10/24 Tiny Sole +10: 81, +10.5: 84, +11: 125, PMPS: 110, 2.5 U, +2: 148, +3: 142

Joanne&TinySole

Member Since 2018
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-107-11-163-pmps-178-2-75-u-at-7-25pm.205289/

Good morning all! Tiny must've run fairly steady in the blues last night: 3 AM +8 was 139, and this morning her AMPS is 120. So, 2.75 U Lantus was given at 7:30 AM and we will commence with some testing.

I'll post as we go. I'm wondering how low she will dip today! Beach :cool: or Lagoon :D?

I hope all kitties and their Beans have a safe and healthful day!
I'll check in later.

Much love to all.
 
Last edited:
I'm going to need some BOS and a LOT of encouragement tonight to give her the PM shot if she comes in low!

Tiny earned that dose reduction again, down to 2.50 U, but if she is running below 90 at the PMPS, do I give her that full 2.50, or a BCS of 1.25?
 
Good to see she's flattened out. :D

With SLGS, it's not recommended to shoot under 90. Which gives you a couple options. First is to delay (stall without feeding) to see if she comes up above 90, second is to skip. But paws crossed she comes up before PMPS.

I can't stick around tonight though.
 
Hard to say because while it's was LC, different foods could bump up BG differently for different cats. Saw someone the other day mention their cat's BG seemed to go up more with beef.....go figure. That's something you'd have to try to figure out for Tiny specifically.
 
Yes I agree....it's easy to sit here in my office chair enjoying the ride. I already DID MY TIME! But you both have my complete admiration for your ability and willingness to get through these exciting times. I know it ain't easy!:bighug::bighug:
 
Working outside the home definitely makes this dance that much more difficult. Not sure I would have been up to that challenge even in my younger years! :bighug:

Not fun, I gotta tell you!

Me too, Linda! My hat goes off to all the peeps here that are working and juggling this....ugh.

My hat goes off to them too! Which is why I'm hoping for Tiny to keep up the good work!
 
Hey, I just logging in for fun. Found a new food (Open Farm - I posted in another thread)...

But to the point, I'm new to this TinySole fella, but I'm looking at the chart and I don't get why we reduced to 2.5 units...lil fella has gone from 3 units, no shot, 2.75, 2.75, 2.5

I'm just wondering why Joanne doesn't stick with the 3 units for a while, get some more greens. That was an excellent run on the 22nd and quite a decent "normal" value for a cat, not low at all. I mean changing up the dose that much, so fast is not consistent dosing...

I don't know her schedule, so I'm not sure if she can monitor the lil guy, why not 3 units? I guess what I'm saying is hold the dose, until we get too low (too low for SGLS -- I don't know what that is) ...I see she's following the SGLS method; I honestly don't know the true diff, so maybe what I'm saying isn't good. Haha. Just my 2 cents. :)
 
Im open to all thoughts and critiques. Im relying on those who are more experienced, so chime in, one and all.

By the way, Tiny Solé is my purdy gurl; she's one of our 2 girls and sister to our 2 boys, too!
 
Looks like it's likely to be a quiet cycle. Lucky you might just get some ZZZ's again tonight. Tiny be nice to your Momma! I'd leave some food down for her to snack on if she needs it and grab a test when/if you get up in night or set an alarm for maybe +6 or +7.
 
Hi @Rob W. & Emmett from a fellow Canuck! Don't think we've met before!
To answer your questions, Joanne and Tiny are following the Start Low Go Slow approach because Tiny still enjoys a teensy bit of kibble. It's a less aggressive approach and reductions are taken when BG falls below 90 using this method. Tiny has been on quite the mission to get reductions lately. Tiny's BG as well as poor Joanne's need for some sleep is why the dose has been changed so often in the last few days. :)
 
As a recap to Tiny Sole's day today HER BGs have been pretty good. I thought we were in for an all-nighter, but it looks like SHE is going to let me get a little sleep tonight...maybe just a little, anyway.

