Dale 'n' Chip said:
I think Roomp/Rand mentions 200 in about every phase.
Phase 2: Increasing the dose: If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is >200mg/dL (11 mmol/L) Increase...
Phase 3: Holding the dose: If nadir or peak blood glucose concentration > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L) Increase...
Phase 4: Reducing the dose: If peak blood glucose concentration > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L) Immediately increase insulin dose to last effective dose!
ok, I reread that version of the TR protocol. :smile:
Essentially we are all saying the same thing:
If nadirs are over 200, increase every 3 days
If nadirs are under 200, slow down. Increase only every 5-7 days when needed. The main difference is that they say if highs are over 200, keep increasing. We slow down a bit more at that point.
If the cat goes below 50, reduce.
My thought is that increases with lower nadirs need to be handled carefully and only by someone who has enough experience to know that it is ok for their cat. With a cat like Lucy, the cycles when she had pink preshots were the cycles when she was most likely to drop low. She liked to visit pink, but she didn't stay there! Sometimes it was hard to stay ahead of her numbers even without a dose change. I think if I had increased just because of a pink preshot, then the momentum of dropping from pink combined with the momentum of a dose increase could have been disastrous. Fine for a cat like Jazzy, not for a cat like Lucy. Know which type of cat you have. ;-)
I suspected that is a feature of Roomp/Rand; to "dose" depot insulin in an innovative (but perfectly safe) way to "breakthrough" and suppress bouncing.
Could be, but I'm not sure I can go along with the "perfectly safe" due to Lucy's example. I wonder if this was one of Rand's contributions to the protocol. It hearkens back to her previous protocols. Maybe I'm overly cautious, but in my opinion some very effective approaches aren't all that appropriate for treating over the Internet.
The reason I got onto that notion in the first place was because when I was floundering around outside of Lantus Land, the few I was talking to told me the way to stop bouncing was through reboots, rebound checks, or otherwise persistently lowering the dose. Didn't work very obviously.
It usually doesn't, in a cat that has been brought up the dosing scale honestly. To be fair, with my two adopted kitties I did drop their doses back when I got them. I had reasons - limited testing with their foster mamas, no data on their past dose changes, change in insulin from a compounded PZI (unsure of how potent it was) to Levemir, change in diet, relocation to a new home... I already suspected Jazzy was acro, so I knew I would need to fast-track her dose back up and I did. With KK, I had no idea, and the lower dose proved to be a good thing. I was prepared to fast track again if necessary.
I didn't realize there was no shaving in Roomp/Rand except at the end of phase 4? They do seem to mention 40-50 in several places, even a variation on split dosing. I guess it's never a bad idea to review the published protocol again and often. ;-)
40-50 yes, but to them <40 is to be avoided. Here, for some cats <40 is a goal. I'm not sure how I feel about that (even though that is what I did with Lucy), but that guideline came about because it does seem that most long-time diabetics need to earn reductions more convincingly before they will hold.
I totally agree that those newly diagnosed should not focus on bouncing. But I've always wondered about those who seem to stick with that long term under cover of the modified protocol.
I wonder about that too.
And if a reason for bouncing might be too much juice (I don't mean an undetected low or a wild swing) that makes me wonder about Chip? His bounces when he loses it are exceptionally harsh.
When I think about "too much," there is always a tradeoff somewhere. There is a reason you are giving the amount that you are giving. What is the reason, and what is the tradeoff? (and realize that I'm not talking about the dose being a lot too much, usually just a bit). For example, you may be increasing because of highs over 200 even though nadirs are good.

So, you increase because you don't like the 200, but that might create even faster drops or lower numbers, creating another bounce, etc. Look at KK's last few weeks - his problem was more a lack of duration than of the insulin not being enough. The insulin brought him down just fine, it just couldn't keep him there. Increasing the dose didn't help because the amount of the dose wasn't the issue. The best solution for KK would probably have been to shoot a
lower dose TID. That is a killer schedule! I couldn't do that, so I had to make do with what I *could* do (and then he snapped anyway, thank goodness). For a while I was able to feed higher carbs to keep him from dropping so much, allowing me to safely keep his insulin dose higher. After a while, though, his absorption issues made the food ineffective at controlling his numbers. It is what it is.