10/24 Emma AMPS 176

Manuel

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-19-emma-304-but-reduction.268581/

It's a been a minute! Teaching has been very busy and Emma has been mostly consistent. I've been very slowly reducing the amount of dry kibble she eats and replacing it with low-calorie wet. Her current routine is 82% of calories from wet food and 18% dry food. She has been getting her prednisolone pill every 3.5 or 4 days.

I'm posting to check in, but also because 2 days ago there was a strange reading at PMPS +2, which took her just below 90. I gave her what would be her normal dry snack and tested after 20 minutes and she was at 158; further tests confirmed she was over 150.

I think it was probably a faulty strip (I had to put blood on both ends of the strip until it beeped) since the reading didn't make sense (huge drop) and the ones after were consistent and in line with what I'd expect. But it made me wonder: what do I do if she goes below 90 and she's currently at 0.25U on SLGS? Given that she still regularly has AMPS and PMPS in the 200s, do I take her OTJ? My current plan is to keep reducing dry food until she's hardly eating any kibble at all. Maybe 10% of her calories.

Thanks for any thoughts.
 
what do I do if she goes below 90 and she's currently at 0.25U on SLGS? Given that she still regularly has AMPS and PMPS in the 200s, do I take her OTJ? My current plan is to keep reducing dry food until she's hardly eating any kibble at all. Maybe 10% of her calories.
Hi Manuel sounds like it could have been a faulty strip from what you are saying
If she goes below 90 and is currently on 0.25 you would then reduce and give 0.1 units . I'll show you how to do that below.
You wouldn't take her off insulin
If she is on 0.1 and drops below 90 again you would give what we call a drop dose
Will explain that when it happens

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg
 
Thank you @Diane Tyler's Mom ! I would definitely need new syringes for something like that. My current syringe is not nearly that accurate; the very tip of the plunger is often uneven, and one way or another always has air bubbles that make my samples (as a former chemistry major) frustratingly imprecise. I'll look for better options.
 
Thank you @Diane Tyler's Mom ! I would definitely need new syringes for something like that. My current syringe is not nearly that accurate; the very tip of the plunger is often uneven, and one way or another always has air bubbles that make my samples (as a former chemistry major) frustratingly imprecise. I'll look for better options.
What syringes are you using now
 
I'm in Canada. I'm using EliMedical syringes that I get from the vet. I will probably need an BD UltraFine2. I have done the research before and know where I can get it in my area.
 
Ha! I'll let you know how it goes when the time comes. I expect glory and nothing less
I'm pretty sure the BD syringes have half unit markings
Nice pre shot this morning, When I gave Tyler 0.1 units I of course just eye balled it and still got him into remission

Take a look at Tyler's spreadsheet starting with 12-13-2020 and 2021 so on
If they stay in those nice green numbers for 7 days you can then reduce also you don't have to wait until they drop under 90
A low blue once in a while is OK
We can cross that bridge when we get there
Any way you can do a curve in the near future
@Manuel
 
Last edited:
I'm pretty sure the BD syringes have half unit markings
Nice pre shot this morning, When I gave Tyler 0.1 units I of course just eye balled it and still got him into remission

Take a look at Tyler's spreadsheet starting with 12-13-2020 and 2021 so on
If they stay in those nice green numbers for 7 days you can then reduce also you don't have to wait until they drop under 90
A low blue once in a while is OK
We can cross that bridge when we get there
Any way you can do a curve in the near future
@Manuel

I am striving to do a curve today, in fact! Had to step out for a little bit but got Emma at +4.75 and + 6.25. Seems she bottomed out around 115 today. And wow, what an encouraging spreadsheet. I can't wait for the day when Emma starts most days in the blue and surfs the green... I think because of her prednisolone and her dry kibbles it'll be a while yet. But it's pretty striking that even 0.25 is enough to get her from the 200s down to the low 100s. I hope it means when I take her off dry food that she'll spend even more time surfing. Thanks again for your advice.
 
Back
Top