10/24 Vyktor PMPS 106 +2 119 / Purrdy PMPS 281 +2.5 281 +5 211

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Vyktor

AMPS 140 +2.5 94 :D +4.5 88 :D
PMPS 160 +3 139 +5.25 79 :D +7.5 92 :D

Vyktor decided to throw me a curve ball with a late drop last night o_O:D

@Ann & Tess GA ( :bighug::bighug:) I was giving him Joint Guard, which is the Aussie equivalent of Adequan. He responds well to it, but a bit too well. I suspect he is particularly sensitive and the glucosamine caused him to fall out of remission. When he was first diagnosed with the direbeasties I had been giving him a human glucosamine supplement for a few months. I dropped it as I read that human supplements were all wrong for cats and were suspected of causing diabetes. I started with the cat specific supplement a few months before he fell out of remission. Both times I started him on glucosamine he responded within days rather than the weeks it is supposed to take. I did a bit of googling recently and it turns out that they deliberately give mice and rats excessive doses of glucosamine to bring on insulin resistance for medical studies :eek:

I'm going to ask his acupuncturist what she thinks about cartrophen. I was looking at the PAWS supplement but although it doesn't contain glucosamine it does contain something else that starts with gluco so I think it's probably another sugar type substance and I'm not sure I want to risk going there. I was thinking I might give his TCM herbs a chance to do their thing first though - if I can get him up to the appropriate dose. So far anything over 1/6 dose at a time and he spits it, I can't blame him, they taste vile!


Purrdy
- S/Sheet

AMPS 117 :cool: +3 86 :D +6 103 :cool:
PMPS 241 +3 196

QU: My understanding (but I'm not sure I've got the high dose kitty thing right yet) is that we don't mess around with our high dose kitties and jump on the dose increases quickly. Purrdy lost the beautiful streak he's been having for the last few days last night. I'm thinking if he's not back into it by tonight's cycle we increase to 9u tomorrow morning. Am I on the right track or in need of patience pants?

He disgraced himself yesterday by peeing on mum's scales again. The shower door was open for him to use that if he felt like going in the bathroom so mum was not pleased. I suggested putting a cactus on the scales :woot: I think she has elected to put them away in a cupboard somewhere...
 
I wouldn't increase based solely upon his pink number this morning. Even with a high dose kitty, you want to look at how low the dose takes the cat, and consider bounces in the equation. He's been getting pretty consistent greens on this dose. I think he's just bouncing right now and I'd hold the dose, personally.
 
No diagnosis as yet, he has been tested but his results won't be in for two weeks. It wasn't just this mornings cross dressing that concerned but last night's performance too. It doesn't look like a bounce to me but I am certainly willing to defer to your experience with Punkin. Thanks Julie.
 
Nice greens for Vyktor last night. That's interesting on the glucosamine. Good luck with whatever you decide on Purrdy's dose. I hope he comes back down soon.
 
I tried to be aggressive with Polly's dosing before the SRT. But I was pleased with mid to low blues. She would from time to time surprise me with a green, even earning a reduction at one time. I couldn't take any risks since I was out of the house at work a good part of her am cycle.

Looking at Purrdy's ss, I'd be inclined to hold off on the increase for at least a cycle. He could hit green again today/tonight. And as long as he's hitting green, I'd hold the dose. But....big but....I don't do dosing advice. And I did jump on numbers creep with Polly. Our creep just started at a higher level. So I see your point on wanting to increase. I just wait a cycle to confirm the creep.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Very interesting about the glucosamine. Makes me wonder if I need to stop giving Cinco Cosequin. Harvey gets it, too, so should I stop giving it to him???? Why is this all so darned complicated?? o_O:confused::arghh:

Vyktor is looking pretty good lately. Love all those blues and greens. Now if you could just get Purrdy figured out! :rolleyes::facepalm::blackeye:
 
Vyktor's day
AMPS 140 +3 110 :cool: +6 58 :D +6.75 72 :D

I thought the AMPS and +3 gave me a leave pass to go and do the shopping this morning but getting back to that +6 I'm wondering how deep he went today!

Purrdy's day
AMPS 304 +3 216 +6 175

Patience pants on, they're feeling uncomfortably tight but they're on, you can probably expect me to ask again tomorrow ;)
 
Serryn and @Tricia & Cinco
the gluco you mentioned above in the PAW product is glucoaminoglycans (chondroitin sulphates). I looked it up online. In one site it said it did not effect the blood sugars, on another it said it minimally affected the blood sugars and another seems to not be sure. I have been giving it to Sheba for about 100 days......I am almost through the second bottle of 60 caps. I can't see any change in her BSL while on the paws but who knows what it might be without it. There is no doubt it is helping her arthritis. I am thinking of stopping it for a while to see if the blood sugars change...not sure if I will finish the bottle first or not......but it certainly doesn't change the BSL a lot. The thing to work out is does the benefit outway the (maybe) slight rise in bsl
 
I think Vyktor and Purrdy have inherited the teeter-totter that Tess and Mannie used to play on. One goes up, the other goes down.:rolleyes:

I was giving him Joint Guard, which is the Aussie equivalent of Adequan.
It looks like Joint Guard would be your equivalent of Cosequin. Adequan (polysulfated glycosaminoglycan) sounds more like the PAWS product you are talking about.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top