10/24 Binks PMPS 205 +2 229 +3 339 +11 248

Status
Not open for further replies.

mybuddybinks

Member Since 2010
morning lantus landers (and purple google bot)...

got in a +9.5 of 264 last night, then stumbled right back to that inviting featherbed..

woke to an absolute deluge in the NW (outdoors, not indoors like yesterday) :-D ...found the kitties out front loading animals two by two into the explorer. i suspect their intentions however, as binks was busily checking pairs off on his clipboard as " LC, LC...ultra-LC" and so on, as smudge and annie were busy calculating mass vs. fat content... :shock:

fed binks LC friskies mini meal at his +9.5, and he seems to be showing better "retention' today, so lC MM w/ MB12 at amps also.
purring, puttering about, and glass door patty-cake so far this am for binks...and 1 p for the bean...Pouring down the java.

hope everyone had a restful night...

celi & binks
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28079&view=unread#unread
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280

kim brought up something interesting in binks condo yesterday...i'll try to copy it here...i'd welcome thoughts on this:

here goes...the following courtesy of kim:

OK, I'm no expert at SS, but when I saw you'd been up tonight doing some testing, I thought I'd peek at yours. It would seem to me that 1.5 to 1.75 was Binks last good dose. I saw that he went low enough to earn a reduction or two after that but here's what I'm thinking. If you are on the boards tomorrow, chat with Ann and Tess about the way she uses food to keep Tess from earning a reduction and she is therefore able to keep Tess on a dose that works very very well. It might be an interesting experiment to work Binks back up to his last good dose and then use snacks and minimeals to keep him from dropping under 50. Ann is a master at that. Anyway, I haven't been here long enough to give anybody any advice but these pinks are disheartening and in the back half of Sept, he had a really nice stretch of numbers. It would be wonderful if he could find his way back to that point. Again, not giving advice here, just throwing it out for you to chew on. Pick the experts' brains, see what they think. Of course, he might not have been pink all day if he hadn't been sick, you'd know him better than anyone.
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280

That is a nice AMPS Binks....hope you are feeling good...and that you have a great day!
Celi...I happened to notice a post from WCF to Barb/Tori yesterday and thought you might be interested in reading what she wrote about the use of pepcid... I never pass up a WCF post! :razz: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28097#p287375
I gave it to Shadow once but something inside me questioned it's use. I know lots of people use it often and I suppose it does have a good purpose at times.....but as I said to you yesterday, I am not sure that when they are not eating so well, that it is a pepcid deficiency that they are experiencing...ya know?

Just saw Kim's post...she is a sweetie! Ann/Tess does use LC food to keep the surf going...and Michelle/Mannie do it too...
it involves a lot of testing and anticipation of what a kitty will do on a dose that is pushing the numbers down. What you want to do is feed a little LC each hour in the beginning of the cycle...and maybe, if they are going too low too quickly, a little MC to keep them above the 50 dosecrease mark. You keep them surfing higher with food...so they do not earn a decrease! It is a lot more testing and vigilance, but this keeps the kitty getting the higher dose for the maximum amount of time.
Granted, if the dose is pushing it too hard, they will go <50 no matter what you do to try to steer the curve. But when an increase is needed, and it starts to work too well and drives the numbers low, food can keep them up. For those who have been here awhile, the kitty needs to get 3 <50 numbers in order to get a dosecrease.
For newly dx kitties, they only need the one <50. So, it is extra hard for a new person to avoid just that one number, but it can be done. If you know your kitty and have good data, you will be able to feed a little LC food and the numbers will surf...
Hopefully, Ann and Michelle and others will come by and tell you how they do it! :razz:
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280

Hi Celi - ah the weather.... we have the same "stuff" over here too - great NW weather huh... I am glad that Binks was out there organizing the future of critter-dom!

I see Pat has talked about the use of food to control a curve. I do this too, and it does work. only "drawback" is that it does take alot of testing, alot of time, and alot of vigilance. What pat wrote is right on target for what I do with Mannie. Even when he goes green I will use food often to keep him at a certain number, ideally the 60-80 range. of course there are days when Mannie wins the war. :-D Anyways - it will help alot with getting a kitty in the healing range, and keeping him there for as long as possible. Ann is also very good at this.

