? 10/24 Booger AMPS 411, +3 444, +6 312, +10 52

If you're doing TR, he hasn't quite earned a reduction yet, but I have to wonder if that was a bad test strip

That's an awful big drop for so late in the cycle and then to bounce right up to 196
 
If you're doing TR, he hasn't quite earned a reduction yet, but I have to wonder if that was a bad test strip

That's an awful big drop for so late in the cycle and then to bounce right up to 196
I checked 3 times and all 3 readings where right around 52. So I do not think it was a bad strip. He jumped up to 196 because I gave him some FF with gravy.
 
Kudos to you on all the testing, which I would probably reduce on his stable days. I agree with Chris to wait another dose before reducing.

Some cats are just bouncy, and Leo is one. Bouncy like a rubber ball. So for bouncy cats I recommend just trying to keep them safe, and do some of the regulation with food. If Booger is maintaining weight, maybe extra intake is contributing to his high black numbers.

As you said, for today's hypo, you gave him gravy and that brought him up quite a bit. So I would ensure Booger gets no carb treats or sneaks any. Leo would not agree since he is the KING of sneaking carb treats, including dog kibbles.
 
that's still a pretty high jump but if you retested three times, it must have been right!

Usually a little gravy will take them up less than 50 points....he went up almost three times that
 
that's still a pretty high jump but if you retested three times, it must have been right!

Usually a little gravy will take them up less than 50 points....he went up almost three times that
Booger has always been sensitive to carbs. When he gets anything higher than 5% carbs he shoots up.
 
sorry I wasn't on this morning
f you're doing TR, he hasn't quite earned a reduction yet, but I have to wonder if that was a bad test strip
If they are using an AT, so a reduction was earned, reduction point is 68.

Are you back to the AT or still using the human meter? If you are using the human meter then no need to reduce since he didn't drop below 50.

Did you hold the dose for the pm shot? if he bounced up high by PM holding on to the dose for a single time (shooting through the bounce) can help some kitties get back on track more quickly.
 
Back
Top