10/23 Tiny Sole +10: 107, +11: 163, PMPS: 178, 2.75 U at 7:25pm

I also wanted to respond to @Sandy and Black Kitty's statement about shooting through the bounce.
10/22/AM cycle is an advanced technique that is not part of the SLGS or TR methods

I had also encouraged Joanne to shoot through the bounce, and should have giving a number spread ie . higher than yellows. I was offline when the PMPS came up or I would have said take the reduction. Because that was some crazy night Joanne and Tiny had. :rolleyes:

Shooting through the bounce was a technique I was guided to do many times in Bubba's early FD career when he started earning reductions. I was not aware it was something that is not to be done using an AT meter.

And the dry food being in the mix is something I did not consider although I do believe Tiny has little to none of the dry now.
 
Last edited:
I have to respectfully disagree with that statement. Since the AT2 meter reads higher, the cat would NOT be sitting in higher numbers when allowing something in the neighbourhood of 10 or 20 points extra on the reduction level. All that is doing is accommodating for the higher AT2 reading to some degree and affording those using SLGS with a pet meter a cushion more comparable to that being afforded human meter users.
That is what I would think too.
 
the dry food being in the mix is something I did not consider although I do believe Tiny has little to none of the dry now.

Young Again is out at night, because some people don't want to eat their canned food through the night. Yes, Tiny does get a little dry food to graze on, but her predominant food is FF pate
 
This is the Little Sun who brightens our lives.
 

Attachments

  • FB_IMG_1537413251468.jpg
    FB_IMG_1537413251468.jpg
    55.7 KB · Views: 42
I also wanted to respond to @Sandy and Black Kitty's statement about shooting through the bounce.


I had also encouraged Joanne to shoot through the bounce, and should have giving a number spread ie . higher than yellows. I was offline when the PMPS came up or I would have said take the reduction. Because that was some crazy night Joanne and Tiny had. :rolleyes:

Shooting through the bounce was a technique I was guided to do many times in Bubba's early FD career when he started earning reductions. I was not aware it was something that is not to be done using an AT meter.
You can absolutely shoot through the bounce if you are using an AT2 meter. The caution I read in sandy’s post was in regard to shooting through the bounce and SLGS.

I am not aware of anything that applies shooting through the bounce to TR only.
 
First, there is no reason to adjust the numbers for SLGS when using an AT2 meter. That’s the basic premise.

Second, which is tied to the above, SLGS is already a non aggressive approach. There doesn’t need to be more cushion by raising the reduction point. The cushion is already built in. And I’m speaking from being an experienced AT2 and human meter user.
Exactly. 90 is the reduction point no matter which meter is used.
Shooting through the bounce was a technique I was guided to do many times in Bubba's early FD career when he started earning reductions. I was not aware it was something that is not to be done using an AT meter.
Hmm, either was I.

@Sandy and Black Kitty
Shooting through the bounce may not be an "official" part of SLGS or TR, but it has been an acceptable practice since before I joined the FDMB in 2006. Not only an acceptable option, but it's tried and true and one that's taken frequently in the group. The kind of meter used or method followed doesn't matter. That said, I wouldn't recommend the option if the caregiver wasn't available to monitor unless the caregiver had lots and lots of data to support the decision to shoot and go.
Yes; 2.75 U was given at 7:25 PM.
Good luck with the new dose! :)
 
Having done more than 1200 human/pet meter tests on the same gtt of blood I don't think I am lacking experience.
You obviously have more experience than most comparing blood samples from two different meters. However, that's only one small part of the equation. The safeguards that are built in are in the guidelines of the protocol. Compare the guidelines of TR and SLGS and you'll see what I mean.
 
Having done more than 1200 human/pet meter tests on the same gtt of blood I don't think I am lacking experience.
Truly, I wasn’t insinuating anything about you at all. I made that statement because people who may not know me might not realize I also used and tested the AT2. It really had nothing to do with you. :) I think it’s important if one is going to give advice or make a statement, it’s important to have the experience.
 