AMPS: 120, +2: 168, +5: 190, +10: 81, +11: 84, +11.5: 125, PMPS 110, +2: 148, +3: 142
I'll be up to test at the +6 (1:30 AM) or +7 (2:30 AM) mark and will update the SS at that time.

My gratitude goes out to all the people with their eyes on us.
I am so happy to have found all of you.
G'night...I hope so hard...

XOXO, J.
 
Below 90 earns a reduction. I didn't know. Haha. I don't follow SLGS. So when using SLGS how does the cat ever get below 90? If the Dr (Joanne for instance) reduces dose every time kitteh dips below 90, in theory the kitteh will never get lower...no?

I only ask because from all my reading (I'm still dosing my lil fluff buddy), but the idea behind dosing kitteh's is to teach their pancrease the "healthy range" of a normal cat. Which is 50-80 (or 2.8-4.4 mmol), where that number is, is obviously this deeply dependent on the cat.

Joanne, to ease your mind (so you can sleep better), have you tested one of her brothers, or even your other gurl. That's what I did, and it shows how much lower kitteh can go, just gives you some comfort and not panic mode. For eg. Clara (Emmett's blood sister) avg anywhere from 57 (3.2 mmol) to 4 (72 mmol) -- and I have never got a higher reading from her. No cat is gonna go hypo with an 80 number. Not even close to being a concern. I tell you, it's scary at first, I know how you feel, but once you realize that kitteh is actually happiest in this range. It's good.

So all I'm saying is that when you get a low reading like 81, it's not a bad thing. But like I said, I don't follow SLGS, so I'm not sure how to advise you. I'd just follow the protocol and reduce by 0.25 (like you did...) try not feeding. If she goes to 70, then you know. Do you shoot at 70, I'm not sure what the protocol states. But I have shot at 70. And I monitored like a crazy man, but everything turned out. Again, didn't see anything until about +3. And with your girl eating kibble, this regulation is kinda difficult, so I dunno.

To me, (PLEASE, anyone tell me I'm wrong if I am), it just doesn't make sense to me to feed her any LC food when she gets a number like 140 or 120 or even 90 or 81. Just give her a treat...like I have dried salmon treats (almost no carbs).

I did read the SLGS post and it doesn't say that you feed low carb when you get numbers like 90 or below, it just says to reduce dose.

I mention this only because, if you start feeding low-carb food when you get to these numbers you wont know the actual true affect the insulin is having on your kitteh. Same goes for kibble. I personally would remove kibble. Get some fortiflora if she doesn't like wet...she should like the fortiflora...it's irresistible to the kitteh's. Amazon sells it.

If you get rid of the kibble, her bg's will drop, and in my opinion you'll start seeing more steady, conisitent results because the kibble has such a drastic affect on the readings. You will be much more relaxed I think once you get rid of it. Emmett's BG's spike when I give him some friggin juice from canned chicken -- no carbs even...very weird (from costco -- kirkland brand, really good guys...I love it and so does Mr Emmes).

Anyway, that's my thought. Perhaps if your gurl goes low again, like 81, don't give her anything, see where the number falls. Check like every 30mins. That said, the SLGS protocol doesn't mention pre-shot values. I can tell you that Emmett was way up to 7 units, he's now at 0.5 units. And I did some really nail bitting doses to pre-shot numbers 50-90 range. At 0.5 units I don't even think about it...he's getting readings of 80, so I give him his shot of 0.5.

Seems like your girl, is lowest around +6 => +10. So, giving a dose with low bg pre-shot (like 90 or something) shouldn't have a drastic affect as it takes Lantus a few hours to kick in (with Emmett it seems to be kicking in around +3, nadir around +6, but sometimes around +8). Again, SLGS doesn't mention when to shoot a low number, so I'm not sure, but skipping doses again, will make your head spin, because the kitteh gets bounced around so much.

Anyway, anyone and everyone, please correct me if any of that doesn't apply to Joanne's situation.
 
Back
Top