I hope Binks has a good day today - no more indoor flooding. :lol: Blues today Binks, OK?

have a good one. I hope you survive the rains monsoon that has descended upon us. Dang it is a wet mess out there.
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280

I'm happy to comment on Kim's observation since it's something that Jill had suggested to me that subsequently, Michelle began to do. The approach isn't based on any one particular dose. You were decreasing Binks' dose as you needed to and there's no way of knowing where an effective dose would be. The strategy is to gradually increase the dose until you are seeing blue pre-shots and lots of green between shots. Once there, you use food to prevent a dose reduction for as long as possible. The idea behind this being that you are keeping your kitty in numbers that are optimal for the pancreas to heal. At some point, either you're working way too hard to keep numbers from tanking or there's a drop into the 30s, and so there's an earned dose reduction, and then you start the same process over at the new dose. Typically, this is an approach that someone tries with a kitty that's prone to bounces (e.g., Gabby and Mannie) or who doesn't hold reductions well. It also requires aggressive testing and being around to do said testing.
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280

Hopefully that weather stays to the north! We in the SW, tend to get the dregs of what the NW gets!
Hopefully today is a more normal day for Binks!
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280

Celi...you can see very easily in Michelle/Mannie's condo how she feeds the curve. Each morning, she lists the recap of the past 2 cycles and shows what she fed and when she fed it. You can see very easily where Mannie was yesterday and what is going on with him. Her first post of the day is always so great...
Ann/Tess do the same with their condo. Read along and see how they did it in the recaps....
They really take a lot of time with their posts and there is almost no need to click on their SS cause they have it all right there!
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280

Not a bad AMPS! I'm glad Binksy is feeling better today!

That's what I've been doing too, Celi. I split up the meal into 4 parts, PS, +1, +2 and +3...basically equal portions. Then small snacks at +6 and +8. I feed MC or HC as necessary to a dropping number to prevent him from dropping below 60....sometimes I need to test on the 1/2 hour to anticipate the lows. I also only shave the dose when he earns a reduction. It does seem like it's working well for us. There is a lot of testing involved.

I haven't been doing it very long, others have more experience than I do....you should follow their lead, not mine!
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164

ooofff...some little kitty ain't messing around this am...

but some crappy computer is...
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164

:oops: I am flattered by the comments above. thx!, I do try... :-D

just a quick note to reiterate what Sienne wrote - that is the goal:
Sienne and Gabby said:
The strategy is to gradually increase the dose until you are seeing blue pre-shots and lots of green between shots. Once there, you use food to prevent a dose reduction for as long as possible. The idea behind this being that you are keeping your kitty in numbers that are optimal for the pancreas to heal. At some point, either you're working way too hard to keep numbers from tanking or there's a drop into the 30s, and so there's an earned dose reduction, and then you start the same process over at the new dose.
It was hard for me at first to keep upping the dose (there were those that had to keep on my case - I thank you!) to get the scenario that Sienne talks about - once there, Mannie started responding beautifully. It has worked wonders for him. I now have a kitty that doesn't bounce as horrifically as he used to (well there are a few days....), and has much better, lower, more controlled cycles.
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164

seems to me binks was doing much better with the 4 minimeals in the first hours of the cycle, and another at =9. i'll study the SS's, then post what i think i've learned, and you guys can review it, tell me if i've got it...and get us headed in the right direction...

this gonna be a busy am with the binkster, i believe...he seems to be exhibiting his admiration for mannie!

