Jenny and Comet (GA)
Member Since 2020
So we had a wild ride today. I shot .1 this AM and, well, just look at the spreadsheet.
He went down what felt like really hard and fast and took a long time to start climbing again. I was very scared because of the hypos* but hung in there.
Obviously tonight I am not shooting.
What the heck do I do tomorrow? For SLGS, I see this:
>>Hold the dose for at least a week:
Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.<<
So do I have to reduce by .25 unit as he got down to 70? (I actually saw a 65 at one point, but with a question mark.) How on earth do I do that when he is only getting .1? Am I misunderstanding this?
* Why I am scared of hypos -- from this thread:
>>So we have had a completely frightening time of it. We had a checkup with the new place set for 2:30 yesterday. I ran out at 1:00 to do a couple of errands. Comet looked great when I left, was walking around and doing stuff. Came back and my other cat ran up to the door to meet me and was talking the whole time, and I saw puke on the floor. Found Comet huddled behind the bed. Scooped him up and ran the three blocks to the clinic. They tested him and he was hypoglycemic. They gave him water and dextrose and got him back up so that he was having consecutive good blood glucose readings at 6:00. They felt it would be wise to keep him overnight. His BG was 400 this morning; they took him off the water and dextrose and started with the insulin again. He was at 200 at 5:00 this evening and came home with me.<<
>>tiffmaxee said: ↑
Explain the scares please.
The first one was very early on after they had done a curve and told me that's all I needed to know. I came home after running an errand and he was hiding someplace he never goes. I took one look at him, scooped him up, and ran. The vet who took him in at the practice that day confirmed he had gone too low. They kept him overnight to be safe.
The second one is on the spreadsheet. He didn't seem off, but the vet had told me to call if he went below 70, she did not want him to go below that until he was more established in treatment. I called the emergency nurse and kept checking and watched the numbers drop into the low 50s. She told me to feed him honey and a high carb food and I did but his numbers weren't going up, so she told me to get him to the emergency hospital. I did, and they tested him at 84. At the time, I wondered if it was the honey/gravy food kicking in finally. But now when I look at it, I just don't know. Maybe he was still fine. But it looked like he was going to keep going down.<<
He went down what felt like really hard and fast and took a long time to start climbing again. I was very scared because of the hypos* but hung in there.
Obviously tonight I am not shooting.
What the heck do I do tomorrow? For SLGS, I see this:
>>Hold the dose for at least a week:
Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.<<
So do I have to reduce by .25 unit as he got down to 70? (I actually saw a 65 at one point, but with a question mark.) How on earth do I do that when he is only getting .1? Am I misunderstanding this?
* Why I am scared of hypos -- from this thread:
>>So we have had a completely frightening time of it. We had a checkup with the new place set for 2:30 yesterday. I ran out at 1:00 to do a couple of errands. Comet looked great when I left, was walking around and doing stuff. Came back and my other cat ran up to the door to meet me and was talking the whole time, and I saw puke on the floor. Found Comet huddled behind the bed. Scooped him up and ran the three blocks to the clinic. They tested him and he was hypoglycemic. They gave him water and dextrose and got him back up so that he was having consecutive good blood glucose readings at 6:00. They felt it would be wise to keep him overnight. His BG was 400 this morning; they took him off the water and dextrose and started with the insulin again. He was at 200 at 5:00 this evening and came home with me.<<
>>tiffmaxee said: ↑
Explain the scares please.
The first one was very early on after they had done a curve and told me that's all I needed to know. I came home after running an errand and he was hiding someplace he never goes. I took one look at him, scooped him up, and ran. The vet who took him in at the practice that day confirmed he had gone too low. They kept him overnight to be safe.
The second one is on the spreadsheet. He didn't seem off, but the vet had told me to call if he went below 70, she did not want him to go below that until he was more established in treatment. I called the emergency nurse and kept checking and watched the numbers drop into the low 50s. She told me to feed him honey and a high carb food and I did but his numbers weren't going up, so she told me to get him to the emergency hospital. I did, and they tested him at 84. At the time, I wondered if it was the honey/gravy food kicking in finally. But now when I look at it, I just don't know. Maybe he was still fine. But it looked like he was going to keep going down.<<
Last edited:

