10/24 Cinco AMPS 262 +4 149 +6 129 +8 138 PMPS 254 +8 163

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Very Active Member
10/23 Recap:
1.25 units bid
AMPS: 244
AM+4.25: 120
AM+6: 78
AM+7: 88
PMPS: 218
PM+3: 223
PM+6.25: 238


Yesterday at Tricia's House of Chaos

No greens so far today - c'mon, Cinco, don't tease Mama. She's getting used to those lagoon visits. You just got back to work, so it's too soon to take a day off! What will Rusty say???

We almost had an out of box pee, I think. I might have been a little too quick to intervene, but Cinco was doing his wandering around the family room, and I was sure he was going to the box and wouldn't make it, so I grabbed him the first time he paused and put him in the lb. He stood there for a minute, like he was confused (and why wouldn't he be?), but then he peed. Perhaps I need to give him just a little bit longer to find it on his own, but I'm tired of changing pads. He's otherwise doing normal Cinco things. He even hollered at me earlier to come and give him a rubdown. I hadn't realized that he hasn't been doing that for a while. Hopefully it's a good sign.

Cinco was in the cutest position a little while ago, I just couldn't resist:

upload_2015-10-24_14-8-20.png

Made me think of superman!

Speaking of hollering, Minka's Cypro must have just kicked in, as she just walked by me and let out a yowl. No appy again today, so I just finished assist feeding her. I got around 15 cc in before she was done. She actually seemed to enjoy it and even reached her mouth out toward the syringe a few times, as well as licking the excess off of it. I'm glad it's not a negative experience for her, but I'd still rather she eat on her own. I found a syringe that works pretty well for me - I think the trouble I was having was due to the rubber stopper. This one doesn't have one, and it glides easily - much less pain for my stupid hands. I'm going to pick up a few more of this kind the next time I'm in Sac. @Vyktors Mum, she was already pretty used to personalized service - a lot of times the only want to get her to eat is to hold the plate. The things we do for our babies! :rolleyes:

Sasha's about the same. Appy starts off slow and picks up through the day. She is really tired of eyedrops, but it looks to me like the ulcer in her left eye isn't getting any better, so I don't think we'll be stopping this any time soon. :( Sorry, baby.

Harvey has his Hoover on. Right now he's incarcerated in the guest room for another attempt at getting a urine sample. We found some non-clumping litter in the garage and I put a smaller amount of that in the box than I used yesterday. If this doesn't work, I guess I'll try the aquarium gravel. I really just want this over with and want to know if he is or he isn't diabetic, so we can move on. If he is, we definitely feel it's thanks to the Pred. Talk about a catch 22.

It's about time to go give Sasha some more eye drops, and I still have gelcaps to fill, so I'd better pull myself away from the computer. Hope you are all having a good Caturday.

Thinking of Ann and John. :bighug:

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans, especially Marilyn & Polly, Carla & her civvie Baby, Wendy & Neko & civvie Theo, and Marje & Gracie. :bighug:Prayers continue for Amy's DF, Lyresa's DF and DH, Marje's DM, Chris' DM, Molly's DM, and Elise's DM.
 
Such a cute pic of Cinco, glad you managed to get him to the lb with some assistance. Appy vines for Minka and Sasha and hope you get a sample soon from Harvey. Thanks for taking the time Tricia to drop in on Crystal, with all you have going on, I really appreciate it. :bighug: for your crew.
 
Lovely photo of Cinco.....he is beautiful colour.
It must be hard for him not being able to see to find the LB ......I guess it all depends if he starts off in the right direction in the beginning.
I had beautiful old female Burmese, Ming, who went blind from high BP...she lived to 21 years, and she could find her way around everywhere. She knew the number of stairs..and there are several lots here....
I didn't even realise she was blind until I noticed she kept having a wet tail. I watched her when she went outside and as she turned the corner she sometimes misjudged where the pool was and that was how her tail got wet. I stopped her going outside after that unless I was with her.
 
Great pic of Cinco. Looks so peaceful and very content.! You are amazing!
Vines and wishes to all:)
 
Such a cute picture of Cinco. I hope he keeps sliding down to the lagoon. I hope you get the pee sample you need from Harvey this time. Sending appy vines for the girls and prayers and hugs. :bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks for visiting us, Suki, Bron, Paula, Carla and Rhiannon. Superman didn't fly to the lagoon, but that's okay. I just need him to be good tonight as we're finally getting out for dinner and cards again.

