10/23 Tibbs amps 427 +6 465 pmps 392 increase ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
so the colitis might be raising his BG but i am thinking of going to 1.5fat. this is the first time he has shown trace ketones so i am freaking out a bit.
and his BG levels have been high even at nadir. i know it could be because of the colitis and stress from the bad storm but......... worried about the trace ketones.
will test again in the morning. his 5 p's are great thought. playing and eating alot - putting lots of water in his food to flush ketones.
what do you think? increase a little bit??? worrying about him is making ME ill. so stressed about him.
thanks
 
On my phone, so can't see your spreadsheet. Sometimes it works for me if you both File, Publish to the web, then also click the Share button in the upper right of the screen.

If you've had the same dose for a minimum of 3 full days (a Tight Regulation criterion), and he's starting to show ketones, then yes, I would fatten the dose. Ketones are nothing to mess around with. You've got to get him down a bit more, safely. If you can, spread his food into mini-meals to prevent larger food spikes.

A secondary option, only if you can do some serious testing, is to use a bolus of short-acting insulin in addition to the Lantus. Often, folks with either temporary situations, or with high dose cats will use tiny to modest doses of Humulin or Novolin R (for Regular) insulin at the very beginning of, or in the last third of the shot cycle. R insulin lasts roughly 4-5 hours, and may can drop them like a rock. If ever you need to try this, you test a tiny dose of drops or of 0.25 units which you eyeball, and curve that intervaal to see how it affects your cat. R may be over the counter, in some states; you may need to ask for it at the pharmacy.
 
I feel for you, Nadine. Sending prayers that Tibbs' numbers will get better. How is he eating?

((((((Nadine & Tibbs))))))
 
Oh no Nadine I am sorry that he is still in the high numbers. I hope the dose increase helps. Remi is so deaf now that the wind, fireworks, etc don't frighten him. I have seen someone on the board mention thundershirt for anxiety with their cat. I looked it up and it seemed interesting: http://www.thundershirt.com/ maybe that might help. Just wish they had one that was human sized!
 
Yes go up, if he is starting to show ketones even a trace then take the dose up, sure he might bounce like a rubber ball but you'll just have to grit your teeth and ride them out. Now I have to go look up colitis as that is one so far I've never dealt with in kitties. Yeah there really are a few diseases that I have no clue about. ohmygod_smile :lol:

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Colitis = colon + inflammation (-itis)

May be caused by autoimmune (inflammation), allergic, infectious, or neoplastic/cancerous cell changes.

Treatment may include trying something like metronidazole which is both an antimicrobial and reduces some inflammation, budesonide, a steroid that has minimal GI absorption, novel dietary protein for a month or more, and if a significant portion of bowel becomes damaged, sometimes surgery.

A GI biopsy could be done to identify more clearly what is happening. If that won't change how you are treating the cat, I'd avoid it, due to costs, and the risk to the cat's health from anesthesia or post-surgical complications.
 
thanks everyone. i will fatten his dose. i am checking for ketones again at noon today when i give him his shot. He is eating fine and playing - no sign of ketone problems like he was when he first got them. His diarrhea is also calming down so hopefully his numbers will come down. I'm going to go up to 1.5fat because it seems that 2 units is too much. 1.75 might be good but i'm going to go up to it slowly to see if i can find a perfect dose for him to ride those bounces out.
He is giving me ulcers. thanks for all your help and support. xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox
 
So glad to hear the diarrhoea is calming down, and that Tibbs is in good form. cat_pet_icon

I found feeding Saoirse tiny amounts of recovery liquid food very frequently helped when she had diarrhoea (main ingredients were chicken, chicken liver and egg). Also, she has come on in leaps and bounds since I switched her to her current food. It's chicken and poultry in jelly, and very low carb (<1%), but it also has a very high level of taurine supplementation (1500mg/kg). I read up a little about taurine and discovered it has anti-inflammatory properties. Her stools are text book healthy on it, and she can fast for hours without vomiting - a huge step forward - so I think the claims about the taurine could well be merited.

Got some special antacid hugs here for you ----> :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Sending many feel-better wishes to Nadine and Tibbsey! Sorry you're both having such a rough time. :( :YMHUG:
 
It's Smilla canned Kitten Food with Chicken. It's German in origin. I get it online from Zooplus. It's a premium food but reasonably priced. It's really meaty, and it looks like proper food that hasn't been messed around with in the manufacturing process. Here's a link to the product page so that you can see the nutritional info:

http://www.zooplus.co.uk/shop/cats/canned_cat_food_pouches/smilla/smilla_kitten_food/365685

There are also Smilla adult cat products as well, but the taurine content isn't as high, and there's less protein.

In my quest to find a low carb food for Saoirse, there were quite a few products that fit the low-carb requirement. Some she liked, but they didn't like her back. :sad: Now I tend to go by ingredients to select a food to try, and then by smell to gauge whether or not a new food is likely to agree with my little Bonnie Munchkin. I've learned from monitoring her that the more strong-smelling a food is, the more likely it is to upset her tum. Anecdotally, my civvie, Lúnasa (aka The Noodle) also gets on better with the less pungent foods.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top