10/23 Shooter AMPS 74 +5 28, +6 54, +9 85

Yikes! I just got home from work and he is at 28! I fed him 20% carbs and will check him again in a little bit. Obviously he is getting a decrease! :woot:
 
Well that was a scary late morning/early afternoon! So I get home from work and find he's at 28! Notice he peed on the floor in the cat room in 2 spots. Feed him high carb & he starts coming up but pees on the floor again then I had to leave for an MRI with contrast and was so nervous to leave him but fed him more carbs before I left. Thankfully it didn't take long and when I checked him at +9 he's at 85 and seems totally fine. Thank the Lord!
 
Does Shooter have food available, say from an autofeeder, when you are at work? There are many possible reasons for peeing out of the box.
 
Shoot! I don't know what I just did to my SS but it looks all weird now.
Does Shooter have food available, say from an autofeeder, when you are at work? There are many possible reasons for peeing out of the box.
I need to get some digital ones for both cats instead of these turn dial ones that I never use because they can’t be set to a specific time. So if one opens and then the other opens Shooter will eat them both.
 
An autofeeder might help give him some food while you are gone. Might have taken the edge off of today's low numbers.

With a 28, I would have gone with a 4.25 unit dose. Below 40, we strongly recommend a full 0.25 unit reduction. He was well below 40. :eek:
 
An autofeeder might help give him some food while you are gone. Might have taken the edge off of today's low numbers.

With a 28, I would have gone with a 4.25 unit dose. Below 40, we strongly recommend a full 0.25 unit reduction. He was well below 40. :eek:
Shoot! I read this after already giving him his shot this morning but it looks like he’s bouncing now. I’ll pull the feeders back out and I guess whoever gets to them gets to them (Shooter is a pig so he’ll prob get both) but if it’s a small amount of LC it should be fine. Better safe than sorry and not worrying the whole time & work.
So I also just pulled out the calipers that I never used because it just is confusing to me. They are so sensitive and they don’t read 100ths, only 10ths. So I either have to do 4.2 or 4.3 not 4.25. Also I don’t know if I am even doing it right. According to this with being on the 4.5 line, it’s actually reading 6.0.

upload_2024-10-24_6-48-17.jpeg
upload_2024-10-24_6-48-17.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-10-24_6-48-17.jpeg
    upload_2024-10-24_6-48-17.jpeg
    29.7 KB · Views: 106
  • upload_2024-10-24_6-48-17.jpeg
    upload_2024-10-24_6-48-17.jpeg
    35.3 KB · Views: 111
Re feeders: of course I’m not trying for the kind of control you have with Shooter but I’d agree I could live with the diabetic cat getting a little extra vs not having enough. They are expensive but they do make feeders that restrict access to certain cats. You could use that for the non diabetic (so Shooter can’t get to it) and the feeders you already have to set up extra feedings for Shooter.

In hope his bounce clears quickly!
 
Re feeders: of course I’m not trying for the kind of control you have with Shooter but I’d agree I could live with the diabetic cat getting a little extra vs not having enough. They are expensive but they do make feeders that restrict access to certain cats. You could use that for the non diabetic (so Shooter can’t get to it) and the feeders you already have to set up extra feedings for Shooter.

In hope his bounce clears quickly!

I looked into those microchip feeders but ran into some issues... 1) They can't even find Shooter's microchip anymore. They scanned him and scanned him and said it might have failed after 17 years. 2) Pepper isn't chipped and after 15 years I'm not going to chip him. They NEVER go outside of the screen room with pet door access.

I'll just spy on him with the camera and see what happens. ;)
 
Also while I don’t truly understand the caliper use for dosing, I *think* the idea is that you set a syringe as the prototype, measure the distance with the calipers, then each subsequent syringe fill to that predetermined distance, ignoring the syringe markings. I assume if syringe brand changes you’d need to reset calipers.

I’m not familiar with using calipers for this but have used them in machining parts. So the ones in you hand measure mm distance, which I don’t think directly translates to units (I could easily be wrong)
 
I looked into those microchip feeders but ran into some issues... 1) They can't even find Shooter's microchip anymore. They scanned him and scanned him and said it might have failed after 17 years. 2) Pepper isn't chipped and after 15 years I'm not going to chip him. They NEVER go outside of the screen room with pet door access.

I'll just spy on him with the camera and see what happens. ;)
May have failed, could have migrated. Methos got re-chipped after his ended up far from where it belongs…I don’t trust overworked/underpaid shelter staff to do a full body scan

almost spit out my coffee laughing about spying on them
 
Back
Top