? 10/24 Blaze amps 299 PMPS 375 +1 368 +2 269, +2.5 191 + 3 162 +4 192 +4.5 203 help with dose?

Sarah and Blaze

Member Since 2019
Good morning and happy Thursday everyone!
Blaze’s amps is 299 today.
Today is my early day, my first patient is at 7am so I won’t be able to get a +1 and won’t be home until PMPS.

Today is my 30th birthday! Let’s hope Blaze gives me some good birthday numbers when I get home from work!

Have a great day everyone!!:)
 
Last edited:
Happy Birthday Sarah!!! How wonderful - 30!! Oh my gosh...that was a long, long time ago... :facepalm:

I hope you get a nice number from that cutie-patootie Mr. Blaze tonight for your BD! And I hope you get to do something you want to do...relaxing dinner with a glass of wine? Sitting by the fire (if it's cold where you are)...not a care in the world...at 30 I sure didn't have a diabetic cat to worry about...:rolleyes:

You're doing a great job with him! Enjoy your special day!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Happy Birthday Sarah!!! How wonderful - 30!! Oh my gosh...that was a long, long time ago... :facepalm:

I hope you get a nice number from that cutie-patootie Mr. Blaze tonight for your BD! And I hope you get to do something you want to do...relaxing dinner with a glass of wine? Sitting by the fire (if it's cold where you are)...not a care in the world...at 30 I sure didn't have a diabetic cat to worry about...:rolleyes:

You're doing a great job with him! Enjoy your special day!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you Sue!!:D

I’m hoping Blaze has a nice birthday number for me at PMPS too! No special plans tonight, DH is working out of town and doesn’t get home till 7pm or later but we have some things planned for the weekend. Brunch with friends on Saturday and a birthday dinner tomorrow night too. Tonight will be a nice relaxing dinner at home with a glass of wine! Unfortunately, here in the Central Valley of California, we are having weather in the high 80’s. I’m ready for some fall weather so we can make some fires!
 
Happy Birthday Sarah! Hope you get a good present from Blaze! :bighug:

sarah1.jpg
 
Well PMPS is 375 so that’s not the birthday present I wanted!

I’m needing some help now. Blaze has been on this dose for 5 days now, thought it was a good idea to get a full 10 cycles since he has seen some blue and green numbers. Do we increase tomorrow morning? Even though he has had lower nadirs? His higher numbers seem to be bounces from lower numbers in the evening. I’m not sure what to do.

@Wendy&Neko
@Marje and Gracie
 
Last edited:
PMPS 375
+ 1 368
+2 269

Not sure if we should increase tomorrow or give this dose a couple more days? Any advice would be greatly appreciated! This is our first week following TR, just want to make sure I’m doing things correctly.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Last edited:
I would increase tomorrow. The benefits of TR is the choice to increase faster :) And maybe get some later cycle tests just to complete the picture.
During work night’s, it’s impossible for me to get anything later than midnight and even that is too much on work nights. I do my best to get more tests on the weekends but I’m not someone who can stay up all night. If I wake up between midnight and amps, I will grab a test.

As for increasing the dose, his numbers on his SS indicate an increase tomorrow morning then? I’m nervous to increase, he hasn’t been higher than 1.25U yet but I know we need to do it to get him into better numbers. He will most likely bounce from tonight’s blues too, he’s bouncy! Thank you for responding Crista!!:)
 
You can definitely wait until the weekend or whenever you have a free day to grab some later half cycle tests :)

I know it can be scary increasing but don’t worry too much about the amount. They need what they need. The goal is to give them enough insulin support to sort of wake up the pancreas and hope it makes some insulin itself lol! And some cats just need a bit more of a push.

And no problem! Good luck on the increase.
 
You can definitely wait until the weekend or whenever you have a free day to grab some later half cycle tests :)

I know it can be scary increasing but don’t worry too much about the amount. They need what they need. The goal is to give them enough insulin support to sort of wake up the pancreas and hope it makes some insulin itself lol! And some cats just need a bit more of a push.

And no problem! Good luck on the increase.


You’re right!! Thanks so much for your help! Blaze will be getting an increase in the morning:)
 
It does look like Blaze needs a tad more insulin. However.......
I've been looking at the SS and seeing how she reacts to a dose increase, some kitties have a strong reaction to a dose increase.
I haven't got much to work with. But out of three times you took the dose up it took her two cycles to get back in green. One time though she went up the very same cycle you took the dose up.
She also got to 53 on this dose all be it a while ago.
If you are able to monitor her through till midnight on the Friday night, perhaps that would be a better time to take the dose up. How does that fit in with your schedule is the weekend easier for you to monitor?


If she is blue or low yellow in the morning I would hold.
The +1 also seems to be a good indicator for how her cycles are going to pan out, so if you can get that in the morning you can leave appropiate amounts of food and carbs out for her to keep her safe.
When she has had a +1 that is significantly lower than PS she has had a pretty active cycle, often seeing green. If +1 has been about the same cycle has been active but gentler.

hope that helps

And Happy Birthday
 
I saw your question from last night - but I go to bed early - and joyously get up at 5 a.m. :facepalm:

I agree with Gill, considering Blaze seems to respond pretty quickly to the increase, and hoping you'll be off work starting tonight thru the weekend, perhaps tonight would be a better time to give him the increase - I realize that it's not at the apex of the cycles for TR - but if you're at work all day it might be safer. The last thing you need is to run home for a quick check at lunch and find him deep in the lagoon - you wouldn't be able to stick around and test - but would have to leave high carb food out in hopes that it would prop up his numbers until you get home.

I know it's tempting to change the dose based on AM and PM numbers but those aren't your best indicator for what this dose is doing for him. Remember, it's all about the nadirs...and we're not really sure right now how low he's going during the middle of the day. Let's play it safe...:bighug:
 
Good luck with the increase today Sarah!

Blaze! Be a good boy, we want to see lower numbers but no diving!!!
 
Good luck with the increase today Sarah!

Blaze! Be a good boy, we want to see lower numbers but no diving!!!
Thanks Amanda. I’m a little confused on whether I should increase now at amps or tonight at PMPS. I’m off work today until Sunday but won’t want a late night on Sunday night.
 
Back
Top