10/23 Tori -2nd Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb and Tori

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28018

Hi everybody. Happy Caturday. Well she had an OK night according to my son. She ate little bits with no vomiting. This morning she is about the same. She ate a little bit, not much, more to please me I think than because she wanted to. I'm still thinking she may be having the start of a CP flare again. She has an appointment with the vet in a little bit. It's supposed to be chemo day but I don't think that will happen today. She's getting bloodwork done anyway so we'll see what that says.

Please keep my baby in your prayers today. I must run or we'll be late for the appointment. Will update when I get home.
 
Re: 10/23 Tori AMPS 200 -?chemo today-Still not feeling well

barb, will pray that she can have her chemo today. good luck at the vet. hope they're doing all the test. (((Hugs)))

[she's on an anti-nausea med like anzemet, isn't she? that can sometimes sting going in but it helps cleo a lot, as did ondansetron]
 
Re: 10/23 Tori AMPS 200 -?chemo today-Still not feeling well

I'm sending prayers and healing vines to Tori today. I hope the vet can help her today, chemo or not.
 
Re: 10/23 Tori AMPS 200 -?chemo today-Still not feeling well

Thinking of you both today (((Tori & Barb))) I hope all goes well today and that Tori will be feeling better real soon!
Be strong Tori...sending heaving vines and white light to sweet Tori....
 
Re: 10/23 Tori AMPS 200 -?chemo today-Still not feeling well

Barb I'm praying for an simple reason for her being off today. Chemo is very harsh and can affect the body in many ways. A dear client of mine is having chemo and it was making his body hurt so badly he couldn't even chew yesterday. After something for pain he could eat as he usually did and his mood was vastly improved. Just food for thought.

Healing vines and comfort for you both.
 
Re: 10/23 Tori Update-She's been admitted

forestSnow.gif


sending a blizzard of snowflakes and healing vines for Tori
 
Re: 10/23 Tori Update-She's been admitted

I just got home and thought I'd update you before I try to get a couple of hours sleep. Tori has been admitted and will be on Iv fluids until at least this afternoon and may be in tomorrow as well. Her WBC was down but kind of borderline so she could have had the chemo if she had been feeling like her usual self. Doug agrees with me that she is probably starting an other CP flare. She definitely needs some fluids and because of the fact it's the weekend and we don't want her to crash as she's good at doing and winding up in Emerg we decided to have her stay in.

So this is the second time in just over two weeks that She's been hospitalized with the Pancreatitis. I'm so frustrated and upset right now that all I can do is cry. I just don't know what to do to help her anymore. Nothing I do seems to make a difference. I feel like I'm going to loose her and I just can't bear the thought of it. If it's not one thing it's the other. Ironically her nodes are down right now- just a very tiny bump on the right side so the chemo is working. Now it's the damn CP. She just can't win and she fights so hard. She doesn't want to give up and neither do I but neither of us can carry on like this . Right now I am really wondering when I should call this. Am I doing her a service? I don't know anymore. I just don't know.

Sorry I'm rambling here and having a real pity party. Please continue to send prayers and healing vines for my baby. She's so special and I love her so much.
 
Re: 10/23 Tori Update-She's been admitted

sending as much support and healing vines that we can muster. I think you did so well today - taking her in, getting it taken care of before things are worse. She is such a fighter, and you do so well with her. I wish you guys all the best. (((HUGS))))
 
Re: 10/23 Tori Update-She's been admitted

Oh gosh Barb. I'm so sorry she's not well again. Poor Tori. Hopefully with this early care, you can head it off at the start. Will she get pain meds too? We're sending healing thoughts. (((Tori))) (((Barb)))

One more thought. Is she on any supplements, Barb? Jojo's post had a list of antioxidants - I think they were ester C, dry vit E and denosyl. I believe Settles used to (may still) get the first two.
 
Re: 10/23 Tori Update-She's been admitted

Sending feel better real soon vines to Tori.
(((Hugs to you both)))
 
Re: 10/23 Tori Update-She's been admitted

(((Barb))) She is in the best place right now....they will give her the fluids and she will be fine. So glad Doug took that route with her today. Better than her having to go to Emerg over the weekend. this is goodl.l.l.she will be fine...
Sending a ton of snowflakes to (((((dear Tori)))))
 
Re: 10/23 Tori Update-She's been admitted

Hang in there Barb, you are doing everything you can for her. Good decision to have her stay and get early intervention, that can make all the difference in the world. Please try to get some rest, you need to take care of yourself, too. Sending postive vibes and healing vines...
 