(oh, great kitty in the sky...please keep the tummy settled !)
eta: if all things here remain stable...i've got the availability to monitor him closely for the next couple of months...
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164 +3 116

The ripcord Binks....the RIPCORD!!!!!
MSN-Emoticon-parachute-174.gif
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164 +3 116

I'm so glad to see that Binks is feeling better today and that he's left the pink floor behind. Looks like he's headed straight to the green floor for some surfing. :mrgreen: I think we'll get a little sun today before the next cold monsoon hits tomorrow. I think that's what you have today, Celi.
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164 +3 116 +3.5 87

wow...fed him a little mc with some drops of hc gravy because he has started a round of the hiccups...and i'm a little gunshy after yesterday

eta: :lol: pat!
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164 +3 116 +3.5 87 ?

i know it must sound like i've only been here a week, but i could use some input on him today...with this fast drop, and the hiccups...and yesterday's debacle...my thinking is to use small amounts of food here to keep him surfing around 60-80...

i admit i'm a little nervous that he may repeat the blowfest from yesterday...and i'm just looking for a 2nd stable cycle this am...

sound reasonable? or other suggestions?
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164 +3 116 +3.5 87 ?

Whoa - look at Binks go! Rip Cord Binks - remember the rip cord!

sounds reasonable. small amounts to keep him where he is at -mostly gravy, and hopefully that won't upset things too much. it's what i am doing this morning with Mannie (it's about 1/2-1 tsp)- he too forgot to pull the rip cord... huccups? - Binks what is up with that? no more signs of the blowfest from yesterday, right?
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164 +3 116 +3.5 87 +4 78

thanks, michelle...hiccups gone...kitten parked on rug in front of food dish...waiting for it....waiting for it...
fed 1/2 tspn soupy LC

no signs of distress so far...

eta: and now i have to ask seriously, because i haven't heard anyone else mention it...am i the only one who sees the little purple google adsense [bot} in the users browsing section? and if so...will i be carted away to the asylum before binks gets regulated? :lol:
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164 +3 116 +3.5 87 +4 78

Celi...yay..Binks is BACK!! Wonderful numbers for him today and you are doing great!!

I have to echo everyone's comments...I do the exact same thing with Gracie but it has been trial and error for me to figure out what she responds to and what
she over responds to. Grace, like Tess, is carb sensitive and so when I tried to control her drops with 18%...she wouldn't get down low enough. So now, I usually use
a LC food with a tiny bit of 12-13% gravy topper to control the low numbers. The other night when I shot through the bounce, I did give her 18% because I was tired and she had nothing to prove...she already earned the dose reduction. But I would not normally use 18%. I also feed at PS, +1, +2, +3, and +9. And it does take alot of testing..you can see from my SS that when she's headed down, I'm like Michelle and Sienne...a testaholic. However, even with this, I still get bounces from Gracie in numbers I don't like...Mannie's bounces are not so high. So...we still have work to do but I think you can get there with Binks.
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164 +3 116 +3.5 87 +4 78

No Celi, the purple bot has been a constant companion here lately. I'd like to assure you that you're not insane, but....let me just say you're not the only one seeing the bot. :lol: Looks like a great day for the Binkster!
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164 +3 116 +3.5 87 +4 78

SWEET! love the 78! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

and no - you are not a candidate for the looney bin - that purple bot seems to be our new best buddy. :lol: It's significance? - I haven't a clue...
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164 +3 116 +3.5 87 +4 78

Looks like Binks is feeling better. :-D

Now lets level off there Binks and show the kitties how you can surf the greens.
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164 +3 116 +3.5 87 +4 78 +4.5 7

stabilizers deployed, surfboard ready...and binks would like to re-enact some scenes from the movie Point Break (but not the bloody violent scenes...)

fed another 1/2 tspn soupy lc.

speaking of movies...the word gunshy in my previous post reminds me...if you like movies, Gunshy starring Liam Neeson, Sandra Bullock, and Oliver Platt ranks in my top 5 funniest movies ever...and a moment of reverence for natasha richardson...descended from ladies, truly an elegant lady...lost to sheer stupidity by the ERT...and a great contributor to AmFAR.

anne...you & michelle are such nuts...i am ROTFLMAO (and trying to chew my way out of the straitjacket at the same time) :lol:
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164 +3 116 +3.5 87 +4 78 +4.5 7

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: Hope Binks is feeling better and just look at those numbers beautiful
 
Re: 10/24 Binks + 2 164 +3 116 +3.5 87 +4 78 +4.5 79 +5 80

:mrgreen: another 1/2 tsp lc soup, while binks does his most soulful portrayal of Oliver..."please, ma'am..."

