10/23 Maestro PMPS+11 130; AMPS 316

Maestro's Mom

Member Since 2018
Maestro dx 9/26/18, started on 2 units bid Lantus on 9/28/18 & is up to 4 units bid. PMPS+11 is 130. Should I inject 4 units or decrease dose? His numbers have been very high and have been dropping the last couple of days. Don't want to drop BG too low.

UPDATE: Ate 3 oz FF Classic Pate after 130 reading. BG up to 316 @ AMPS. Going to proceed with 4 U Lantus.
 
Last edited:
Maestro dx 9/26/18, started on 2 units bid Lantus on 9/28/18 & is up to 4 units bid. AMPS is 130. Should I inject 4 units or decrease dose? His numbers have been very high and have been dropping the last couple of days. Don't want to drop BG too low.
Are you able to test today? With that 130 start - that's quite a change from those high numbers. I'm not comfortable giving dosing advice - but less is better here - as you've just changed food? Was he eating kibble before? I see that he's eating FF wet now - those are all 0 carb foods - you don't want him to go too low - lots of changes in a short period of time call for you to be conservative.

To catch they eyes of the experts please go into your title and on the left hand side select the '?' - and right after your 10/23 Maestro 130 - write 'DOSAGE ADVICE PLEASE' - so they will see that and will answer your question ASAP.
 
At home today and can test/monitor closely. Was eating FF Classic pate plus Royal Canin kibble for Main Coons prior to dx. Vet put him on Hills Rx m/d (13%) but his numbers were consistently high. Switched him back to FF Classic pate without any kibble.
 
At home today and can test/monitor closely. Was eating FF Classic pate plus Royal Canin kibble for Main Coons prior to dx. Vet put him on Hills Rx m/d (13%) but his numbers were consistently high. Switched him back to FF Classic pate without any kibble.
Yep, get rid of the kibble - diabetic cats don't need any carbs (kibble) in the mix - it just confuses the blood glucose readings that you're getting because you don't know how much is getting elevated from the food or is it really from their diabetes....

So now that he's eating only Fancy Feast pate's he's getting much less carbs so you have a better idea of his true BG readings. I think he maybe doesn't need as much insulin - so proceed carefully and test frequently. Do you have medium carb and high carb FF pate's on hand? Karo syrup or honey? Please see my post today to see pics of our hypo kit (foods marked on the bottom of the can as to their percent of carbs) From Dr. Pierson's catfood chart (link in my signature)...but also easily found if you just google it.

You also need to add the '?' to your title - nice job on the caps though :) When you're in the thread title, click on 'edit title' then go to the far left hand side, you'll see a little pulldown menu - one of them is the little blue question mark icon. Put your cursor there and select the blue icon...it should appear in your thread title...

I see you're in Michigan - Newberry is Up North, right? South Lyon is just outside of Ann Arbor...welcome to the FDMB :)
I don't know if you've posted before or not??? We can cover that little dealie next :)
 
I have 13% carb food, Karo syrup & honey. :cat:

Thanks for the help on adding the '?' to my title.

I'm originally from East Lansing (GO GREEN); moved to Bellaire in 1980, widowed in 2013, remarried August this year and just moved to Newberry in the UP. :):coffee:
 
Back
Top