10/23 - Tip - AMPS-425...+11-80 +12-99 +12.5-119 +14-292

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
10/22 condo

AMPS - 425
+2 - 352
+4 - 195
+6.5 - 163
+11 - 80
+12 - 99
+12.5 - 119
+14 - 292

Whew, an all day slide so far. She bounced from last night this morning, so I went ahead and gave her 7u. Still debating on what I should do for tonight, I think I'll decide when it's shot time. Figure if she's still dropping I should just skip the dose.
 
Re: 10/23 - Tip - AMPS-425 +2-352 +4-195 +6.5-163 +11-80 +12

Hm....so she isn't dropping anymore, but I don't quite feel safe giving Tip insulin while still in the green. At the same time though, since she's rising again, she's bound to be high tomorrow morning if I skip. I can delay up to an hour tonight, so I'll test again in 30 mins give or take a little bit. I'm thinking if she's above 150 or so in an hour then I should give insulin? But if she's below that, I'm not sure if I should just skip the dose or lower it. Some input would be nice, thanks.
 
Re: 10/23 - Tip - AMPS-425 +2-352 +4-195 +6.5-163 +11-80 +12

Cindy, this is a pretty low number. Did you read Libby's last post last night? It sounds like there is a lot of shed still in Tip from the higher doses. I think Libby was suggesting skipping a dose to help drain that shed. A technique I've also done when Neko was in higher doses was to do half a dose, but her PS wasn't nearly as low as Tip's when I did that. Stalling a half hour might help that decision.
 
Re: 10/23 - Tip - AMPS-425 +2-352 +4-195 +6.5-163 +11-80 +12

Yeah, I read Libby's post. Since she was at 119, I guess that means I should skip her shot then. This means we get to see how well her pancreas is or isn't working, yes?
 
Re: 10/23 - Tip - AMPS-425 +2-352 +4-195 +6.5-163 +11-80 +12

Wendy&Neko said:
Cindy, this is a pretty low number. Did you read Libby's last post last night? It sounds like there is a lot of shed still in Tip from the higher doses. I think Libby was suggesting skipping a dose to help drain that shed. A technique I've also done when Neko was in higher doses was to do half a dose, but her PS wasn't nearly as low as Tip's when I did that. Stalling a half hour might help that decision.
Yes, this is what I was thinking. I did the same with Jazzy when she was on higher doses and was on her way down the dosing ladder. For her, I found that giving a reduced dose didn't slow her down enough, so I had to skip (and sometimes that didn't even slow her down!). Sometimes they just get ahead of us and we need to slow them down a little bit so we can get back in front. :lol:
 
Re: 10/23 - Tip - AMPS-425 ... +6.5-163 +11-80 +12-99 +12.5-

some examples on Jazzy's spreadsheet are 6/6/11 and starting at 6/19/11. I didn't feel safe with her low numbers and my inability to monitor frequently (I was sick at the time), so I was very conservative.

What is different is that Jazzy was an acro cat so I felt a need to play things even more carefully than usual. Rather than following protocol I was just trying to bring her numbers into a range where I could be confident that she was safe. For Tip, I don't think it is necessary to do quite as much "winging it" as I did. I did try to write good notes so others (and myself!) could understand my thought processes.
 
It looks like Tip bounced off of that 80 and along with the skipped shot, you're seeing higher numbers. The bounce will clear and she'll be fine since you'll be shooting tomorrow.
 
HI Cindy-
I have absolutely no advice for you but just wanted to pop in and say HI and let you know we are thinking of you. Hope Tip gets some stability soon for you.

Karen
 
Easy does it, Tip, you've got plenty of shed, remember? I'm so glad to see Tip hitting these better numbers! :-D :-D :-D AND I'm really glad the experts are helping you with dosing advice. How would we do this without them? I really can't imagine.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top