marked on the can as 14%. Thanks, Summer, for checking in.
 
He was waiting for me at the door when I got back @+6. I had left the house for a short time but left kibble out which he didn't touch. Probably waiting on the extras. After all, why eat dry kibble when you can hold out for a ribbon of Squeeze-up or some of that tasty FF gravy food that you never knew even existed until now? So I added a ribbon of Squeeze-up and he polished off the kibble. It was snack time so I don't feel too bad about giving more food. I don't know if his appetite is hunger driven or Squeeze-up driven. I'll continue to monitor the BG but I don't see how the blues can last too much longer. Not with his recent history of bounces.
 
Looks like Bama double dips a lot late in the cycle. Susie used to do that from time to time. Really nice string of blues today. Looks like you have fed perfectly today. I wish I had gotten the chance to try the Squeeze-ups before Susie passed. It sounds like a "miracle" food.
 
Really nice string of blues. Slow it down if you are not comfortable. Remember, you hold the syringe and the cat food can. At night this can be hard.
I was going to get a +2 and then feed some MC if he is below 150. I keep thinking if he drops 100 points meanwhile, he'll be below 90 and need a reduction which I don't think he's earned yet since he hasn't had all that much time in the blue.
 
Back
Top