10/24 afternoon update on Boris

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patti and Merlin

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28135

it's only 5Am here by me - I'm getting ready for work. Joe got up with Boris alot last nite - I feel so lucky but then this was how we always worked it with Merlin too - when one or the other of us was working.

Here's Boris thru the nite
pmps - 156...0.25u
+3= 59...Joe fed him a sliver of wellness here just because it is 12 midnite here and to prevent any trouble thru the nite.
+4= 64
+6=97

This is his 6th cycle on 0.25units. Again - Joe will be home all day with him. So he can watch closely. But I'm wondering is Boris ready so soon for another decrease. And would be go to 0.1 or just stop??? I do believe that if he hadn't been fed something @ +3 he would have continued lower.

Thank you again. I hope ALL of you have a good day! I will be able to check from work later this morning! :YMHUG:
 
Re: early AM update on Boris

Generally, we base the decrease on actually catching the numbers unless you have to work really, really hard to keep numbers up. I wouldn't decrease the dose quite yet. In part, especially at lower doses, the rationale is to keep your cat on insulin for as long as possible in order to provide as much support as you can for Boris' pancreas. That would also mean that your next reduction would be to 0.1u when Boris earns the reduction.
 
Re: early AM update on Boris

Hey Patti,

Jojo says that it is absolutely impossible for a cat to hypo on 0.25. Therefore, I would just get your numbers and watch him, but not freak out on any low (i.e normal cat) numbers.
 
Re: early AM update on Boris

I'm glad Boris is doing well. While I do agree with what already has been said, I want to point out that after a (probable) hypo event, sometimes the pancreas is kind of 'shocked' into working again and if this was my kitty, I'd be ready to drop to that last dose (0.1unit) rather quickly.

Boris looks very close to that point. He had a 59 and might have gone lower had Joe not fed him right away.

Since Boris did have a seizure just a few days ago I would be very conservative here. My kitty dropped to BG of 30 while on 0.1 unit and he was not symptomatic for a hypo ... BUT I don't think I would take that chance with Boris.

He is 15 years old, has some other health issues and low body weight and he might become symptomatic earlier than other kitties. ...just saying.

Just my opinion, for what it's worth. I'm a scaredy cat. ohmygod_smile
 
10/ 24 afternoon update on Boris

Thanks everyone for ALL your input - ALL different thoughts are important to me. I like learning from all different angles and perspectives. Because of Boris' experience the other day - i have become a big scaredy cat with him. And with learning that his liver tests are still elevated - it's made me feel sad and discouraged - like I should have followed up sooner or have done more. I know he's older and things happen but...I really am trying to learn all there is here on Lantus plus the liver disease and now with Tang having his heme/onc issues...we knew this time would come with all our animals getting older - well now I'm babbling on....

so far this is what Joe has gotten for today

amps = 141
+2.5 = 186
+7 = 143


All nice and blue so it's a no brainer for right now :) We'll just keep on keep on!

I hope all of you are doing well. Work is QUIET! Yes we are saying it loud and clear - we want more work. Have just been studying our new dialysis machine - ugh - not fun! Have a great day!
 
FWIW, I think being conservative is a good option here (and that is something I never say!). In case that really was a symptomatic hypo the other day, it makes sense to take it easy for a little bit. If 0.1 isn't enough, we'll know soon enough.
 
Libby - I have him on 0.25 units right now and now we're on our 7th cycle of it. We didn't go down at all. Sorry I wasn't clear on that! This is where I got confused about decreasing him when he was on the 0.5 units. he'd run lower in double digits and be in the 50's but then another cycle or day be in the upper 100's. So last nite we gave him food when he was in the 50's mainly so Joe could get a little sleep in between testing him and not worry too much but we really didn't give him a chance to show how low he would go. but now today he's in the mid 100's thru the day. I think I'll be off tomorrow - looks like we are overstaffed so I can watch him super close tomorrow should we stay on 0.25u and he start running lower.
 
hey, patti...i know it's discouraging to see the effects on our guys...i have to slap myself out of guilt over not realizing binks was ill for 5 months every time i see his crooked little walk. but hard as you work to help boris, i hate to see you beat yourself up about the timing of his treatment. i know it sounds trite, but i think you should take great pride in what you are doing for him now...

hang in there...

celi
 
I meant that if you want to decrease because of the 50's, that would be understandable. Sounds like you'll be home, though, so sticking with 0.25 sounds like a good plan.
 
i agree with the others about being conservative for the reasons carolyn mentioned.
jojo has said kitties on a little dose of 0.25u bid would not experience a clinical hypo, but we've seen more than one kitty on as little as 0.1u drop into the 30s. given the circumstances, we wouldn't want to see boris dropping that low...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top