10/25 +11 547, PMPS 441, +1 436, +2 557, +3 340!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-316-3-275-4-304-6-309-whats-going-on.185841/

This is the lowest preshot number Asia has had on this new dose, and one of her lowest preshot numbers ever. Today should be interesting. We will see what happens.

Asia continues to be extra happy, she's really digging the new food I think. I bought a couple different varieties (turkey & lamb) in addition to the chicken, thinking a different protein might convince Toki that this new food is a good thing. Toki said nope, but to my surprise, Asia ate the turkey too! Asia has been a staunch nothing but chicken cat since pretty much forever. Four paws up for Rad Cat, hopefully soon to be eight paws up. ;)
 
Wonderful start!! paws crossed for eight paws up
paws crossed.png
Rad Cat sounds like a winner
 
Have you tried to put a tiny amount of Rad Cat in with Toki's food? She may not eat it at first, but it would expose her to the smells. It could take a few days before she thinks maybe I should taste that and see what all the fuss is about.
Disclaimer: If Toki is a male, forgive me!! Some of us put our civvies' information in our signature. ;)
 
Have you tried to put a tiny amount of Rad Cat in with Toki's food? She may not eat it at first, but it would expose her to the smells. It could take a few days before she thinks maybe I should taste that and see what all the fuss is about.
Disclaimer: If Toki is a male, forgive me!! Some of us put our civvies' information in our signature. ;)
Thanks, yes, she's a girl too. I did put a tiny bit in her food and then she wouldn't eat any of it. :rolleyes: I even put freeze dried chicken treat crumbled on the top (she freaks for those and would never say no to them), she wouldn't eat the chicken treats because they are on the new food. :rolleyes: My newest attempt is to feed the Rad cat first to see if she's hungry enough to eat it, then about 30 minutes later I put out the freeze dried S&C, but a bit less than I normally give her (in the hopes that she will get hungry after eating it and try the new stuff). No luck so far, but I'm sure she will figure it out eventually.
 
Asia is coming down slowly, it can either continue and be nice, or she will start going back up right about now. Let's see what she wants to do today.
 
I'm still confused with the wording on increasing the dose. Pardon me for not quoting the sticky, iPads don't make that simple.

"When your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing."

It's written as a plural, if a single cycle's nadir is under 100, do I still hold for 5 days?

" after 3 days if nadirs are >200 but <300..."

How does this apply if nadirs are all over the place? One less than 100, a couple less than 200, a couple over 300? Should I average them or something?

I'm trying to find the info for myself on when to increase and then ask for more experienced eyes before I do it to see if I'm understanding everything correctly. This obviously wasn't written with the cats that play the "pick a nadir, any nadir" game in mind. :rolleyes:
 
When you see nadirs under 100, that could have been in both AM and PM cycles in that day. Don't take it too literally. I read it as a nadir under 100, you then want to hold up to 5 days to see if the cat settles well into that dose. That's what I did with Rex after taking him up to 3u. It took him a couple days before he really worked that dose.

As for the over 200, but under 300 one, if the cat hits 230, that's all you need. Ignore all the other higher nadirs.

Basically, just look at the lowest nadir you get on a particular dose before changing.
 
The general idea is to look at the last 6-10 cycles and ask your self, how low is this dose getting my kitty, is she bouncing, do I have room for an increase etc.

When there is a nadir under 100, what happens the following 6-10 cycles? Did the kitty clear the bounce and not make it back to green? Did the kitty get back to green but is there room for an increase? There is not a simple answer to your question because they trick us all the time. Nadir is anytime during the cycle and until the kitty is closer to regulated it's normal for them to move around and drive us nuts. Those quotes from the sticky are general guidelines, not hard fast rules because ECID.

So when I look at Asia's SS...
She's bouncing /wobbling from those greens. I'd give her a minimum of the 6 cycles from those greens to see if she can make it back there. 6th cycle is tonight maybe she'll keep you up again. After 6 cycles if she hasn't made it back to green you can increase. When they are new to green it's not a bad idea to hold 8-10 cycles.