Poor Harvey was in the guest room all afternoon. I don't know how accurate the reading is, as he was pretty stressed by the time I let him out - had been crying at the door for over an hour. :( But he did pee and I got the strip wet and it went as dark as it could go. :arghh::arghh::arghh:

Question: It was (or seems like ) a long time ago when Cinco was diagnosed, but it seems to me that they tested his blood, then tested his urine and declared him diabetic. Of course, the clinical signs were pretty overwhelming and he was in DKA. They've tested Harvey's blood and urine and done a Fructosamine and now I've tested his urine. Is there anything else they should/will do before they diagnose him? I feel like we need to get started on treatment ASAP. I'd appreciate any feedback.

I gotta go jump in the shower. It's a great place to go when you're upset - no one can tell you've been crying afterward.
 
I'm so sorry to say this Tricia but I think you've confirmed you've got another super sweet kitty on your hands. We didn't even do a fructosamine on Vyktor this time around just the spot tests over a few days with the urine test to confirm but I think it wouldn't hurt to get another urine test in a day or two to be sure :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I wish that we were neighbours I would be there in a flash to help you out :( as it is all I can do is recommended a massive meltdown, to which you are more than entitled, before pulling your super woman cape back on. You are the most incredible mom and I know you will work out how to manage this too. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Tricia......it does look like he is another sweet kitty. I am so sorry....I agree with Serryn. Have a giant meltdown and you will feel better.
What is his BSL today?
He is a lucky boy to have you. I wish I could help you too!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you, Serryn and Bron. I had a little cry in the shower, but I think the big meltdown will come after the first attempt at t/f/s. NOT looking forward to that. I may have to do SLGS with him, simply because it will be hard to test him - he can be very difficult to catch when he wants to be.

Looks like Cinco was a good boy while we were gone, but I erred in not showing him that there was food in the first compartment of the feeder before we left, so he didn't know it was there until it turned the first time. The rest of the food was gone, though. He did pee on the pee pads, too. After we got home I caught him wandering toward the laundry room - wrong direction for the lb, so I grabbed him and put him in the box. He went pee. *Sigh* I guess this is going to be our life from now on. :(

Before we left for our evening out, I caught Cinco pulling hair out of a spot above his left shoulder. :eek::facepalm: I slapped the e-collar back on him. Guess the Gabapentin isn't working so well, after all. I feel like pulling my hair out. :banghead:

Minka didn't want the dinner I served her before we left, so I caved in and gave her a full jar of baby food. When we got home, there was only that little bit in the bottom that her tongue couldn't reach. I offered her some kangaroo for a late dinner, and she ate about a tablespoon or so. Then I gave her another jar of baby food with her fluids and that's 1/3 gone so far. I'll leave her that overnight.

Sasha didn't eat much of the dinner I left her, but she did eat a little more kangaroo than Minka did, as well as a tablespoon of baby food that is her treat when I give her the serum eye drops (to make up for their being cold and going in both eyes).

Harvey has had three helping since we got home. He'd already eaten his dinner before we walked out the door and we left him eating seconds. I need to remember to pull up all the dry food tonight. That's going to be tough on Sasha, as she snacks on that during the day. I'll have to make a point of offering her some several times a day. Harvey doesn't eat a lot of it, but he likes to have it when he doesn't care for the moist food I'm offering. No more of that!:confused:

We had a nice dinner and fun playing cards. I'm still a little wound up, so I'm going to have an adult beverage and play some games before hitting the hay. Ni ni.
28.gif
 
I'm glad you had a nice meal and a fun game of cards........you need some R and R big time.
Hope the t/f/s goes well with Harvey....he may surprise you.
Hope you can get a good sleep :bighug::bighug:
 
I'm sorry you're going to have to start testing Harvey. I hope he'll adjust to it quickly. Remember, if you have to start with SLGS, you can switch to TR later or make adjustments as you go. I hope you got some rest last night. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
(((Tricia))),
I'm just getting caught up after my surgery and really, really hope that Harvey will be easy to deal with if indeed he is diabetic. You have lots on your plate, that's for sure. That is a lovely pic of Cinco. I'm glad, at least, that the girls are doing their things and that there is nothing out of the ordinary there!
Sending all sorts of vines. So glad you had a night out. You should take advantage of every opportunity.

Hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug: and scritches,
Ella & Rusty
p.s. Thanks for your well wishes. I'm feeling good.

Yo Deputy Cinco,
Don't worry about the lagoon just now. The shore is a good place to listen from. I like having company when I'm up on shore, too.
~ Rusty
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Oh Tricia, we were all hoping that it wasn't so! :bighug:But you will handle it as well as you do all the care for your furbabies! I'm so glad that you got to go out to unwind. Paws crossed that Harvey will get used to all the extra attention. Maybe some tranquilizers? For you and Harvey!;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top