10/24 Twice +11.3 488 AMPS 385 +11.25 329 PMPS 373

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim & Twice

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Evening
PMPS 288 @ 11.5
263 +2
212 +4
211 +6
488 +11.3

Gosh. Those numbers were looking so good then 488 :? Could it be that he had another late nadir and was getting too low so his body produced more glucose?
Then a bigish drop 40 minutes later? Gonna grap new batteries for the meters today.

Hoping to see you all surfing the nice numbers when I get home from work today. :-D :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/24 Twice +11.3 488

He went from 488 at +11.3 to 385 at +12?

Keep coming down Twice, and nice and easy, please.
 
Well, I left ff w/H2O out for him today. Not sure if he got any, but it was all eaten (there was alot, but with 6 other cats there...). I got home and went to check his BG and he was so impatient to eat. It wasn't time yet and he was grabbing at my hands and being very rough. What is with the starving Twice? Two cans of salmon ff were slammed down in record time. I'm a little concerned about this ongoing "starvation" behavior. It is every feeding for about 3 weeks. Any thoughts out there? I am thinking about segregating him and his best friend in a room while I'm gone to make sure they are getting fuds. I really just don't get the starved cat routine when his numbers are not anywhere near "low"
 
When a kitty's numbers are high and diabetes is not yet regulated, our kitties act like they are starving! In essence, they are not getting all of the nutrition from what they're eating. Insulin is what helps glucose (the basic end product of digestion) get into the cells. It's the fuel that a body needs. If the pancreas isn't producing insulin, the glucose floats around in the blood and doesn't get into the cells. We inject insulin to help the glucose go to where it's needed. What Twice's numbers along with his being hungry are telling you is that the glucose isn't going where it's supposed to go and, as a result, he's hungry.

I'm not sure I understand why you're shooting different amounts in the morning vs. the evening. Because Lantus is a depot type of insulin, giving a different dose at each shot time can result in wonky numbers.

If you're planning to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol, you will want to shoot the same dose twice a day and evaluate whether a dose increase is needed every 3 days/6 cycles.
 
Thank you for that info. I am giving one "small drop" less in the morning when I have a bad "feeling". I have done it twice now and I feel good about that, compared to how I feel being 11 hours away from him and afraid that something could go wrong. I don't believe one part drop is going to make a huge difference (not like a furshot), and as .75u is pretty difficult to eyeball perfectly every time, I feel that this wee bit of peace of mind might make this a bit easier for me (doesnt really tho, truth be told). Twice has crashed on me three times that I know of and I'm honestly scared to lose him or cause him to be alone while afraid or sick.
I am trying to do the tight regulation, guess I didnt realize this was a problem.
As for the numbers before the Lantus, he was on Caninsulin and this dosing was suggested to me to try.
 
A small drop can affect numbers and so not shooting the same dose twice a day can cause some wonkiness in the numbers. If the dose worries you, being gone to work during the day, you might need to back it off a bit so you can shoot the same dose consistently every 12 hours.
 
Safety and peace of mind are important, Kim. Sorry I haven't been around much - it's my early shift week at work.

If the skinny .75u dose gives you peace of mind, maybe shoot that both AM and PM for now?

Given that you are not home for most days during the AM cycle, you may not be able to raise the dose every three or four days as the protocol suggests. You might have to only do so on days you can be around to test.

We'll help you figure this out,

Carl

P.S. - I think separating Twice and his best buddy from the others might be a good idea so you have a better idea as to who is eating what.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top