10/23 PurrFace PMPS 307 +2/309

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
The BG#s seem to be going up and down with some big swings. I planned on increasing his dose by .25U since he's been at his current dose (1.50U) for 22 cycles. His AM shot is due in 20 minutes, I guess I'll go ahead with the increase and watch him closely.
PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 10/23 PurrFace AMPS 141

Well I increased PurrFace's dose to 1.75U BID. He's off to a good start with his AMPS @ 141. Hopefully he will have more stable BG#s going forward. I got concerned when his PM BG# was in the RED. We don't want to go there again.
 
Re: 10/23 PurrFace AMPS 141 +1.5/108 +4/59/67

I was out when DW did +4 test, she called and since this was his first cycle at the increased dose and I didn't think this was his nadir we agreed to give him a fingertip of honey on his gums and HC food. He ate about 2 tsp of HC food. I'm guessing the jump from 59 to 67 in 15 minutes was due to the honey.
Should we stay with the increased dose?
 
Re: 10/23 PurrFace AMPS 141 +1.5/108 +4/59/67 dose advice?

Hi John, I cant advise on dosing. For fastest response from the guru's, change your original post to the (?) icon and add "dose advice?" to the subject line, as I did here for example. PurrFace had a fairly steep drop and the honey will wear off quickly so you will want to get some more tests over the midcycle to make sure he is not still dropping.
 
Re: Dose Advice 10/23 PurrFace AMPS 141 +1.5/108 +4/59/67

So here's the scoop....

Numbers below 50 are what gets the dose reduction. It's hard to know whether your kitty would have slid below that line if honey wasn't in the line up. I'd think about holding the dose where it is but monitor carefully -- that's providing there are no surprises during the rest of this cycle. PurrFace may be telling you that a dose reduction is in the cards.
 
Re: Dose Advice 10/23 PurrFace AMPS 141 +1.5/108 +4/59/67

Hi Leslie. DW tested him again 15 minutes after the honey & HC and it went up 8 points. I tested him 30 minutes after that test and his BG went up another 14 points. I'm about to post that BG# now. Thank you for you input, it's greatly appreciated and I changed my subject line as you suggested.
 
Re: Dose Advice 10/23 PurrFace +1.5/108 +4/59 +4.25/67 +4.75

Thank you Sienne. I wasn't home and my DW was panicing and worried that it would keep dropping so the decision to give a bit of honey was made. We decided it was better to error there than to have him drop low when she was home by herself. I'll test him every hour for the next few hours unless his number drops again then testing will be more frequent. In the last few days he's been all over the color spectrum. Thank you again.
 
Re: Dose Advice 10/23 PurrFace +1.5/108 +4/59 +4.25/67 +4.75

Hi John, I just caught up on your yesterday condo and took a closer look at PurrFace's spreadsheet. I still cant advice on dosing, jsut advise to get expert advice on dosing! :-D
It was time for increase as Sienne advised yesterday. I also see the red that got your attention :o . Here are some things to keep in mind with Lantus:
1 Lantus acts over several cycles , the numbers you get are affected by the previous few shots, not just the last one or the next one.
2 Dose amount is based on nadir over the last several cycles, or droppping below the threshold which is 50 for newly diagnosed cats.
3 PS number is to guide you if it is safe to shoot now, or stall, or skip. Rising, flat or falling PS helps you predict the upcoming cycle adn how closely you may need to monitor. It helps a lot to get a +10 (which is like a -2) and +2 to easily see rising, flat or falling.
4 Dose amount is not based on PS number except occasional BCS e.g. when too nervous, you can't be around to monitor, other factors.
I hope this is helpful when you are mulling PS vs. nadir numbers!
 
Re: Dose Advice 10/23 PurrFace +1.5/108 +4/59 +4.25/67 +4.75

Thanks Leslie. The info you provided is helpful. We are going to have to control ourselves and not get so nervous when his BG# gets in the low numbers and realize that, afterall, that is where we want him. At +5 he was 98 so he is still coming up. My DW said when she gave him the honey she just put her finger tip in the cap and barely got any on but I guess it was enough to get him coming up. Thank you again Leslie, your input is appreciated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top