10/23 Racci AMPS-97,+3.5-105,+6-160,PMPS-115

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=81683
10/22 Racci AMPS-83,+3-64,+6.5-121,PMPS-124

Hi Lantus Land,

Racci had her first shot of Adequan today. It has special needles the vet gave me that are only 25 gauge and long. Poor Racci is used to short 31g so she was surprised and jumped a little. I hope it didn't hurt too much. Luckily I'm good at it and had the chisel aimed right and was in and done before she even could react.
These needles hold a total of 1ml and units are tenths. I was thinking it might be useful for people who give tiny doses except for the big gauge, but they are probably available in smaller gauge also. Just a thought.

Racci had a good morning and woke nice and hungry. She woke me at 7 to feed her, then I went btb. DH fed again at 9 and when I got up at 9:30 she wanted me to feed again! Since it was the last she could have before it got too close to test time, I gave her a little more and she was happy and pooped. At least that's out of the way.

I'm freezing right now but it's beautiful and sunny and supposed to go up to almost 80 today! Yay! I'm going to get the bird food ready now and hope it's warming up now.

TTYL!

Hugs & have a great day!
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 10/23 Racci AMPS-97

Hi Melanie, Nice AMPS for Racci :mrgreen: ! Glad her adequan shot went well even with the longer needle. It probaly surprised rather than hurt her.
After several chilly days, its truly springlike here today, sunny 77 right now. I am using this weather break to rebuild our cat flap, perfect conditions if I have to leave a hole through the outside wall for a while.
 
Re: 10/23 Racci AMPS-97

Melanie!! I gave Moonie her Adequan shot today too & got it all in!!!! WHOOO HOOO :mrgreen:
Glad you gave Racci hers too, you will see a nice slow improvement over next few weeks..
Moonie was due for hers..The needles are big but I gave it to Moon in her scruff area, just to be safe & not do a thru & Thru, & she didnt flinch(WOW brave girl)..But you will be glad you did. Vetty told me scruff was OK btw..
Beautiful green number today too--Cant wait to hear Racci has improved--Hugs & love from us!
 
Re: 10/23 Racci AMPS-97

Hi Melanie, glad the Adequan shot went in okay. Several kitties are on it and seem to be doing really well. Nice AMPS for her, too. I am glad she pooped! :lol: I know that's a biggie achievement for both Racci and Maggie. Have a nice evening.
 
Re: 10/23 Racci AMPS-97,+3.5-105,+6-160

Hi Leslie,

I think you may be right about it surprising rather than hurting her. She made a little jump afterwards and turned to look at me as if to say 'what was that?'. :lol:
Our weather here turned beautiful also. Nice and warm and sunny. That sounds like a good project for such a nice day.

Hi Roni,

That big long needle feels strange, doesn't it? I also used the scruff. It's the only place that I could really get enough loose skin for a needle that long too. Vet told me anywhere was okay. I know it's all in my mind but it seemed like she felt better today about 20 minutes after the shot for a few minutes. :smile: I sure hope it helps her walk better.
Racci's bg is up again though. I gave her the new food and it brought her up again! I have to try to get her to eat something else again that I know will be low carb until this is figured out. I called Merrick and they're checking it out but I don't expect much help from them. They said the amount of liquid varies but the carbs shouldn't and they never had a complaint like this before. I told her that makes sense because only a diabetic cat would ever be tested to find out & how many of them have eaten those months of that food and caught it and called? :lol:
Hugs & love back to you and Moonie!

Hi Ann,

The shot was a little scary but went in just fine. I'm hoping Racci does well on the Adequan too. I really want to see her walking easily & if possible jumping again. I feel so sorry for her having to be so dependent on me to get up and down from the furniture. It would really be great if she could sleep in bed with me again too..
Racci just pooped again tonight! This is the old Racci. Once or twice a day every day instead of skipping days!

Thank you all for visiting with good wishes! I hope you have a great night! Hugs!!!
 
Re: 10/23 Racci AMPS-97,+3.5-105,+6-160

Hi Rhiannon,

Thanks. I don't think we're going to see anymore green tonight from Racci. That new food ruined her numbers again. I don't know what I'm going to do about food for her. I live out in the country so I can't just drive to a bunch of stores searching for different dates and online I can't specify dates. So far both august & september dates are the same way. I know June was okay but don't know about the in between dates & most of the stores are out of the older dates. I went through this when Wellness changed their foods also! I think I'll see if the newer Wellness dates are out and if they're something Racci will eat now.

TTYL!

Have a great night
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top