10/24 Nimo APMS 380; +2 521

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nimo's mom

Member Since 2013
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106835
Nimo seems like he may be a bit more sluggish this morning, but he's always lazy so it's hard to tell :) Still negative for ketones, so that's good. His blood sugar continues to spike after eating even the low carb food (weruva paw lickn' chicken)
Anyone know if it would be okay to just feed him straight chicken for a few days to see if I could get those numbers to come down a bit.

Thanks!
 
i'm not sure about feeding him straight chicken for very long. i'm also not sure that's really the answer. chicken isn't a complete food for cats, so i would hesitate to do it for very long. there are recipes for homemade raw that you can use to go with primarily chicken and they have you add the extra nutrients needed. honestly, going to straight chicken isn't something i would do - i'd either make my own or stay with the canned and adjust the insulin.

really, if you're feeding low-carb, the rest of the equation is exercise and insulin to bring down the BGs. exercise does a lot, so you might try increasing Nimo's activity level.

i don't think what you are seeing is a spike following low carb food. it's hard to know exactly what's going on because of that little pmps 263 on the 21st when Nimo also ate the kibble. it's possible he went lower that evening and these last couple of days are a bounce. bounces can wobble around in high numbers - they aren't necessarily flat high numbers. it's also possible it's a combination of a bounce and the carbs from the dry kibble, although if he hasn't swiped more, i'd think that would have worn off by now.

you've gotten 10 doses on the 3.0 and his lowest number is that 263. for that reason, i think i'd go up in dose if you don't see him dropping down this evening or tomorrow morning.

i'll ask for some other's opinion on it, however. check back here before you increase it.

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Did you start giving insulin on 10/18? If that's the case, you want to have 5 - 7 days typically at your initial dose which would allow the insulin depot to form. If I'm understanding your SS correctly, Nimo has been on insulin for 12 cycles. Within that time, you've increased the dose 2 times. In all likelihood, the depot hasn't stabilized.

I would want to be sure you have at least a solid 4 cycles using the Relion meter. I can't tell if you have that number of tests where you've consistently used one meter. Given the variability between the meters that you saw, I'm hesitant to make any suggestions until we know what the numbers really look like. If tonight's cycle is pretty much the same and Nimo's nadir is over 300, then I agree with Julie -- I'd think about raising Nimo's dose to 3.5u.

I also want to make what could be an odd suggestion. How about trying a different food that's not Weruva. Unless Nimo is incredibly fussy, you have other options for LC, canned food. It may be that he has some sensitivity or odd response to the brand of food.

I also agree with Julie that a diet of plain chicken is not nutritionally complete. As odd as this may sound, not all cats do well on a zero carb diet as a diet that has some carbs.
 
Thanks, I was just considering feeding him chicken for a few days. I was thinking that if I could get his numbers down for a bit that it would give his body a break. He did well on the evo until it made him gain too much weight. He has flutd and has been blocked twice so he needs low phosphorus food. I'll take a look at the list of foods again.
 
I also would not feed just chicken as a diet even for a few days. And Sienne is right...FD cats typically do better on a little higher LOW carb food over zero carb food.

You can use the boiled chicken breast as a snack.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top