My "good night" post,before I lay my head on my pillow...

Thank you to one and all for caring so much.
@Cindy&Taco ...for staying with me all night last night and providing me with some tips to get me through what was a difficult night...I don't know how you were able to stay awake with me, but wow! So grateful. I haven't even had time to check on you and Taco today...I will in a minute.

To @Bobbie And Bubba , @MrWorfMen's Mom , @Wendy&Neko , @Bellasmom , @JoyBee&Ravan , @Sue and Luci you've been watching out for me and providing encouragement, support and general patient cheering from the start. To have you in our corner means so much to me.

To those who stopped in today to offer information and encouragement, your caring and your eyes on us is something Tiny Sole and I are very grateful for. Thank you, @Mandy & Rex , @Riin , @Marje and Gracie , @Sandy and Black Kitty , @Jill & Alex (GA) , @Chris & China and @Krystina & Nelli .

May all of you have a good night, may your kitties be held in the light of love and health and may we all get some good rest.

I will update the SS tonight as I gather more data when I hop up through the night. And I will try to figure out how to fix the SS on my end so the colors jive with the data.

Many blessings to ALL.
XOXO, Joanne + Tiny Sole
 
My "good night" post,before I lay my head on my pillow...

Thank you to one and all for caring so much.
@Cindy&Taco ...for staying with me all night last night and providing me with some tips to get me through what was a difficult night...I don't know how you were able to stay awake with me, but wow! So grateful. I haven't even had time to check on you and Taco today...I will in a minute.

To @Bobbie And Bubba , @MrWorfMen's Mom , @Wendy&Neko , @Bellasmom , @JoyBee&Ravan , @Sue and Luci you've been watching out for me and providing encouragement, support and general patient cheering from the start. To have you in our corner means so much to me.

To those who stopped in today to offer information and encouragement, your caring and your eyes on us is something Tiny Sole and I are very grateful for. Thank you, @Mandy & Rex , @Riin , @Marje and Gracie , @Sandy and Black Kitty , @Jill & Alex (GA) , @Chris & China and @Krystina & Nelli .

May all of you have a good night, may your kitties be held in the light of love and health and may we all get some good rest.

I will update the SS tonight as I gather more data when I hop up through the night. And I will try to figure out how to fix the SS on my end so the colors jive with the data.

Many blessings to ALL.
XOXO, Joanne + Tiny Sole
Go read what happens when I crash, it will make you laugh, have a good night, I know I had a good day sleeping , nite, nite , and no problem staying up, I enjoyed your company!!:bighug:
 
Yay! for you shooting the 2.75! I'm up again tonight. Ravan just surprised me with a 60 at 2:30 am. I see your little Sun did good during the night. 139 at 3:30 am.
Keep up the good work! ( I keep a supply of toothpicks to keep my eyes open :p )
 
I've been meaning to clarify what I was attempting to convey... pardon my lateness
Shooting through the bounce was a technique I was guided to do many times in Bubba's early FD career when he started earning reductions. I was not aware it was something that is not to be done using an AT meter.
What I said was...
Also since SLGS reference numbers are based on a meter calibrated for humans rather than one calibrated for pets, use of the AT blurs the edges of picture a bit.
which is not saying that shooting through a bounce is something not to be done using an AT meter.

My $0.02-
my assessment was that Tiny turned a corner around 10/18, some sort of shift took place - things were changing.

To my eye he did not seem a problematically bouncy kitty. 10/22/AM was his first green PS and a number that according to the SLGS guidelines warrants a reduction. Shooting through a bounce is a great technique however not something I could recommend at the first green PS. All things considered proceeding with caution in this case was IMHO prudent.
 
What a beautiful start to the day given the no shot again last night! :D It will be interesting to see what she does today on the 2u. Did you get a good rest last night Joanne?;)
 
Tiny's welcome to dip her toes.....just no shark hunting! This is very exciting and I'm sure you are able to enjoy this a little more after finally getting some sleep. Fingers crossed Tiny keeps nicely demanding reductions! :D
 
Back
Top