10/23 Mikan AMPS 322, +2 206, +4 240, +7.5 284: PMPS 274, +2 167, +3 169

Mikanmama (Mikan GA)

Very Active Member
10/22/24

Good morning.

Mikan continues her high altitude journey so we increased her dose last night. Paws crossed for better response!

We have a mobile vet coming today for Mikan. This is a first time with them and I don't know what to expect. They are two women operation and come in a van that has equipment to do some procedures. So at least, we can get blood work done and get an insulin prescription.

Wishing you all a wonderful day!
 
10/22/24

Good morning.

Mikan continues her high altitude journey so we increased her dose last night. Paws crossed for better response!

We have a mobile vet coming today for Mikan. This is a first time with them and I don't know what to expect. They are two women operation and come in a van that has equipment to do some procedures. So at least, we can get blood work done and get an insulin prescription.

Wishing you all a wonderful day!
Good morning, Kit. Good luck with the new mobile vet. I absolutely love that idea. I wish I could get that for Ivy.
(none of that holistic vets here do that, however).
Let us know how it goes.

Does Mikan behave for the vet and for blood draws?
Sending good vibes for a successful visit and for Mikan to come back to earth today. Have a gentle slide down, sweetie girl :cat:

Hope you have a good day, Kit :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Cool! So will they come in your house or will you have to take Mikan out to the van?

Good luck on the increase! Paws crossed!
Hi Heather,
I'm not really sure how things will be done. I'll have a carrier ready in case we need to take Mikan into the van.
I'm probably more nervous than she is (Mikan, of course, has no idea :p)
I'll report back how things go!
 
Good morning, Kit. Good luck with the new mobile vet. I absolutely love that idea. I wish I could get that for Ivy.
(none of that holistic vets here do that, however).
Let us know how it goes.

Does Mikan behave for the vet and for blood draws?
Sending good vibes for a successful visit and for Mikan to come back to earth today. Have a gentle slide down, sweetie girl :cat:

Hope you have a good day, Kit :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci,
I'm nervous about this whole thing. I hope Mikan will not react badly.
I'm expecting it to be relatively low key, as they'll just do basic physical and blood draw. I'm assuming that they are used to draw blood at home - we shall see!
I'm also hoping that I can work with them for her glucose control, rather than her trying to tell me what to do.
Hope Ivy's doing well after the vet visit and you get to enjoy the day, Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
I'm nervous about this whole thing. I hope Mikan will not react badly.
I'm expecting it to be relatively low key, as they'll just do basic physical and blood draw. I'm assuming that they are used to draw blood at home - we shall see!
I'm also hoping that I can work with them for her glucose control, rather than her trying to tell me what to do.
Hope Ivy's doing well after the vet visit and you get to enjoy the day, Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hope it’s very low key and should be less stressful than having to transport her to a vet’s office. Plus hearing the dogs barking when you don’t have a cat only practice never helps. Ivy hates hearing the dogs :banghead:
I hope Mikan is very calm and everything goes very well. Can’t wait to hear how it all goes, Kit :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
I hope it’s very low key and should be less stressful than having to transport her to a vet’s office. Plus hearing the dogs barking when you don’t have a cat only practice never helps. Ivy hates hearing the dogs :banghead:
I hope Mikan is very calm and everything goes very well. Can’t wait to hear how it all goes, Kit :bighug::cat::bighug:
Oh Staci, it was so much better! She was stressed out and not cooperating at first in the house, so they took her to the van where she did much better.
Looks like she will need the dental thing - that may be keeping her BG higher. We'll have a look at the results of the blood test and we go from there.
The vet was really nice and very knowledgeable. They do the dental in the van too. Overall, it was a good experience. But I'm exhausted from mentally all worked up!
 
Oh Staci, it was so much better! She was stressed out and not cooperating at first in the house, so they took her to the van where she did much better.
Looks like she will need the dental thing - that may be keeping her BG higher. We'll have a look at the results of the blood test and we go from there.
The vet was really nice and very knowledgeable. They do the dental in the van too. Overall, it was a good experience. But I'm exhausted from mentally all worked up!
I’m so glad it’s done, Kit. And glad you liked them. It’s great they found a way to get her to cooperate, even if it was in their van.

I’m sure you are emotionally exhausted. I know when I came home last night I was so wiped out. I couldn’t wait to go to bed.

It just stresses me out so much. I’m sure you had the same experience.

I’m sorry to hear she needs a dental. That’s never fun. But she’s young enough that hopefully it’ll all work out just fine and maybe it will help her numbers overall.
Sending you lots of calming thoughts for a much more boring night ahead :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m so glad it’s done, Kit. And glad you liked them. It’s great they found a way to get her to cooperate, even if it was in their van.

I’m sure you are emotionally exhausted. I know when I came home last night I was so wiped out. I couldn’t wait to go to bed.

It just stresses me out so much. I’m sure you had the same experience.

I’m sorry to hear she needs a dental. That’s never fun. But she’s young enough that hopefully it’ll all work out just fine and maybe it will help her numbers overall.
Sending you lots of calming thoughts for a much more boring night ahead :bighug::bighug::bighug:
My goodness, Staci. I can't believe how much it took out of me o_O
It was as good as it gets with Mikan, yet, my legs are completely done. They don't work any more!
Mikan seems to have recovered from it - she was pretty much herself at the PMPS.
The dental is a bummer, but they will come to the house first thing in the morning and take Mikan to their van to just get it done.
I have no energy to cook - we are going out for a quick Mexican food dinner in the neighborhood. :) A glass of beer and queso will do a lot good for me :p
Hope Ivy has recovered nicely and you are having a lovely evening! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top