10/23 Nelli PMPS 66 +1.5 81 +2.5 73

Is Nelli expected sudden rise or drops today based upon the 5.25U shoot last night and then this morning 4.75U?
I need to work and she would like to catch up on her sleep. Next test at +10 ok? Thanks for you advice :)
 
Is Nelli expected sudden rise or drops today based upon the 5.25U shoot last night and then this morning 4.75U?
I need to work and she would like to catch up on her sleep. Next test at +10 ok? Thanks for you advice :)

I'd be a little nervous about that last 64 - I'd want a test at the next hour - but if you can't then 7+ will have to do...I sure wouldn't wait until 10+ - but that's me - I get really nervous when she's in the lagoon...and that close to 50...I'd be sitting on my timer...

If you can't sit there with her - feed her some HC or MC until you can get back at your earliest time to test her....remember the depot is still in play here...
 
Nelli's SS looks GREAT! I'm definitely jealous;);)
My Ravan is a BIG bouncer Once went from 500 to 64 in 7 hrs! :eek:

Those greens look real good to me :D ( When Ravan's bg goes into green for a while he also gets quiet )
 
Is Nelli expected sudden rise or drops today based upon the 5.25U shoot last night and then this morning 4.75U?
I need to work and she would like to catch up on her sleep. Next test at +10 ok? Thanks for you advice :)
It’s very possible that what you are seeing today is the result of the full depot from the 5u dose which was added to by the 5.25u dose.

Personally, with a full depot and a 53 at +7.5, there is no way I’d not test in an hour to be sure she’s coming up. I definitely would not wait until +10. That might be ok if she was typically flat green on a dose you’d been giving several cycles but not when you still are dealing with a depot. IMHO.
 
+7.5 (53) very odd to nadir? I did test twice- back to back 1st was 53, 2nd was 58.
Almost always, consistently Nelli nadir at 4 1/2 to 5 1/2?
 
Last edited:
+7.5 (53) very odd to nadir? I did test twice- back to back 1st was 53, 2nd was 58.
Almost always, consistently Nelli need her at 4 1/2 to 5 1/2?
But you are dealing with a full depot. The reduction you gave this morning is likely not at play yet.

@Marje and Gracie ... how does Nelli look to you?
She looks great!!! I’m glad to see her doing so well and the dose coming down. We just want to be sure you don’t reduce too fast and lose the momentum. By that, I mean, be careful about taking back-to-back reductions. Remember that the depot from a higher dose can take 4-6 cycles to deplete and you might see lower numbers through those cycles. Typically, unless she falls into the 30s within those 4-6 cycles, we’d be cautious about reducing again. But we should look at each cycle, the BG, and then decide.
 
If Nelli (consistently)continues to earn reductions... I did some math- it would be three months give or take that she would go into remission. Am I correct about this?
 
But you are dealing with a full depot. The reduction you gave this morning is likely not at play yet.


She looks great!!! I’m glad to see her doing so well and the dose coming down. We just want to be sure you don’t reduce too fast and lose the momentum. By that, I mean, be careful about taking back-to-back reductions. Remember that the depot from a higher dose can take 4-6 cycles to deplete and you might see lower numbers through those cycles. Typically, unless she falls into the 30s within those 4-6 cycles, we’d be cautious about reducing again. But we should look at each cycle, the BG, and then decide.
Thanks
 
If Nelli (consistently)continues to earn reductions... I did some math- it would be three months give or take that she would go into remission. Am I correct about this?
I wouldn’t even go there ;) In other words, focus on keeping her regulated. That’s what we should all do... focus on regulation. There is no way to predict if she will continue to earn reductions or not or earn them consistently.

I wish I had a dollar for every time Gracie looked like she was headed towards remission and was earning reduction after reduction. At first, we did get our hopes up but then we learned it’s best to not even think about it. Keep your eye on the “regulation” ball, not the remission ball. I am not trying to be a Debbie Downer but Nelli has a long way to go from 4.75u to remission so just take it a cycle and a dose at a time and be thankful she looks this great right now.
 
I wouldn’t even go there ;) In other words, focus on keeping her regulated. That’s what we should all do... focus on regulation. There is no way to predict if she will continue to earn reductions or not or earn them consistently.

I wish I had a dollar for every time Gracie looked like she was headed towards remission and was earning reduction after reduction. At first, we did get our hopes up but then we learned it’s best to not even think about it. Keep your eye on the “regulation” ball, not the remission ball. I am not trying to be a Debbie Downer but Nelli has a long way to go from 4.75u to remission so just take it a cycle and a dose at a time and be thankful she looks this great right now.
Hear you... AGREE ;)
 
“falls into the 30s” @Marje and Gracie ”... not falls into the 40’s
While dropping below 50 earns a reduction, sometimes within the first four cycles after the reduction especially, you’ll see them drop below 50 into the 40s. If you aren’t having to really feed a lot of HC food and/or syrup to get her to come up above 50 and surf, it’s often best to hold off on the reduction until the depot depletes to the current dose. However, I always err on the side of caution when it comes to dropping in the 30s. Even if it’s still the depot talking, you are starting to lose a safety net and it’s easier to take the dose back up from a failed reduction (i.e. reducing from a drop into the 30s) then it is to deal with a symptomatic hypo.
 
Last edited:
... wandering into ignorance zone now :-|
I understand completely, the depot and the fact that Nelli not only has a full depot from numerous 5u cycles- she was given more insulin then should have last night which filled the depot a little bit more. I understand all of this. I now understand why her lowest number today was a +7.

I am confused only because I do not know what I might be facing tonight (and/or why) based upon her low PMPS. Watch her like a hawk every 1 to 2 hours tonight :nailbiting:?
I will do what I need to do for Nelli.
~I am not feeling well, not much better than yesterday. I am sick… Burning the candles at both ends.
I would greatly appreciate input... any wisdom and/or advice out there :bighug:
*I will do what I need to do for Nelli.
 
Last edited:
I'd get a +1 and +2 and let's see how it goes

If you're really sick, there's nothing wrong with feeding her enough HC food to abort the cycle. You'd still need to check her, but it's less likely she'd keep you up all night (of course we don't know if she will or not at this point)

I would have suggested doing a BCS tonight of something like 2.5U so you'd be a lot less likely to have to be up all night.

Sometimes we have to take care of ourselves!
 
Krystina, she is looking fabulous. :cat: Just scrolling through her SS to now is a big difference! And look at you shooting those greens! :D

I would get a +2 and if it's the same of lower than the pre shot you would need to test some more or do Chris's suggestion with HC food to abort and be able to get some more sleep. Nothing worse than being sick and having a kitty falling.
 
Krystina, she is looking fabulous. :cat: Just scrolling through her SS to now is a big difference! And look at you shooting those greens! :D

I would get a +2 and if it's the same of lower than the pre shot you would need to test some more or do Chris's suggestion with HC food to abort and be able to get some more sleep. Nothing worse than being sick and having a kitty falling.
Thanks Bobbie :)
 
I'd go ahead and feed her some high carb food and call it a night. Leave some food down for later in case she needs it.

The higher carb food will work it's way out of her system fairly quickly....remember, even when we use HC to bring their BG up when they drop too low, it doesn't last forever
 
Back
Top