Unbelievable ... my neighbor just took out the front of my MR2 with his Grand Cherokee..
 
Re: 10/24 Binks +3 116 +3.5 87 +4 78 +4.5 79 +5 80 + 6 41 OO

fed that with a tspn HC gravy.

FDMB commandment #7: thou shalt not allow outside accidents to interfere with monitoring your partner!
 
Re: 10/24 Binks +3 116 +3.5 87+4 78 +4.5 79 +5 80 + 6 41 +6.

tspn HC gravy with 1/16 tspn karo

i have no idea what this earns him other than a "holy crap!" and my admiration
 
Re: 10/24 Binks amps 280 + 2 164 +3 116 +3.5 87 +4 78

Anne&Muffin said:
No Celi, the purple bot has been a constant companion here lately. I'd like to assure you that you're not insane, but....let me just say you're not the only one seeing the bot. :lol:
funny!

wonderful to see Binks having a day like this after yesterday. and I have to say the discussion in here has been excellent and a wonderful learning op for us all.
 
Re: 10/24 Binks +3 116 +3.5 87+4 78 +4.5 79 +5 80 + 6 41 +6.

are you serious on the car???? holy crap!!!

wow on the 37! binks means business today, time for hc and karo. good luck! and binks - way too low - up you go!
 
Re: 10/24 Binks +4 78 +4.5 79 +5 80 + 6 41 +6.3 37 +6.6 69

gve him a freeze dried chicken treat at 6.6...hope that wasnt a mistake given yesterday's problems...
 
Re: 10/24 Binks +4 78 +4.5 79 +5 80 + 6 41 +6.3 37 +6.6 69

oh, michelle... ann and john can test flying down the freeway at 242 mph; mannie can navigate the north american continent to pick up 42 highly excited cats and arrive safely at a gathering within 12 hours...my neighbor answers his cell phone, and backs 74 feet up a 25 ft wide concrete pad, and nails my car dead center...it's parked BESIDE my garage, mind you...

GRAND CHEROKEE mr2
you do the math ohmygod_smile


eta: he's very apologetic, though :lol:
and i almost missed the boy's low nummer!
 
Re: 10/24 Binks +4.5 79 +5 80 + 6 41 +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80

didn't feed this one anything but much lovies...

I realize now, that when i boldly announced in my posting that i was ready for some action, that perhaps i should have been just a little more specific :shock:
 
Re: 10/24 Binks +5 80 + 6 41 +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80 +7.5 78

wow...i really thought i overdid it with the HC and karo...and would see him spike into the blues like he has in the past...but this is a pleasant surprise! fed him 1/2 tspn mc...

surf it, my boy...surf it!
 
Re: 10/24 Binks + 6 41 +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80 +7.5 78 +8 73

I guess Binks is feeling better!! Congrats on the dose reduction.

Celi said:
I realize now, that when i boldly announced in my posting that i was ready for some action, that perhaps i should have been just a little more specific
I think you've had more than enough action for today. And, what drugs was your neighbor doing?
 
Re: 10/24 Binks + 6 41 +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80 +7.5 78 +8 73

Wow Celi just got a chance to write. I'm glad that Binksie made such a full recovery and has decided to do some surfing today :mrgreen: The water is definitely green He is such a pro and has an awesome trainer keeping him in shape while he surfs. Keep it up you two :thumbup and sorry about your car. ohmygod_smile GO BINKS :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :
 
Re: 10/24 Binks + 6 41 +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80 +8 73 +8.5 83

fed 1/2 tspn mc again...and he finally peed...which i was starting to be concerned about. no other lb action, but due to yesterday...not real surprising.

i tend to believe that there is humor to be found in almost every situation...so here's the auto humor.
my neighbor is mid-60's so should have known better than to ask me "do you really think an accident report is called for?"

given a mid-engine mr2 with a front trunk that is now about 3 feet short, i had to say "yes, stan...i really do." :lol:

eta: i only wish he had hit the explorer instead...mannie gonna hafta acquire a replacement zoom zoom.
 
