10/24 Sherlock AMPS 300, PMPS 375, +3 297

LexaJoy

Member Since 2018
Having a bit of an off day without DW here. We missed our second test of the morning because I misjudged how much time I'd need to do all the things I normally do, plus the things DW usually handles when she gets up a couple of hours after me- namely, Sherlock's second test, walking the dog, making sure the litter pan is clean for the day, and dealing with our very demanding outside kitty, Dru. It's that time of the year when it's cold in the morning but warms up in the day and Dru likes to go inside, then outside, then inside, then maybe outside again, and I just don't have time to play doorman for her in the mornings, I fear.

It's okay, though. DW will be back tomorrow evening and we'll hopefully coast comfortably into the weekend and a couple of Halloween parties. I'm going to dig out my Bellatrix costume, I think. I'm feeling witchy right about now.
 
I'm glad DW will be back to help tomorrow and things get back to normal. I do know about being a doorman for a cat. We have a covered tub with kindling etc on the front porch in front of the big window. When Idjit wants in, he hops up on the tub, looks in with big eyes, hollers "meouwwwwww!" at us and when he sees one of us get up he runs to the front door. Then he runs in to the kitchen to see if there is anything to eat. More often than not lately, then he wants right back out... the back door, of course! It might be different out there you know.
I am no expert by far, but I am wondering if you are considering asking the gurus here in Lantus when or if a dose increase might be in order to lower the BG a bit. I do see that he has been on one unit for 4 days now, and perhaps it's not time yet. Pardon if I'm overstepping.
If you do the Bellatrix costume, maybe start a new thread in the Community/Off Topic forum and shoot us some pics? I loved the zombie makeup.
 
I'm glad DW will be back to help tomorrow and things get back to normal. I do know about being a doorman for a cat. We have a covered tub with kindling etc on the front porch in front of the big window. When Idjit wants in, he hops up on the tub, looks in with big eyes, hollers "meouwwwwww!" at us and when he sees one of us get up he runs to the front door. Then he runs in to the kitchen to see if there is anything to eat. More often than not lately, then he wants right back out... the back door, of course! It might be different out there you know.
I am no expert by far, but I am wondering if you are considering asking the gurus here in Lantus when or if a dose increase might be in order to lower the BG a bit. I do see that he has been on one unit for 4 days now, and perhaps it's not time yet. Pardon if I'm overstepping.
If you do the Bellatrix costume, maybe start a new thread in the Community/Off Topic forum and shoot us some pics? I loved the zombie makeup.

Oh, yes. Dru will only come in the front door at night, when it's time to sleep. No idea why it must be the front and not the back, when out the back is the way we go to walk the dog right before bed. But Dru has always been a queen around here, so she gets what she wants even if it's incredibly frustrating at times. Like her need to drink only from the bathroom sink, and not the pet fountain. She'll just sit up there and howl until you turn it on for her, lap delicately for maybe five to ten seconds, and then flounce off to the door again.

Can I increase early? That would be amazing. I'm trying so hard to be patient and give it time, but his numbers just aren't budging and it's making me a little crazy. This 375 today almost made me cry. We were chugging along solidly in yellows for a bit and all these pinks have me right freaked out.

For sure. DW does a lovely Dolores Umbridge. Well. I think it's lovely. Other people tend to react rather negatively to her, lol. Maybe we need a big ol' Halloween thread.
 
Oh, I am not qualified to advise an early increase or any dosing advice at all. I just wondered is all. You keep doing what the gurus tell you. I would trust them implicitly! It's hard to be patient. There is a funny thing sometimes about "patience pants" and the pics get amusing. Maybe we need to get you a pair?
Do make a Halloween thread if you like. Why not?
 
Oh, I am not qualified to advise an early increase or any dosing advice at all. I just wondered is all. You keep doing what the gurus tell you. I would trust them implicitly! It's hard to be patient. There is a funny thing sometimes about "patience pants" and the pics get amusing. Maybe we need to get you a pair?
Do make a Halloween thread if you like. Why not?

