10/24 Charlie amps:347, +5:261

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charliemeow

Member Since 2010
Gave 3.4 u.
The amps was taken with the freestyle lute meter, but the +5 was taken with the relion ultima meter. I'm going to use that now, with the freestyle as a backup. I couldn't beat the price of the relion. I plan to hold this dose through tomorrow to see the new pattern with the new meter.
 
i think that looks like 'some' improvement...could you update your SS?
 
the Relion Confirm is what I use. The cheaper strips encourage more random testing which is very helpful. I have found it to be very reliable. If you belong to SAMs they are $18.50ish instead of $20 at Walmart.

I am inclined to keep moving up tomorrow. If you get a nadir closer to blue we could slow down some, but with high/mid yellows I think he needs more. and we are only talking .2u more, so he should be fine. but thats just my 2cents. See what others think.
 
Pmps:440 3.4u
I agree, Nancy. I think that's plenty high to warrant an increase, unless I see something great at tomorrow's amps.
 
every once in awhile it might be smart to grab a before bed number. It seems many cats dip lower at night, probably because they aren't eating??? hormones??? IDK

His ss does seem to have a lot of higher numbers at the AMPS, and lower at the PMPS. It might give you a clue as to why.
 
Nancy, I see your point, but the problem is he eats a small meal when I shoot him at 7pm. Then he eats his normal before bed meal at 9pm. I go to bed at 10. I guess I could test him around 9:45, but would his numbers be spiked from food still? I'll give it a try tonight.
 
when I switched from my freestyle ( the old one) to a new meter, my readings looked a lot worse. I wonder if this is the meter or the dose. ??? Are you testing today?

Maybe you could push the 9p feeding to 9:40p, and test right before you feed. That would give you a +3 pre-meal which could show you if he is dropping FAST or just starting to drop. If he's going low maybe he is dropping fast. Also you don't have to shoot exactly at 12/12 so you could move the pm shot to 6:30/6:45 and get a true +3, at 9:45p.

Also, are you still using the overnight feeder? I try to set mine to coincide with the overnight nadir to offset any overnight excess drop which could cause an AMPS bounce.
 
I'll try that tonight to get a +3 reading. Yes, we use a timed feeder that feeds him at +6 overnight (1 am).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top