10/23 Rusty PMPS 273, +4.5 261. back from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=81668

Good Morning, Everyone,

Getting ready for Rusty's vet appointment in the mid afternoon. He had a good night, good test, good shot, good breakfast (Wellness Turkey, both sittings eaten), and has good appetite this morning. It's 35 degrees with fog outside, the heat is on, and Rusty is in his little bed by the radiator. He won't get lunch today because I still haven't decided about whether or not to have the spec fPL. Rusty doesn't have any of the classic symptoms of pancreatitis, but his bgs have been higher than his norm. If I decide to have the fPL, he will have fasted for 7 hours, which should be enough. Thanks to all who gave such great info. on expression of anal glands. I suspect that Rusty's are impacted, so it will be good to have the vet deal with them!!

Off now to annotate Rusty's spreadsheet for the vet. bbl,

Our thoughts are with Claudia.

Sending healing vines to all who need them and extra-special vines to Marje today.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176. vet day

I hope your vet appointment goes smoothly with good results. Rusty, you little sweetie, feel perfect!
mary,mark,oliver,greg and marble
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176. vet day

Morning Ella ~O)

Here's to a good vetty visit for Rusty. I hope that goes well. Good luck to withththe decision on the p'titis test. I suppose thst i'd have it done, at least the inhouse version. Good idea to have the anal glands checked if you suspect impaction... one does not want them to rupture. Rusty you be good for the vetty. Mannie has the KTSS all ready to visit you when you get home.

Have a great day today,
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176. vet day

Good morning Ella, I just wanted to pop in and say I hope Rusty has a good day at the vets later today. Wish I could send you some of this nice sunshine. Stay warm
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176. vet day

Morning Ella, sending good Vetty vines today for Rusty's appt. Hope all goes well.

Rusty, I'll be along later with Mannie KTSS and the kitties to visit and get rid of the Vetty smell, Mags
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176. vet day

Good vetty vines today for sweet Rusty. If the anal glands are impacted, that could raise BG's, due to discomfort. So maybe you could have those checked first and then decide on the specfPL. Unless you're like me - I tend to run everything when I suspect something is wrong. :lol:
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80. vet day

Paws crossed that all that is needed are the easiest solutions at the vet.
Hope the stress subsides quickly when you return.
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80. vet day

Well good luck at the vetty Rusty! KTSS will be by later i hear?

Don't forget that kitties don't always show symptoms of p-titus, its probably a good idea to get the p-titus tests done just for peace of mind if nothing else. His BG's look good this morning!

We'll check back later for an update, have a good visit Rusty and Ella.
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80. vet day

Sending goo vetty vines to Rusty. Tess is due for her checkup too. i hope the BG rise is just due to a little discomfort and it is easily taken care of.
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80. vet day

Sending good vetty vines to Rusty, hope the anal glands are easily expressed. Nice green at +5.5! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80. vet day

Sending Good Vetty Vines to Rusty & Hope All will be well with him! Thinking of you all today..
We also hope that anal sacs get cleaned out easily & No fPL--Hugs & Love from us!!!
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80. vet day

More good vetty vines - I hope Rusty just needs a little expression that doesn't bother him at all. Numbers look good - I hope his numbers stay nice after the visit. Let us know!
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

Hmmm subject line says 'back from vet', but no post? Maybe we're cross posting?

Hi Ella. I hope the vet visit went well!
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

Hi again, everyone,

Thank you all for the good wishes and vines. The snap fPL came back positive for pancreatitis and the blood sample is being sent to IDEXX Labs for the spec fPL (so that I will have a baseline number). Anal glands were full and were expressed. Rusty is fine and was very good at the vet's. He weighed a little over 17 lbs. on the vet's analog scales (yesterday, on my digital scales, he weighed 16 lbs., 15.5 oz.). He had his nails trimmed, too, and blood tests and urinalysis. I will be able to pick up the reports of the tests whenever I can get back over there (there wasn't enough time to wait around for the results today. Rusty hadn't had lunch and was eager to get home).

