10/24 Jenks AMPS 75 +3 122 +9 168 PMPS 177 +5 50 +6 55 +7 40 +8 55 +9 75 +10 73 +11 57

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
10/23

Currently playing the Will-He-or-Won't-He game. Will he go low on this dose? Or will he be just fine? Nobody knows, so stay tuned!

Took a full unit reduction from 13 to 12 on the PM cycle of the 23rd. He tricked me by going from 131 up to about 152 near midcycle, so I laid off testing. I figured I'd get one in before transitioning him off to OH, and he turned out to be 85 at +10, which means he shed 67 points throughout that later half of the cycle. As it turned out, he'd give up another 10 points before AMPS.

I was a little gun shy with the dose today, so I did another reduced dose for AM expecting him to continue to go lower. I chose a 75% dose of 9U. Don't ask me to justify it, it just felt like a better number than the 7U that didn't appear to offer much in the way of control of his numbers.

Like the prior reduced dose, he rose during the day, ultimately adding 100 points by the end of the AM cycle while still thankfully remaining blue.

I've returned to the 12U dose for PMPS and will try to hold it for as many cycles as I can to see the effect. The cycle on the 23rd seemed to indicate that he can hold great numbers at that dose without going too low.

If it turns out I have to intervene tonight, that may indicate we're in a Dial-a-Dose situation where his reduced need for insulin suddenly outpaces our ability to make informed, evidence-based dosing decisions. I'd welcome a race down the ladder though!
 
Last edited:
It's pajama party time! I assume I'm the only one here, so I'll probably just be talking to myself.

Jenks had a mighty drop in the first 5 hours of the cycle. 127 points, to be exact. It's great to be in the 50s; not so great to do so with such dramatic effect. He ate some 9% food, which I mixed with a little karo syrup boost. That edged him up to the mid-50s, but it wouldn't last.

Just one hour later and he sank to 40. So I gave him 2.5tbsp of 18% gravy with a healthy helping of karo syrup for the short term boost, and fortified him with several dry treats that will hopefully kick in later once they digest.

Clearly, he's getting too much insulin at the moment. Whether that's due to too high of a dose or built-up depot action is anybody's guess. Tomorrow, we're going to drain his depot with a full day of reduced, half doses, and then we'll have to make a decision about what full dose sounds appropriate for the circumstances. I'm leaning toward 10U or even less.

This is feeling like one of those occasions where his body shifts gears and suddenly needs less insulin, and we just have to made an educated guess at how much less.
 
Last edited:
Holy cow Jenks, that's a heckuva drop dude! Looks like he really wanted another reduction. Hope you manage to get some sleep tonight, at least that 40 is mid-cycle and not closer to the beginning.

PS - I accidentally scrolled too far on your spreadsheet, love your comment for 31st Dec :cool:
 
Hey @Tara & Ivana @carfurby thanks for dropping by to join the party! Jenks fell asleep, so it's nice to have some company.

Getting that sort of reading midcycle would be a good thing if the cat was normal. Jenks is anything but. Lately, he's had a nadir at +12, which means his cycle still has room to run. I'd love for him to surf, but I have a feeling that I'll have to do another dose of gravy here before the night is over.

I'm keeping the party hat on because this party goes on alllllll night!
 
75! Looks like the gravy and stuff finally kicked in. Time for a breather. Still three hours until AMPS, so it's possible that it could wear off between now and then. That's why the party continues!
 
Yikes! FWIW I think the depot from 13u is still at play. Doing a 50% BCS is probably a good idea. When Doodles was at the higher end (10-12u) if I didn't do the 50% we got into trouble. It's so hard to balance the HD kitties especially when all of a sudden their needs can change. Doodles certainly did. Hope you get some rest today. Sorry I don't have much guidance for you.
 
I just had a peek at how Jenks did for the rest of last night, good stuff! :D Looks like you didn't get any sleep though, hope you don't have to make any important decisions today! Great idea to do a BCS, paws crosse Jenks thinks it's a good idea too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top