10/24 Kali AMPS 273, +5 61... reduce dosage?

Duggles

Member Since 2018
Hi folks,
It seems like Kali is becoming more sensitive to her insulin. Her average numbers have dropped by quite a bit since we started testing and I've been reducing or skipping her dose altogether when it seems appropriate. I did forget to update her spreadsheet for a couple of days recently, although there was nothing much different from the usual to report. This morning it had been 36 hours since she had any juice at all so I wasn't too surprised to see her at 273, but I was a bit surprised to see her drop all the way to 61 at +5 hrs with only .75u. I'm glad I didn't give her a full unit. Is it possible that she is becoming more sensitive to the insulin and should I reduce her overall dose even when she is in the high 200s? We haven't had a serious hypo event yet and I'm hoping we never do, especially if I'm asleep or away when it happens. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks, best wishes to all.
 
With Lantus, you don't base the dose on the Pre-shot number...it's based on how low they go!

Since you're doing SLGS, she's earned a reduction down to .5

We need to find a dose you can reliably give every 12 hours.

It's also important for you to get tests in on the PM cycle....at least a "before bed" test to make sure she stays safe while you're sleeping. You've been doing that lately but you want to be sure to continue! Without tests on both cycles, you're missing have the data on what's going on
 
Thank you, Chris.
I really appreciate your thoughtful reply, it seems like you're always there with good advice when I ask.
I will try to start getting some more PM tests at +3 before bed. I've been shooting at 9 pm and I usually go to sleep around midnight. I suppose if she's going too low I can try to stay awake and test again after another hour or two.
 
Hey there. There is some missing data for the PM cycle of 10/19 and the AM and PM Cycle for 10/20. How much insulin did she get those three cycles?

It is hard to know exactly where she is with skipped does and inconsistent dosing. I agree with Chris that we have to find a dose that you can shoot every 12 hours and I am not sure what that dose should be. In the last 6 cycles prior to today, she had only 2 doses of .25 and the rest of the cycles were skipped doses. I think I might try .25 and see if you can give that twice a day. As long as she doesn't go below 68 on that dose to earn a reduction, I would hold it for the required time for SLGS which would be one week.

@Chris & China , maybe I am being too conservative?
 
Back
Top