10/25/12 Honey pmps 263,+2 322, +9 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

Denise & Honey

Member Since 2012
Honey is on a bouncy after a trying and testing night last night.
Can you suggest a testing schedule for today that's hopefully not too aggressive to give her time to get over last night's testing and her ears chance to heal a bit?

Also, I was going to do the 1st curve tomorrow but if she's on a bounce, should I wait?
Maybe go for Monday?

Previous Condo

Thanks to Marje and Jane for getting me and Honey ;-) through last night!!
 
Re: 10/25/12 AMPS 393 - testing schedule advice

How about a +3, +6, and +10? Normally I'd say a +9 but trying to give her a break but still see where she is later in the cycle. Of course, if she starts coming down, we will need to change that. :-D

I left you a review post in yesterday's condo if you have a chance to read it.

Lets see where she goes today/tonight before deciding on the time for the curve. :-D :-D

I know you have small children but try to get some naps today. Sometimes these kitties switching from dry to canned like to put you through all the drills :lol:
 
Re: 10/25/12 AMPS 393 - testing schedule advice

Hi I don't think I've visited Honey's condo before. Welcome to LL! I think you might be my nearest neighbor here. :cool:

Honey seems to take one or two cycles to clear her bounces (that can always change!) so you should be safe only taking a couple of tests, maybe one when you think she onsets and at nadir. It is great to have this info to try to judge what will happen in the future. You want to be able to see when the bounce is clearing and I always like to take a +10 or +11 to see where the next cycle ay be heading.
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393 - testing schedule advice

Denise

Once your question is answered to your satisfaction, we ask you take the "?" off. We are often just circu listing looking for those questions and if one has been answered, that allows us to help someone else. Of course, if you have another question or need more info on the one you asked, leave it up :-D Thanks!
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393 - testing schedule advice

hi Marje

I'll remember about the question mark in future.

Also just remembered that I can't test at +6 today - kids swimming lesson.
I can do +5 before I leave.
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393, +3 373, +5 304, +11 271

her numbers are coming down - wondering about what to do with the pm shot?
She hasn't eaten since +3 and is really hungry - do I feed or retest??
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393, +3 373, +5 304, +11 271

We don't feed between +10 and +12 because you don't want to shoot a food spike. With meter variance...which can be up to 20%....she isn't dropping right now...she's just flat.

If she is above 150, I'd shoot her full dose on time. I doubt she will drop that much in one hour. Then feed her :-D
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393, +3 373, +5 304, +11 271

Hi Denise-
Just wanted to stop and say HI. Looks like you had a busy night. Definitely a 'great' way to gather information to see how Honey is responding. You have a great team behind you. Marje and Jane are WONDERFUL!!!! :YMHUG: And spent a couple nights with me as well.

Hope you have a great evening.
Karen
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393, +3 373, +5 304, +11 271

thanks Karen.
Honey went MIA this afternoon outside - I was really scared I wouldn't get her in for her pm shot.
I think she may have to become an indoor kitty!

Its so wonderful the way people respond on this board - makes you feel like you're not alone!
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393, +3 373, +5 304, +11 271

You aren't alone. Especially in the beginning when you feel so overwhelmed and totally confused. Yikes. It is hard to believe that was only 1.5 months ago for me. Feels like an eternity!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Sooo, what would Honey think about no more outside? Could be quite the adjustment, for everyone. :smile:

Karen
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393, +3 373, +5 304, +11 271

She loves being outside - we picked her up when she was about 16 wks old and she's still a bit feral (my other 2 we got at around 12 wks and they think they're human!).
She doesn't come for a cuddle or sleep on the bed like the others and generally, gets left to herself unless she decides to give us her attention for 10 mins or so.

The other 2 also go outside but they're easy to get in and always come when I go outside - Honey will hide.

I can't go through the worry of not getting her back in 1 night and missing the pm shot - she has done all-nighters in the past.
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393, +3 373, +5 304, +11 271

If she is above 150, I'd shoot her full dose on time. I doubt she will drop that much in one hour. Then feed her

Marje - I usually test, feed, shoot.
Should I give her the shot (assuming numbers ok) and then feed after that?
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393, +3 373, +5 304, +11 271

Denise

Yes..I'm around tonight and watching :lol: :lol: :smile: :smile:

That's fine....test, feed, shoot...I just meant to be sure you feed her when you shoot. We suggest the whole routine be done within 10 mins of each other. I usually test and while Gracie is eating, I shoot. She's so good, though, they it doesn't matter if she's eating or not.

I would highly recommend that as long as she is receiving insulin, Honey be an indoor cat. If she were to drop low while she was outside and you couldn't find her, she could hypo.

Lets hope it's a quiet night :-D :-D
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393, +3 373, +5 304, +11 271m pmps 2

just posted her pmps - 263
about to give shot - should I test at +2?
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393, +3 373, +5 304, +11 271m pmps 2

You might also want to pay attention to Honey's feeding times so that you can avoid her having to wait an extra 2 hours between +10 and shot time. I was purposefully offering food to my cat at +6 or +7 so she could go the long stretch of not getting fed between +7 and shot time.
(5 hrs was as long as she wanted to go)

It's not hard to convert a cat to being indoors only, just as long as you ignore her wanting outside. They get over it.
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393, +3 373, +5 304, +11 271, pmps 2

Nice surf continuing here.

I would get a +2 because you can get so much valuable info from it. If you remember the typical lantus cycle I posted last night, the +2 would be similar to the Preshot. If the +2 is much higher than the PS, it's likely to be a quiet cycle. If its similar to the PS, it's likely going to be a typical, active lantus cycle. If it is much lower than the PS, she's will likely drop early and you might see a much more active cycle than a typical one.

We typically recommend that you do not feed at or after nadir. Think of it like this. You are driving your car and coming up to an intersection and need to brake. Think of the car as the insulin and the intersection as +12. If you slam on the brakes of the car (feed food at or after nadir), then the car stops before you get to the intersection. If you just twke your foot off the accelerator, the car glides into the intersection losing very little momentum. Make sense?

If honey gets hungry later in the cycle, you can give her a super low carb treat like boiled chicken breast before +10.
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS 393, +3 373, +5 304, +11 271, pmps 2

Hey Denise

I know your +2 is in a few minutes. Just waiting to see it before I decide whether to go to bed :lol:
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS393,+3 373,+5 304,+11 271,pmps 263,+2

Oh Honey...drama queen!

Denise...if you are going to be up a while, I'd get a before bed test but I think it's going to be a quiet night. You will want to get a test when you get up in the morning just in case she starts to come down sometime during the cycle.

Hope you get some rest! I'm headed for bed but Jane will be around later if Honey comes down...which she might edge down a bit but I bet not much.

Ni Ni!
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS393,+3 373,+5 304,+11 271,pmps 263,+2

so guessing she's still bouncing from yesterday.

Thanks for everyone's help, particularly to Marje!
I'm off to bed too I-)
 
Re: 10/25/12 Honey AMPS393,+3 373,+5 304,+11 271,pmps 263,+2

Sleep well Denise, great work!

I'll keep an eye out for you in case you post any spot checks :smile:

I'm with Marje on trying to limit the outdoors-time for Honey while you still need to be able to test her so much. After some time, you might find that Honey will come in all on her own for shot/test times - a routine helps lots of kitties settle in, especially when they get treats at each test/shot :mrgreen: Since you know your cat so well, and know she loves being outside, I'd definitely make it a goal to allow her to do what she loves again, when she and you are ready. I just love it when cats can be cats outside as well as inside :-D

You're doing such a good job with Honey!

Hugs
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top