10/24 DoDo AMPS: 391 PMPS 187

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovetheduns

Member
Hey there

So today was the day of accidents.

This morning, I overslept. I had gone to bed late and then I think everything caught up with me. I was 1hr late for DoDo's shot and to feed the cats. My mom also overslept.

I gave a slim 3.0 units this morning.

Later, I saw he had gone to 44 although he was super chipper. I was too rattled and just gave him 1.5 tbsp of Hill's A/D (high carb) before I really thought about what someone else had suggested-- to test a civvie or two with my meter to see what they are.

So I did. I tested two of my civvies. One was 45 and the other 49. I think at this point it is safe to say that for my meter 44 is not hypo level.

However, DoDo definitely did not turn down his snack.

This evening, I saw we were at 187 and now 3 hours later we are at 405-- higher than other times-- maybe it is because of the HIll's A/D.

I tell you-- he is confusing me. Last night when I gave him a 1.5 unit for his PMPS-- he definitely did not give me the numbers that he does during the morning. I wasn't so concerned about the 279 but in the morning we are 391.

So now, we 3 hours post meal he is at 405 and that is with 2.00 units. I am hoping the onset with DoDo is just a little later than the 2 hours post eating.

On a plus, we have no ketones. 0.00 blood ketones.
 
going 391 to 44 in a few hours is going to create a big bounce. I think you need to watch carefully, because he may dip again.
IMO 44 is too low for him as a target right now, and calls for a reduction. I'm glad you decreased.

I would keep a lower dose for a few days, (Im not that familiar with your details to say what dose)
and adjust your feeding schedule to feed lightly near preshot times and heavily at nadir times. Hopefully that will flatten out this bouncing, which cant feel good.


Hey everyone here has had dosing screw ups, overslept, forgot to shoot, etc .... it's life, and as my vet says, cats survive IN SPITE of us. He's gonna get there! :-D
 
ya know i know we are just following trends here..but in the name of nervouse breakdowns,, when all your cats are testing in the 40's may i reccomend a new meter.
i forget if you already have the spare, what you are using.
i have a couple if you'd like one.
i don't like when low numbers are off. it's one thing when high numbers are off but usually all meters read very close on low numbers.
 
I have two other meters.. well.. 4 just no strips.

I have the Precision Xtra (not too keen on how much blood it takes) for ketones

and 2 Freestyle Lites

I think I am going to try and feed him three meals a day.. then i don't have to worry about him being so piggy and then hopefully we wont be going up and down.

It may make sense for all of my beasties.. they tend to scarf down food in the evening and morning and the ones who like to "graze" end up having all of their food eaten by the piglets. So maybe doing a 3 meal spread will keep the piglets from out of the grazers, etc.

And a by-product will keep DoDo from going so far down towards the nadir.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top