Not sure I really answered your question
 
When you see nadirs under 100, that could have been in both AM and PM cycles in that day. Don't take it too literally. I read it as a nadir under 100, you then want to hold up to 5 days to see if the cat settles well into that dose. That's what I did with Rex after taking him up to 3u. It took him a couple days before he really worked that dose.

As for the over 200, but under 300 one, if the cat hits 230, that's all you need. Ignore all the other higher nadirs.

Basically, just look at the lowest nadir you get on a particular dose before changing.
Okay, that makes sense. The cause for concern is where is talks about cat consistently having higher BGs and increasing dose by .5 rather than .25. She meets the qualification for more than one recommendation. :confused: She can get some decent numbers from a dose, but the rest of the time she seems terribly high.
 
The general idea is to look at the last 6-10 cycles and ask your self, how low is this dose getting my kitty, is she bouncing, do I have room for an increase etc.

When there is a nadir under 100, what happens the following 6-10 cycles? Did the kitty clear the bounce and not make it back to green? Did the kitty get back to green but is there room for an increase? There is not a simple answer to your question because they trick us all the time. Nadir is anytime during the cycle and until the kitty is closer to regulated it's normal for them to move around and drive us nuts. Those quotes from the sticky are general guidelines, not hard fast rules because ECID.

So when I look at Asia's SS...
She's bouncing /wobbling from those greens. I'd give her a minimum of the 6 cycles from those greens to see if she can make it back there. 6th cycle is tonight maybe she'll keep you up again. After 6 cycles if she hasn't made it back to green you can increase. When they are new to green it's not a bad idea to hold 8-10 cycles.

Not sure I really answered your question
Yes, that answers it. There is a little more room to play than what is written because ECID. So it's basically a call based on what I know about my cat and based on what others see in her pattern that may have more experience. The guidelines are there more as generalizations? i.e. Most cats clear a bounce in x amount of days, and the guidelines take that in to consideration with the estimates for dose changes (3-5 days), but what your cat is showing you should be the ultimate guideline and may vary slightly to that estimate on either side?

Unless Asia takes longer than 10 cycles to work it out, which I guess is possible, she generally is asking for a dose increase (assuming nothing mind blowing happens in the cycle tonight).

The high numbers really scare me, but at the same time, her general demeanor/appetite/activity level and all that tells me she's pretty okay, so that's something too.
 
Yes, that answers it. There is a little more room to play than what is written because ECID. So it's basically a call based on what I know about my cat and based on what others see in her pattern that may have more experience. The guidelines are there more as generalizations? i.e. Most cats clear a bounce in x amount of days, and the guidelines take that in to consideration with the estimates for dose changes (3-5 days), but what your cat is showing you should be the ultimate guideline and may vary slightly to that estimate on either side?

Unless Asia takes longer than 10 cycles to work it out, which I guess is possible, she generally is asking for a dose increase (assuming nothing mind blowing happens in the cycle tonight).

The high numbers really scare me, but at the same time, her general demeanor/appetite/activity level and all that tells me she's pretty okay, so that's something too.
Right. One motto here is Know Thy Cat. Some people wait longer than the general recommendation to increase a dose if they have seen their cat break a bounce on a 11th or 12th cycle if they weren't able to increase on time, like if they couldn't monitor that particular cycle then they wait.
 
+11 547 ugh! That was horribly unexpected. :(

Another bounce from the blues earlier today? Double bounce? Is that a thing?
 
+11 547, PMPS 441, +1 436, +2 557, +3 340

What is she doing??? I think the PMPS and the +1 are that second dip in Lantus towards the end of the cycle as the +2 looks more similar to the +11 before the dip. Holy cow, from 557 to 340 in an hour?! :confused: What is this madness! I guess I'm going to be up for awhile, who knows where she's going.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top