10/24 calliecat

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Member Since 2011
good morning everyone (sorry its Monday)

well I tried to get a curve on callie yesterday and I should have known better with a ps of 521, it was fine until +8 then of all things there was a thunder storm and callie HATES THUNDER she ran down the basement and I went and got her but she would not let me test her she was so stressed out so I gave up and she went back down stairs and I went with her telling her it was all right she was so scared :(

this is what I got

10/23

amps =521
+2 = 429
+4 = 348
+6 = 379
pmps =365
+ 5 = 266

she is still on 1.5 units and she has been on Baytril for 2 days

10/24

amps =441

I gave her , her shot 1/2 hour early I can't stand these high ps ??????
she had a blue on 10/22 :smile: cat_pet_icon

have a good day callie and marty :YMHUG:
 
The infection could be part of the issue, but I wonder if she is bouncing from a low number at night. It is possible that her nadir is before or after that +6 you are getting. Her numbers generally seem to run higher during the day. Might be worth it to try to figure out why. Different feeding schedule? Less or more activity? If you could find the difference, maybe changing the day schedule to be more like night?
 
I'm thinking it is a bit of a bounce from lower numbers at night to Sue, the only thing I can think of thats different is there is more activity during the day, I have a client ( I work with handy cap kids) I bring into my home to work with but callie is use to her, and my phone rings quite a bit during the day, at night its just really me and my cats dh goes to bed pretty early he gets up at 4:00am to go to work.

callies nadir is always before + 6 sometimes she will get a higher number between +6 and +8 than her pmps ??
 
Does she eat the same amount at about the same time day and night? If she grazes during the day, and doesn't eat as much overnight, you might try designated feeding times during the day and night for awhile to see if it makes a difference. (or vice versa). Most cats do best with grazing but every cat is different.

Just thinking the numbers are better at night - let's see if we can figure out why.
 
sue I feed callie 1/2 can of ff after amps then again after I check her again which is between 4.5 and 5.5 (1/2 can of ff) then around 3:30 I give her a 1/4 can of ff because she begs for food so bad between 5 and 6 o'clock . she gets checked pmps 6:15 to 6:30 if she has any food left after the 3:30 1/4 can I take it away at 4:30 , then after pmps check I give her a 1/2 can of ff then when I check her again which is usually 4.5 to 5 I give her a 1/2 can of ff then she and I usually go to bed and she don't eat until after amps , when I get up in the morning sometimes there is still food in her dish so maybe she eats a little less at night.

I really hate to cut back on any food because callie has went from 17 last December to 13 pounds now and I don't want her to loose weight to fast ! any thoughts ??
 
thank you Sue for trying to help me figure this out :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon I have asked the vet about her high ps numbers and she says were not gona worry about that now !!! she says she wants her nadir to go down well common since would tell you right that if her ps numbers are real high her mid cycle numbers would be affected to right because if she starts in the 400's and comes down 200 points yes she would be in 200's but if her ps was in 300's she would see some 100's more or is my thinking off on this ??
 
Not suggesting feeding any less, just experimenting with time and amount fed. I am wondering if not grazing at night might be bringing down her numbers. But just because you feed at specified times doesn't mean she will eat then. She could still graze on the food. Maybe try feeding splitting what she eats into three meals during the day and feed her in the am (will she eat it all?) and then once at nadir, and then again after pmps. Same amount, just hoping she won't graze all day.

If food brings up her numbers (likely at this point) then grazing could mean higher overall numbers. Food with spacing between eating could mean lower ones. No guarantees. It's that darn ECID thing. Asher came down in numbers when they started feeding more at night!

Yes, lower preshots should mean lower nadirs. That's the hope!

You could also try an increase of .25 What would your vet think about that?
 
Just an fyi..I know that shakes numbers are so much better when he eates a large meal and
does not graze..ECID but you should watch everything..to the different %of carbs morning vs night
eating habits ...etc...just some thouhght to throw out there
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top