10/24 Calistica's PMPS 214

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thelma and Calistica

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54835&p=593248#p593248

Good morning everyone! I think this 278 is not too bad given the fur shot last night. I hope her PMPS is much better!
Have a great day!
Sending your babies lots of prayers and healing energy
Thelma
 
Re: 10/24 Calistica's AMPS 278

Thanks Jordan and Linda! Calistica is doing great. We can see how much better she is doing. I think she walks much better too.
 
Re: 10/24 Calistica's AMPS 278

Hi guys .. no, not a bad start at all after a furshot .. I hope calistica comes down for you and shows you a nice pmps tonight! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/24 Calistica's AMPS 278

Thelma and Calistica said:
Calistica is doing great. We can see how much better she is doing. I think she walks much better too.

This is fabulous to hear! I'm sure Calistica will bring that AMPS down in no time.

Have a great day!

Amy
 
Re: 10/24 Calistica's AMPS 278

Thank you! I really hope her numbers are lower at her PMPS test!
I spoke to one of Calistica's vets and he said to continue at 1 unit BID. He said that it was up to me if I wanted to do a curve next Sunday.
When do you all suggest I should repeat the curve?
He also said that Lantus was a slow acting insulin and that I didn't have to worry about Calistica's glucose level dropping rapidly after an injection. What are your thoughts on this?
He also said if the BG drops below 60 to feed her right away then call them ASAP. If she won't eat to use the Karo syrup. He said it was absorbed through the gums. Of course I need to call them if she's always in the 300 range too.
 
Hi Thelma: glad to see Calistica is coming down this evening.

He also said that Lantus was a slow acting insulin and that I didn't have to worry about Calistica's glucose level dropping rapidly after an injection

I disagree. ECID but if a cat is clearing a bounce, if the pancreas kicks in, and if they just want to be a cat ;-) , they can come down very fast. One of the great things about this group is looking at other cats' SS and I encourage you to do this. One reason that Ann (Tess) and I moved our kitties to levemir was to stop the dives. Gracie could go from 300 to 80 in two hours. And then we'd have to try to get the brakes on her so she wouldn't end up in the 30s by the next hour. There are many kitties on lantus in LL that are divers. Some of the SSs you might want to look at are Tess's and Gracie's LANTUS (not lev) SSs, Mannie (but back maybe a year ago as he's stopped his diving), Gabby.

Please take a look at the links in my signature block for handling low numbers and also the one on low preshots. If at PRE-SHOT, you get a number lower than the 166 that you've already shot, please do not feed but post and ask for help. If you feed, you will elevate her BG and then we have to wait for those effects to wear off before you can shoot her. What might happen if you do not feed is that she will start to bring herself up. So, for a PS lower than 166, do not feed, post and ask for help.

If you get a number below 60 during the cycle (not at PS), then post for help. There is usually someone around to help out. But the link in my signature block for Dealing with Low Numbers will help you if there is not. We typically try to give the kitty some LC/MC and see if that brings them up. We use karo (on the gums or in the food if they are eating) to bring them up from really low numbers (30s/40s) if HC gravy will not bring them up. You should have karo or honey available at home just in case. It usually works fast to bring them up but then you must stay on top of the testing as it will also clear quickly and the kitty's BG could come back down.

I don't see any reason to call your vet if she's in the 300 range. Some cats bounce and they bounce even higher than that sometimes. I'm afraid if she does that, your vet's inclination will be to have you increase her dose. We give a bounce six cycles to clear before we raise the dose. If you don't wait and you raise the dose before the bounce clears, two things can possibly happen (1) the kitty is at too high of a dose OR (2) the bounce clears and the kitty comes racing down into very low numbers very fast which can start a dive/bounce kind of pattern when what you want is flat.

I hope this helps. Please let us know if you have questions.
 
Thanks so much Marje, I knew this board would disagree that is why I asked! How scary about the low numbers!
I have been looking at other SSs but not knowing the history it's kind of hard to figure out what is going on. Thanks for mentioning what spreadsheets I should study!
I do have Karo syrup on the counter with instructions. I've also left a small can of fancy feast with gravy which Calistica has never eaten before but we will use it in case of an emergency. Her food is high in carbs for a diabetic kitty so her regular food may do if she will eat it.
There is much to learn! I was feeling quite comfortable with managing Calistica's diabetes till I read the posts about low numbers
Thank you all for your sharing your knowledge and for being there to support us!
Thelma
 
Thelma

Remember that with low numbers, YOU are in control because you are testing and you have HC foods and karo (if necessary) to bring her up. It's scary the first time they head for lower numbers but there is usually someone around
to walk you through it and we do...step by step. We will stay up with you all night if need be. Testing is your biggest friend. I strongly recommend that you always get a +2. If the +2 is not pretty close to your PS number, then you should be prepared that there might be some action. However, it's important to note that even if it isn't, Calistica could still come down lower. By testing, you'll gather data to learn how Calistica responds.

You will do absolutely fine....we've ALL been there. Someone has had to walk each of us through low numbers and shooting low. You'll learn.....we're here to help.
 
Thelma,
We got the shampoo today....first use tonight. Thanks for the tip. I sure hope it is the answer for her....at long last! Thought I would send you this link.....hopefully it works. Best price I have ever seen on the Halo. Too bad you can only get 3, but every little bit helps
Calistica looks like she is doing really well! (and you and Ray, too, of course! )

http://www.swansonvitamins.com/HL013/It ... =129498486
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top