Re: 10/23 Tori Update-She's been admitted

Oh Barb, I know how hard it was to leave your baby there. She is in the best place, to get the care she needs.
I'm sending loads of healing vines, and lots of prayers for Tori.
Barb, you take care of you, so you can care for Tori, when she comes home.
 
Re: 10/23 Tori Update-She's been admitted

Barb, we are thinking healing thoughts for Tori and sending her a bouquet of lovely healing vines. I'm very glad that you were able to get her admitted so that she can get good, early treatment for the flare. Tori is a very brave and very strong kitty and she will get through this and be fine. It's good news that the nodes are so much better. You are doing all that you can to help your kitty. Get some rest this evening so that you will feel refreshed and positive when she gets home.
Many hugs to you both (((((((Barb))))))) (((((((Tori)))))))

Ella
 
Re: 10/23 Tori Update-She's been admitted

Sending tons of healing vines, snowflakes, and positive energy. Hope she feels better soon. (((Barb)))
 
Re: 10/23 Tori Update-She's been admitted

(((Barb))) I hope she feels better after getting some fluids and some good pain and nausea meds. I hope you get some rest, too. It is emotionally and physically draining to care for a very sick kitty. Sending healing vines to (((Tori))).
 
Re: 10/23 Tori Update-She's been admitted

(((Barb))) I'm sorry you are going thru this.
I hope things get better very soon, lots and lots of healing vines and prayers your way.
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/23 Tori Update-She's been admitted

aw, barb...i just saw this. you two have worked so hard...sounds like she's where she needs to be to be in the best shape to carry on the good fight. hang in there, friend...we'll focus our thoughts and prayers on you and tori.

rest well...

celi & binks
 
I just got back from visiting her again and she is definitely doing a bit better. IV fluids are magical aren't they? She had only taken a few nibbles for them here and there so they had syringe fed her a couple of times during the day. Her sugars have been good at 148 and 110. The 110 was at +8. So she won't be getting any insulin tonight which is fine by me. There's no one there at night so we don't want to take the chance of her crashing. The plan is to keep her in til Monday on the IV, pain meds, anti nausea meds and force feed her as needed.

Doug and I talked for a while and I brought up the idea of upping her Pred to 5mg again to see if that helps off set the CP flares. He was a bit concerned about it maybe causing bone marrow suppression but given the fact that she was on that dose daily for over 3 months before the change in chemo protocol he thought it was worth trying. As I said to him we have to try something. She can't go on at this rate have flares every two weeks. At this rate its the CP that's going to take her from me and not the cancer. Ironic isn't it? I don't want her to be in pain for what ever time she has left.

I get the feeling that the staff think that we may be headed to the end of the road. Doug wondered if it was just coincidence that she stopped eating right before she was to have her chemo. He didn't finish the thought but I think he's beginning to think that she might be starting to give up. Also the vet tech who was looking after her said "We may be looking at the home stretch now." Maybe I'm just reading too much into it.

When I got there she was standing up wanting to jump into my arms. Every time one of the staff would walk by she would get very vocal. She likes to let them know her displeasure of being in hospital. Everyone who was working stopped by at one point while I was there saying how much they love her and that she's such a sweet heart. SHe tells them off all the time but never ever scratches or nips. She always lets them do what they need to do. She did eat some when I was there. So she is trying. I don't think she wants to give up. I think she just feels lousy.

Now we have to figure out how to nip these CP flares. I was thinking maybe it wouldn't be such a bad idea to give her regular squids to try and prevent attacks. Her heart is sound and her Renal status is good too. I don't know. Any ideas would be appreciated.

She's such a brave little girl and so determined. When I was driving home I though of when she was a little kitten. One day my son had her in the front yard and a lady walked by with 2 big Shepards. The lady said not to worry that her dogs liked kitties and they would never hurt her. At that point one of the dogs made the mistake of stepping on the lawn. Tori took offense to this and the next thing you knew the two dogs were high tailing it up the street with Tori in persuit. That's my baby.

I'm rambling again. Sorry. Please continue to keep my baby in your prayers. I know they work. Please kiss all your babies for me. They are so precious.
 
sounds like she has been a fighter from the word GO! that's so great to hear, barb...she's hanging in there with you and you with her.

so glad to hear this update...and it ain't my business but i don't think the vet tech knows your girl...

still sending healthy, healthy tori thoughts your way.

celi & binks
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Jojo always described pancreatitis as a Pepsid deficiency. Maybe giving some intermittent doses of Pepcid would help?
yikes. that's not what jojo meant, sienne.