So we are on our second flare=up of pancreatitis. The first was last April. At that time he had reduced appetite and was somewhat lethargic. I think he also had pain in his side when it was touched. This time around he has excellent appetite. But he hasn't been as active as he once was, and only puts himself out when he is chasing a squirrel or chipmunk. He plays with his bell balls, but only for a few minutes at a time, whereas last winter he would play with his toys for extended periods. So I guess the pancreatitis is the culprit, but the impacted anal sacs could have played a role in his lower activity level. We'll see. I still have Bupe if he needs it. I'll basically do what I did before: if he doesn't want to eat his regular Wellness, I'll feed him more FF T&G. If I have to raise his dose to compensate for the FF T&G, which tends to raise his bgs, I will. The vet thinks that over all he is doing very well for a diabetic his age (which she puts between 11 and 13).

So we have our vetty-visit bounce this evening at PMPS. Rusty is looking forward to a visit from the KTSS so he can get rid of the vetty smell. When we got home this afternoon (around +9) he had some lunch and then lounged on his radiator and in his perch, cleaning his feet.

Thanks again for visiting. bbl,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

Wow Ella, well spotted on the pancreatitis, it certainly pays to know your cat! Glad to hear he is otherwise doing well and he must feel so much better having had the gland issue taken care of :smile:
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

Hi Ella,
Sorry to hear about the pancreatitis. You know Rusty so well. I hope that you can get him back to feeling 100% soon. (((Rusty))).
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

Oh Rusty, poor guy on another bout with pancreatitus. I hope you keep your appetite and your numbers settle. Glad the anal sacs were full - only because that's an easy thing to fix and will surely stop the scooting and itchy-hiney! Thanks for the update, Ella.
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

It's good that you know what's going on. I hope Rusty is feeling better overall.
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

Ella, Sorry to hear Rusty has pancreatitis, poor kitty. cat_pet_icon Hope the anal glands expression helps him feel better on that aspect.
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

Ella, so sorry to hear Rusty has pancreatitis, but you sure were on top of it and caught it early. They do send us signals when something is not right. Sending healing vines to Rusty and hugs from us.
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

I'm sorry to hear about the pancreatitis, but at least you know how to treat it. I hope Rusty feels better soon.
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

I think you caught it earlier this time, before his appy went off. Good work. Ask you vet about the Bupe, mine said our old dose might have been OK, but being in the syring for several months could have a reacition w/ the plastic.
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

Hi Ella

Darn on the pancreatitis, but how lucky Rusty is, that you are so in tune with him. You caught it early, so it will be cured that much sooner.
Sending lots of healing vines for Rusty.
He should be feeling a whole lot better, with the anal glands expresed. Not the vet's favorite job. :roll:
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

hi Ella - well darn it on the p'titus. It is good you understand him so well, know what to do. So glad too that you had the anal sacks checked and expressed. That should really help him feel better too.

RUSTY! DUDE! We is coming!!! Got soup and lavender and everything! See you soon....~~ Mannie
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

Good call getting the snap fpl done Ella! Glad you caught that, and I hope Rusty feels better soon. I'm getting the anal glands done will help loads too.
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

Great job on getting him to the vet, Ella! Healing vines to Rusty for the p-titis and I'm sure the anal glad expression will make him more comfortable. He may be sore tomorrow though.
Liz
 
Re: 10/23 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 80, PMPS 273. back from vet

Hi Ella

I'm glad you got him to the vet but that he's not showing any signs now. Maybe the treatment will short circuit this episode. I'm glad he's eating well.

Extra healing vines and hugs to our big, handsome Rusty!! Please let us know when you get the spec fPL back....it will be interesting to see if the results also indicate positive.
 
Thanks for visiting and for checking up on our boy, everyone.
Rusty slept most of the evening in his basket. But now, at bedtime, he had his FF T&G snack and is playing downstairs with his bell balls. He's really batting them around. I think he's feeling better already.

ni ni,

Ella & Rusty
 
Rusty Boy!! So glad your Bean caught your not feeling well & those pesky anal glands & took you to the vetty!
Ella, Sorry the pancreatitis has reared it's ugly head again, but you knew something wasnt right with him..
I Know you will make Rusty comfy & well very soon..He is so lucky to have you & ED...
Sending Healing Vines & Lots of Love & Hugs to our BFF Rusty ..Get well soon Pal..Lubs you a lot!! Ni NI!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top