10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 +10.5=148 PMPS=193 +2=262

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106797

I'm not sure if I should shoot her whole dose. Shot time is in 15 min. I can't stay home and test.

I decided to take the fat off of her dose and shoot 2.25 units and leave extra food out.

Does anyone use pill pockets? I bought a pacakge of 6 from ADW a couple of months ago and finally needed them for my Hyper-T kitty's pill this morning. I opened 3 of the packages and they were drier then normal and I couldn't wrap them around the pill. I'm wondering if I just got a bad batch or they have changed the way they make them. They all have the same manufacturer code on them.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Dose ?

Let's see what her next test is (in 5 minutes?). I just see that the last two times she was green at +10.25, she was blue by PS time. Maybe she'll come up.
In the mean time, be thinking of what BCS dose you would be comfortable with and what food you can leave out for her.
.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

Dyana I saw your respone and tested before I shot and got a 119, so I shot the 2.25 with the fat taken off. Thanks. I know that is food influenced and she can surf safely in the 50s.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

I was waiting for the circle thing to turn red to know that there were new replies to this condo.
Please try to remember to reply, rather than edit your first post. Sorry, it just delayed what I was planning to do while waiting.

Good luck with that BCS dose. Did you get another test?

I use Greenies Duck and Pea Pill Pockets for dogs. What kind did you get?
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

Dyana I was editing my first post while you were replying. I replied to your post after I saw it. Sorry for the confusion. I didn't think anyone was on the board to respond, so I just edited.

I bought the Greenies chicken for cats since they aren't for Furball. It's what I always get.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

I'm not thinking clearly this morning. I'm running late and things keep happening to delay me. I know not to edit the first post. I didn't think to delay Furball's shot, I just thought I have to shoot. I've got to scramble to find Pill Pockets now before this evening or I'll have to dry pill Callie again. I buy them online, so I'm not sure if anyone sells them locally.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

Dyana, what circle thing? Is there a way to tell when you get new replies without refreshing all of the time?
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

carfurby said:
Dyana, what circle thing? Is there a way to tell when you get new replies without refreshing all of the time?
I was posting to other condos, while waiting and kept looking to see if the circle thing to the left of your Subject Line (on the main page that just shows all the Subject Lines) had turned red yet, to tell me you had responded.

My vet sells pill pockets and you can buy them at most pet stores. Since, I have to use the huge doggy ones for J.D., I just take a pinch off, and kind of smush or roll the remainder back into a circle so no air is on the inside, trying to keep them moist for the next time I have to take a pinch off. That works for me. Good luck finding some, and have a good day.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

I was posting to other condos, while waiting and kept looking to see if the circle thing to the left of your Subject Line (on the main page that just shows all the Subject Lines) had turned red yet, to tell me you had responded.

I never knew it did that.

Usually the pill pockets I buy are moist enough to pinch off a piece and wrap it around the pill. These wouldn't wrap around the pill. They just crumbled.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

Nice AMPS FB! I don't use the pill pockets since I have to manually pill. Have a great day Carla!
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

There was a bad batch of Chicken flavored pill pockets (when i called to complain to Greenies, they knew exactly what the problem was & were aware of it). I was told to return it to where I bought it OR Greenies would send me a coupon for a new bag. I ended up buying the chicken flavor dog ones. They have 3 times the amount of treats and the same exact ingredients for about $2 more!! My Bessie doesn't see a difference.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

Furball's looking lovely! I've never used Pill Pockets before with anyone here since I normally hold by scruff (gotta love the scruff), insert 2 fingers (1 on each side of the jaw), force open mouth, and quickly insert pill. Currently doing this (again) with Bubba. I'm hoping that you have success with them. Have a great day, guys!
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

Morning Carla ~O) ~O) ~O)

Nice amps! and good shooting. makes sense to take the fat off. I was glad to read that Furball was rising, with that 119. She should eb fine, with the food left out. Good job!

I have used pill pockets before, and mine have always been squishy. perhaps you did get an old bag? I used them with Mannie when it got to the pooint that he had so many pills... they did work, he liked them, and gobbled them up. I used greenies too. Wishing you much luck - they sure so beat manual insertion,. ;-)

Have a great day Carla !
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

It does sound like you got a bad bag. I know that once they are even open, the do stay squishy for quite a while, because I also had to use them long-term for my GA Mario who had high BP.

Very nice start for Furball!!!

Have a wonderful day, Carla!
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

Hi Carla,
I'm sure Furball will be OK with the fat taken off her dose.
I hope you can find Pill Pockets locally. All the pet food stores carry them.
Have a good day today and try not to worry. Just leave food out for Furball.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 Pill Pocket?

Thanks everyone. There is a Petsmart in the area, but it is hard for me to get to on my lunch break. I explained what happened and they let me take a little longer lunch break so I could go to Petsmart and get some pill pockets.

I tried to contact ADW, but just got voice mail. Someone was supposed to call me back within 4 hours, but no one ever did. If I can't get anywhere with ADW, I will call Greenies.

I was so rattled this morning with the Pill Pockets being dried out and Furball's greens, I couldn't think straight. It took me a while to calm down at work this morning. I left lots of extra food out and I hope Furball will surf safely today.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 +10.5=148

I'm glad Furball gave me a nice blue number when I got home. She didn't eat very much of the food I left out.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 +10.5=148 PMPS=193

ADW called me back and will give me a refund for the 6 pill pockets, but not the shipping. At least they are giving me something.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 +10.5=148 PMPS=193

I'm glad you're getting something back from ADW, but I would still call Greenies and let them know. They need to know there is a complaint.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 +10.5=148 PMPS=193

Sorry your day started so crazy Carla, hopefully it is ending on a better note! Come on down a little, Furball, nice and slow please :-D
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 +10.5=148 PMPS=193 +2=26

Dyana, I am planning to call Greenies. It seems a whole batch was bad.

I guess Furball is bouncing tonight.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 +10.5=148 PMPS=193 +2=26

Looks like Furball had a great day today. Good instincts this morning on shaving her dose and extra food. I'm sorry you had issues with the Greenies. A couple of years ago I had the same problem with some salmon flavored ones.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 +10.5=148 PMPS=193 +2=26

What a lovely green morning and not too shabby on the evening, so far. Hoping she doesn't bounce too high! <anti-jinx> Sleep well, Carla and have a great Friday!
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 +10.5=148 PMPS=193 +2=26

Carla, I'm sorry about the stressful start to your day.
I hope tomorrow is smoother :-D

Have a good night!
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 +10.5=148 PMPS=193 +2=26

Hi Carla,

One of those mornings. I hope tomorrow is a more relaxed day. Furball's numbers look good.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 +10.5=148 PMPS=193 +2=26

Great day for Furball! You did the right thing :-D I hope you get the pill pockets worked out.

I also hope you have a restful night after all the stress today.
 
Re: 10/24 Furball +10.25=72 AMPS=79 +10.5=148 PMPS=193 +2=26

Hi Carla,
I am sorry your morning was so stressful today!
But you made a good decision. :-D
I'm glad Furball was in a nice blue number when you got home, and I hope she doesn't bounce too much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top