10/24 Tibbs amps 420 +5 459 pmps 425 nervous wreck

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
i increased his dose to 1.5 fat - he's had 3 shots of 1.5fat but from his numbers i feel like (as Mel put it) i'm shooting water.
i am thinking i should go right to 1.75 - he is still showing trace ketones. i am giving him tons of water in his food to flush.
his behavior is fine but i am so worried. should i just increase to 1.75 and not wait for the 6 cycles. i need these ketones
to be gone. i am so stressed, i can't think straight. what do you guys think. go right to 1.75 or wait for the 6 cycles at
1.5 fat? The insulin is from July 13, 2014. is it possible the insulin is bad? It is still perfectly clear, no floaties and
it has been refrigerated at all times. i don't know what to do. Should i get new insulin? Any advice would be greatly appreciated
Thanks
@-) nailbite_smile @-) nailbite_smile @-) nailbite_smile @-) nailbite_smile
 
ok. thanks Mel . he is making me a nervous wreck. Hope you get alot done this weekend and get organized so you can relax.
Thank you.
 
Oh yeah! Anything over trace on ketones or he stops eating...VET ASAP!!!

Mel and The Fur Gang

P.S. Thanks hon I'm gonna try. :-D
 
he is still eating up a storm. i have sub q fluids set up here. do you think i should push fluids too?
 
You know I'm not sure. You might want to call your vet and as . Don't think it would influence his other meds but I'd double check. When I was giving them to Autumn she was at moderate ketones but that was like the first week she was here so just starting insulin and changing her diet brought her right down.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Come on Tibbs you have got to start giving your mum lower numbers.

With the 0.5 increases you should soon know if the insulin is still working. Just hang in there.

Best wishes

Sarah
 
tibbs5 said:
he is still eating up a storm. i have sub q fluids set up here. do you think i should push fluids too?
Check for dehydration:

1) Gently pull up the scruff and release. Does it stay pulled up, slowly go down, or snap back to normal position?. The first 2 suggest dehydration. Your vet will find it helpful to know this.

2) Lift the lip and press your finger on the gums, then release. Do they pink right back up or do the slowly refill or stay blanched? Do the gums feel stick/tacky? You want to observe a normally moist mouth with quick capillary refill.

3) How much water is being drunk? Measure what you put down and what is left; subtract to get consumed and evaporation.

4) How much urine is being left in the litter box(es)? Drops, tablespoons, cups, floods? Many or few?
 
thanks Sarah and thanks BJM for the dehydration info. He was not dehydrated but i was wondering if doing sub q fluids would help to flush the ketones. Fortunetely, his ketones level is negative today so i will keep checking him. Thanks for all that info
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top