Re: 10/24 Binks + 6 41 +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80 +8 73 +8.5 83

Binks??? I gotta get a replacement zoom zoom??? nooooooooooooooooooooo!!! I love that car! I think I need to go have a talking to with 60 year old Stan the man. angry(2)_cat !!Mannie

omg on stan. funny in a way on the accident report. omg omg on the car. how fast was dear ole Stan backing up? 60 mph? well sorry i am, but kudos to you in finding some humor in what has to be a not so fun situation.

And very nice job with Binks today! wonderful numbers. :-D
 
Re: 10/24 Binks +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80 +8 73 +8.5 83 9.5 107

fed him tspn and a half of lc...

and i just sat back and watched his hard work unfold :-D (well, and stabbed him repeatedly) i think he has realized that the lessened test regimen of the last 6 days has come to an end...

in the interest of honest reporting, the 3 ft statement was a bit of an exaggeration...front end crumpled about 13 inches. but i'm with you, mannie...i love that car! it's a 91 with 58000 miles, and until today was in cherry condition..one scratch on the engine cover and never a major repair. ah well...stan's son has a dandy little mercedes sportster...mayhap i was a little hasty on the police report! :twisted:
 
Re: 10/24 Binks +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80 +8 73 +8.5 83 9.5 107

Wow, you've had quite the day Celi! All this action with Binks and your car getting mowed over...I think you need a break. Go have a glass of wine!
 
Re: 10/24 Binks +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80 +8 73 +8.5 83 9.5 107

:shock: Wow. Wasn't able to check FDMB until now.

images
X2
 
Re: 10/24 Binks + 6 41 +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80 +8 73 +8.5 83

Wow, what a morning to miss! I had to get some actual work done. Congratulations on the decrease.

I agree w/ Michelle o the comments, :oops: :oops: Especially since it doesn't look like Tess is holding the last decrease, again. :YMSIGH: But , yes it doses work and it is a lot of work. I think the more carb sensitive the cat the easier it is.

Sheesh on the car. Is it the same neighbor w/ the brats?
 
Re: 10/24 Binks +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80 +8 73 +8.5 83 9.5 107

flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon For Binks for doing so good today.

Celi negotiating mr2 for Mercedes!! Sorry about your car :sad: :sad: Glad you weren't in it!!!

Great job managing that curve today...that boy is SURFIN' DUDE!
 
Re: 10/24 Binks +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80 +8 73 9.5 107 11 144

i agree with y'all...somebody deserves a big ol' sloppy ATTA-KITTY!!!

like this one...which i've posted before...but it totally captures my feelings for the binkster
 

Attachments

  • Funny-Cat-3.jpg
    Funny-Cat-3.jpg
    52.8 KB · Views: 1,604
Re: 10/24 Binks +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80 +8 73 9.5 107 11 144

I MISS EVERYTHING WHEN I'M WORKING grumpy_cat grumpy_cat
LOOK at that amazing day Binks had, with a fantabulous job from you!!!!!
AWESOME CELI & BINKSY!!!! WHOO HOOO :thumbup dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat :thumbup
 
Re: 10/24 Binks +6.3 37 +6.6 69 +7 80 +8 73 9.5 107 11 144

boy, there's a lot going on in this condo today. :shock: Good luck with the dosecrease! You could try shaving instead of a 0.25 reduction if you want, though usually I suggest full reductions when kitties visit the 30's.
 
Re: 10/24 Binks PMPS 205

oh, this kitten...went from singin "Ralf" to singin "It Ain't Easy Being Green" in 12 hours :lol:

dang, libby...i shot before i saw this. i'm okay with the ful reduction...although i'm wondering if we'll have to fatten it up in the near future..

eta: i've never had to work that hard to get him back up before... he's snoring in his little kitty tunnel on the top of the cat tree...all is right in his world...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top