Patience is tricky for me. I'm one of those people who kind of aims for hyper-efficiency, so there's a part of me that just wants to tinker with things until his numbers actually budge. But! After what happened to my last baby, I'm also very wary of doing anything rash in case it goes poorly. Sherlock seems fine. His numbers are just not where I'd hope them to be. But. We've only been at it for a wee tiny while, so I know that it's going to take more time. There's never a magic bullet for an illness. I tell clients that all the time. I just need to take my own advice.
 
Perhaps if you put a question mark and add dose advice to the thread title, you may get some help. My thoughts, I see that you are following SLGS, but I see some good additional mid-cycle tests recently on 1u, which makes me think Sherlock could use 0.25u increase. I believe if you have gathered enough data on how this dose is working, you can assess that and increase if the numbers aren't really going anywhere. My only concern is you're fairly new with insulin and data gathering, so I'm not sure if you should rush things...ideally, you learn how your cat responds to insulin, carbs, etc. before tweaking the guideline to suit your own cat. And, I might be missing something in looking at your SS, so at the least, I have bumped you up, hopefully others may chime in and correct my thinking if required.
 
Perhaps if you put a question mark and add dose advice to the thread title, you may get some help. My thoughts, I see that you are following SLGS, but I see some good additional mid-cycle tests recently on 1u, which makes me think Sherlock could use 0.25u increase. I believe if you have gathered enough data on how this dose is working, you can assess that and increase if the numbers aren't really going anywhere. My only concern is you're fairly new with insulin and data gathering, so I'm not sure if you should rush things...ideally, you learn how your cat responds to insulin, carbs, etc. before tweaking the guideline to suit your own cat. And, I might be missing something in looking at your SS, so at the least, I have bumped you up, hopefully others may chime in and correct my thinking if required.

This is my first go with Lantus. My last baby was on Vetsulin, and the increases on it went crazy fast with, admittedly, tragic results. So I'm trying not to think about that or base expectations on how those doses changed, but the lack of decrease in his numbers does worry me. I might post with a question tomorrow if his numbers are still in the pinks.
 
Ah...yes, now I remember your background story. Indeed, give it the time needed, you're doing a great job testing, and the numbers aren't terrible. I first started with SLGS because I was so scared of hypos and I had to go to work, was new to feline diabetes, needed to figure out how to give shots, test, carbs, gosh, I was overwhelmed. And when Mav and I started out, we were seeing so many super high numbers it was heartbreaking, I thought I'd never figure him out. But, you'll get there. Remember too, if Sherlock is playful, preening, etc. the numbers are not so important...sometimes we get so caught up in driving to whatever "goal" we've set, we lose sight of the cat. Not sure if that makes sense :)
 
Ah...yes, now I remember your background story. Indeed, give it the time needed, you're doing a great job testing, and the numbers aren't terrible. I first started with SLGS because I was so scared of hypos and I had to go to work, was new to feline diabetes, needed to figure out how to give shots, test, carbs, gosh, I was overwhelmed. And when Mav and I started out, we were seeing so many super high numbers it was heartbreaking, I thought I'd never figure him out. But, you'll get there. Remember too, if Sherlock is playful, preening, etc. the numbers are not so important...sometimes we get so caught up in driving to whatever "goal" we've set, we lose sight of the cat. Not sure if that makes sense :)

I would be devastated if Sherlock ended up like my sweet Ianto. So far, he seems pretty much like his usual self. He's snoozing in his favorite box right now, his appetite is good, and he's regained a bit of weight (huge relief, the shift from feeling so bony to a little more sleek). He's playing with his brother in the mornings, much to my chagrin because the two of them sound like elephants galumphing down the hallway while they chase. I know the numbers aren't everything, but boy do I wish they were at least hanging steadily in yellow if nothing else.

Thank you for reminding me that it's okay to take time. I just need to keep telling myself that.
 
Sherlock won't...I know it's hard with the memory of your loss of Ianto, but you are so much better prepared and informed now :bighug:. I love the elephant galumphing down the hall sounds too! :p...unless it's at 3:00am ;)
 
Back
Top