10/23 Shylo AMPS 286 +3 182 +6 137 +9 310 PMPS 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
yesterday; viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127323

Looks like a bounce from Shylo this morning (although I'm not really surprised after yesterday). Just a quick post since I have to get ready to go to the vet. Fingers crossed that we get along with this new one swimmingly. P:

Shylo demolished his breakfast this morning so that's good, at least. No puking last night, either.
 
Re: 10/23 Shylo AMPS 286 +3 182

Looks like a good start to the day for Shylo - clearing the bounce, perhaps? Yay for demolished breakfasts and no puking!

Sending good vetty vines. I hope this one is a winner.
 
Re: 10/23 Shylo AMPS 286 +3 182

286 is a pretty good number for skipping a shot. :-D It's not really a bounce, just the insulin running out. Fantastic news on happy appy and calm tummies.

Paws crossed this vet is a winner.
 
Re: 10/23 Shylo AMPS 286 +3 182

Ok, so we just got back from the vet! Shylo was cooperative per usual which certainly helped, haha. This vet is much smaller than the one we had gone to for his surgery, but I definitely think that they'll be a good fit. I downloaded his spreadsheet onto my phone before I left the apartment and the vet even took the time to look over his numbers... she was supportive of the home testing and the raw diet, so that's good news already.

After going over everything with the vet they agreed it could be pancreatitis... however, they did the bloodwork/test for that and it came back negative. She said it was still possible that he might have it even with the negative test, though. I mentioned the medications Julie had mentioned yesterday and the vet agreed they were good, but she suggested maybe starting off with pepcid first to see if that would be enough to keep his tummy settled. She prescribed 5mg of pepcid twice daily for a week and asked if anything changed or if it wasn't helping to give her a call and we would try the cerenia instead.

She also mentioned that they've done laser surgery on a couple of cats with pancreatitis with good results... have you guys heard anything about that? The trip and the bloodwork only cost me a hundred bucks, so cost-wise this vet is soooo much cheaper than the other place (not that the other vet wasn't good, but I just can't afford them for everything lol). They also have an online pharmacy where I can get a lantus pen for like 80 bucks and Shylo's ursodiol in bulk (60 day supply) for like $30. Overall pretty pleased with the visit.
 
Re: 10/23 Shylo AMPS 286 +3 182 +6 137 (back from vet!)

hi emily!

sounds like a good vet visit! Pepcid is what people typically give if they think the cat has an acid stomach. Often the symptom i hear people reporting is that they'll vomit a bit of watery foam if they've gone too long without eating. Pepcid seems to help with that situation. You can buy it over the counter.

The typical kitty dose is 1/4 of a 10mg tablet of Pepcid AC, NOT Pepcid Complete, given twice a day. Give it 30 minutes before the meal and chase it with a little water to make sure it's down ok, about 4-6 ml of water. Generic is Famotidine.

when he vomits is it a like that, or like a "full" vomit?

I can't remember what you said about the pancreatitis test - was it the "snap" test or the "spec fPL" test? I've always understood a cat should be fasted 6 hrs before testing for pancreatitis in order to have an accurate test. Do you have a number for the results?

One thing I'd suggest - as you go along on this crazy FD journey, you'll end up with lots of labwork and it can be very helpful to always ask for copies of tests so you know exactly what's been done. Many people add a tab in their spreadsheets and put the labs there. You can see a tab on punkin's ss that's for labs. You can copy the column that lists the tests and reference ranges from anyone's ss, but you want to double-check the reference ranges and compare them to your own lab. Different labs have different reference ranges and to be accurate, the test results need to be compared to the lab's own reference ranges. I started a folder for punkin that i kept in with the cat supplies - leash, flea comb, etc., and i kept all his lab tests in there, and i added them onto the ss for quick reference and easy comparisons.

no, i've never heard of laser surgery for pancreatitis. Generally it heals with minimal support. The Pancreatitis Primer is on the New to the Group sticky, at the bottom of the page in the list of single topic links. That's got the latest research on pancreatitis as far as I know.
 
Re: 10/23 Shylo AMPS 286 +3 182 +6 137 (back from vet!)

Hey Julie! I picked up the famotidine (I made sure to ask for the generic name) a little while ago, so I have it here. When he vomits its always around +6 from dinner/PM shot, so there's some chunky stuff in there but mostly liquid at that point. It's also like... projectile vomiting almost? It's not just a pile, it's like a long swath of it (it's really gross of course haha). No foam. He usually does one big puke and then one second smaller one (like whatever he didn't get up) and then that's it.

They did the "snap" test for the pancreatitis... I totally didn't even think about the eating thing. The appointment was at +4 from breakfast but that's still not a long enough fast. I don't have the number (the vet just said it was negative) but Ill try to call tomorrow or Monday to see if I can get that info. I've been good about keeping discharge papers from the previous vet but I totally think asking for test results will be a good idea.
 
Re: 10/23 Shylo AMPS 286 +3 182 +6 137 (back from vet!)

Sending tons of healing vines, positive thoughts, and whole bunches of wellwishes for Shylo to make a full and speedy recovery.
 
Re: 10/23 Shylo AMPS 286 +3 182 +6 137 +9 310 (back from vet

The Snap fPL doesn't give a number. You just get a positive or negative result. It's like a pregnancy test!!

While many vets will prescribe 2.5mg of famotidine twice a day, the max dose is 0.5mg twice a day. When Gabby came home after having been hospitalized for pancreatitis and a couple of other problems when she was first diagnosed, the vet prescribed 0.5mg of famotidine.
 
It's been a while for pink on Mr. Shylo... bounce finally hitting or just the skipped shot? Either way it's not a good look on him, hahaha.

Sienne, do you mean 5mg or 0.5mg? The tablets come in 10mg which are easy enough to break down into quarters, but anything beyond that seems a little bit crazy ahahaha. I went with Julie's dose and did the 2.5mg... he wasnt a fan, naturally. P: We got it in and down about a half hour before dinner.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top