===========================
see http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... 722,876722

chronic pancreatitis (or does my cat have a pepcid deficiency?)
Posted by: jojo and bunny(GA) and Y (IP Logged)
Date: December 13, 2007 10:26PM

things are going great. diabetic fluffy is nicely regulated. and then one day...just seems "off". BG numbers are higher. not eating much. maybe vomits later that night. hunched up in the 'meatloaf' position. lethargic. what is going on? you listen to the freely dispensed pepcid advice off board and after a couple of days fluffy seems to snap out of it. pepcid rocks! and recommend it to the next person on board that posts about their diabetic cat being "off".
however a few weeks/months later fluffy goes through the same episode. and again. and again. some of the episodes are worse than others. that last attack was bad and you got scared and fluffy was hauled off to vet for some basic blood work. yet nothing really abnormal on the results. is this just a normal part of being a diabetic cat? does your cat have a basic pepcid deficiency??? no.

...

cats that are simply diabetic with no other condition going on should not need pepcid ever...if you are reaching for the pepcid again, maybe reach for the phone and call your vet instead and discuss the possibility that your diabetic cat might be one in that 30%.[that have chronic pancreatitis]
===========================
 
it is good to hear that she is better. for what it is worth, I am with celi- the techs just don't know your girl. what a fighter that one - I just don't think she feels that she is done. Hang in there. We are keeping Tori in our thoughts - always.
 
barb, i don't really have a basis for asking this, but i'll ask anyway - has Doug ruled out anything food-related? is he entirely sure it's a CP flare? Tori still gets raw snacks, right? i'm wondering if there was something in her raw snacks that won't normally hurt a healthy cat, but in her immune-compromised state ...

if she hasn't been eating raw snacks, then just ignore my questions :)
 
You're getting some great advice here, in addition to some wonderful care at the clinic. I'm glad she's feeling better and hope this flare will pass quickly. You know your baby better than anyone, I think you'll know if she's still fighting.
 
cleo has CP, or a chronic inflammatory process going on. she's also acidotic, which makes the pepcid pretty important.
honestly, the 3-pronged approach: subQ fluids, pain meds (bupe), and pepcid seem to help her the most. some cats also need a lower fat diet so you might want to try that.
 
Just saw your post. (((((((((((((((Lori))))))))))))))) I can't offer advice, but she sounds like such a fighter. Listen to the vet, not the tech.

white light, healing vines and snowflakes on the way.
 
Sending HEALING vines, white Light & blizzard of snowflakes to Tori to heal all up real soon--Never give up HOPE Barbara, it's what we live on !!
BIG HUGS (((((((Barb))))))
 
Barb....sending TONS of healing vines and snowflakes for Tori and comfort/rest vines for you. Question...have you ever talked to Doug to see if Tori has EPI..exocrine pancreatic insufficiency? EPI can cause CP and is fairly common in diabetic humans. The pancreas cannot digest food due to lack of pancreatic enzymes. Have you ever given her Pankreved or one of the pancreatic enzymes? I'd definitely talk to Doug about this if it hasn't come up before...it might (or might not) be a reason for her recurrent CP. (((Barb)))
 
Thanks guys for all your love and support for my Tori. After my last post I laid down with Rocky for a nap. Lord bless him. He is my soul kitty. The whole time he laid there with his little paw touching my hand staring into my eyes. He loves his sister so much. I got about an hours sleep but it was real restful sleep.

Thanks so much for the thoughts and suggestions. I'll answer a few of the questions. Tori receives Pepcid on a regular basis for a week after each chemo treatment and has been on it since the last CP flare. She hasn't eaten any raw food for quite a while now so I don't think that's it. She's been eating main;y FF and some Wellness and Merrick. When she gets home I certainly will try her on some foods with a lower fat intake if she will let me. She can be pretty bossy. I will certainly ask Doug about the EPI.

When I woke up I remembered that Doug is off for the next two days. The vet that's on tomorrow is the one I really don't like. I've asked that he update me by phone on her condition tomorrow. I don't know who will be caring for her on Monday. I'm hoping she'll be ready to go home Monday. I feel so lost not having her home.

Thanks so much again guys. Please keep Tori in your prayers. I know you will and it means so much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top