10/24 Topper Dose Help Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan and Topper

Member Since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106757
Can someone look at the SS please. I don't think this is bouncing I think the reduction did not hold and I need to bring the dose back up. Am I right?
I thought he was back on track with the PMPS of 212 (this was at 1 am this morning), but his +6 is back up to 266. I gave him 75ml of subq fluids last night at his am +6 no ketones but he had been peeing huge amounts and I thought the fluids might help. I gave him 75ml more this morning after seeing that 266.
He is still itchy from the flea bites a few days ago. I think the flea situation is still resolved.
The vet told me to give him 1/4 tab of chlorpheneramine twice daily.
I'll check back before shot time. Going to try to sleep for awhile.
 
1 unit does look like it's not enough to get him into the normal range. I wouldn't have lowered at 63 given that he isn't really "newly diagnosed" anymore. I'd go back up and see what happens. Yes, the 63 drop happened pretty quickly, however, there could be other factors as well. For example, was he very playful before then? Race around a lot going all "psycho kitty"? He would have burnt some glucose "fuel" that way as well.

Forgot to add.... SubQ fluids and fleas can be stressful as well, keeping his BG up higher
 
Jan --

This could be some bounciness from the the 63 during the PM cycle on 10/21. It can take roughly 72 hours for a bounce to clear. I'd give this dose the full time to see if Topper is bouncing. I know you're following SLGS and like you, I'm tempted to say to raise the dose back up but in fairness to the approach you're following, you may want to give the dose at least the AM cycle today to see if the bounce clears.

If Topper is still itchy, have you investigated if this is related to food allergy? Some cats are allergic to fish and beef. If fish isn't an issue, you could try adding fish oil to Topper's food. It can help with inflammation and was something my vet recommended when Gabby was going through an itchy belly period. Marje and Ella use a product for allergy and I can't recall the name of it. If you drop either of them a note, they can give you the info.
 
Hi Jan,
The product is Standard Process Allerplex, but I don't think it is for itchy allergies, rather it is for coughing/sneezing allergies and general lung congestion. Rusty gets it for lung congestion.
I hope that Topper will get rid of his itchiness. I'm about to try the old standby A&D ointment on a patch behind Rusty's ear that he scratches a lot. If it works, I'll let you know.

Best of luck,

Ella & Rusty
 
Since many anti-allergy medications aren't good for diabetic cats, my vet gave me Surolan for my cat's allergies (he gets itchy/bumpy ears and an itchy belly)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top