10/23 Pumbaa (I missed a day) AMPS/269 +8/341 PMPS/306

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
During his 3rd cycle of the 2.50U dose, Pumbaa dropped down to 92. Yeehaw! (KInd of...that was a major drop for him on the Levemir.)

Since then, he has ranged from a high of 341 to a low of 260. Not one of these numbers are below renal threshold of 250. *sigh*

Is this a bounce? His AM dose today was the 6th cycle. I didn't want to increase him if he was clearing a bounce, but frankly, I can't tell the difference between insulin resistance and a bounce. It would be so much easier if Pumbaa had a neon sign on his forehead telling me what he was going through! *LOL*

I just want my little guy down in the blues, regularly, to give his pancreas a chance to heal. I don't ask for any more than that.

So, do I give him 72 hours for what I consider to be bounce to settle? Or do I raise his dose and still fight the IR?

I used to (on Lantus) prefer to increase doses at night, since the dose increases seemed to affect the next couple of daytime hours, but on Levemir, I still haven't figured this out.

Thank you in advance for all input! (((HUGS)))

Suze
 
You want to raise 0.25U. If he was showing more (decisive) blue/green you could hold for a total of 5-7 days but for pink you need to keep raising every 6 cyclces.
 
Dale, he did drop down to 166 last night (yea! a blue!), but he's back up to 355 this morning, so it looks like I'll raise him to 2.75U tonight.

What happened to those nice, steady, flat numbers? *LOL* and :roll:

Suze
 
I always tried to raise at night, too. I figured I was home and tested more.

Slow and steady plugging away gets it. I do know the feeling of racing to the better numbers all too well. Sneakers has been on Lev since March and it took a long time to get her into decent numbers- acro not withstanding.

I realized that it is almost time for her 1 yr anniversary of being known FD :cry: . But that she has finally come around to some awesome numbers makes me happy :-D . I just know you and Pumbaa will get there too. :razz:
 
Pumbaa said:
...What happened to those nice, steady, flat numbers? *LOL* and :roll:

Suze
I'm afraid likely the only "steady, flat" numbers Pumbaa or Chip can sustain on human depot insulin are solid green or flat pink.

It would be nice if a safe blue surf was an option but I don't think it's possible. Anytime Chip starts drifting blue or yellow it's likely only days before he is back to flat pink. The funny thing is Chip surfed the flattest blue frequently the last time he went OTJ from Humulin N. He was often low flat blue when he was unofficially OTJ.
 
Suze, he definitely bounced from the 92 - but that happened after I posted. There is a component of dive/bounce that is "speed" (change over less time), but as he gets used to the greens again they should not cause so much response.

Raising him is good at this point. I might have waited another 24 hours. One thing that you can do is "shoot down" the bounce - traise for that high PS and then lower it back the next shot. You probably want to do that when you can be there to test the first couple of times you try it.
 
I feel your pain! ((((HUGS)))) These kitties can be so hard to figure out. But you have good advice, so you know you'll get there eventually. It is hard to put on the patience pants, though. Hang in there!
 
Sorry all, I haven't been able to keep up with posts lately.

Sheila, I know you posted about the bounce before the 319, but I still can't tell a bounce from IR from NDW. I still need that neon sign on Pumbaa's forehead.

Chippendale's: Pumbaa is having a perfect flat yellow/blue, hovering right around 200 AM cycle today, 10/25.
antijinx-emoticon.png
Wish he could stay this way!

Mares/Sheri/Heather: Thank you. It's so nice to have Pumbaa's numbers come down (at least for one cycle so far today - 10/25) and have him acting like his normal self again!

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top