10/23 Klinger

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good morning,
Klinger is scheduled for his dental today. We are also having them take blood samples for the IAA and IGF-1 tests and p'titis.
Klinger had a wild ride yesterday - check out his ss.
Wish us luck!
Boy is he hungry this morning! Another hour and we can bring him to the v e t.
Marcy
 
Loads of happy thoughts coming your way! Hey
dont let them give him that long acting antibiotic shot- covenia?, I think,- its potentially dangerous. Use something that you can stop if he reacts badly to it. Antirobe is what my vet uses before and after dental work.

and if he needs pain meds because they pull a tooth, ask for buprenex (bupe), rather than metacam. extended use of metacam can also be dangerous. Supposedly there is a new black box warning out for metacam (finally)
 
:YMSIGH: I haven't heard anything recently, and I'm waiting anxiously. I think his mouth needed more work than they originally thought, so I'm hoping all is well.
 
He's home!!!!! Finally. Holy moly. 8 extractions later and he's finally home. They have him on bupe 0.25 ml and clavamox 1.8 ml both 2x's a day.
He's pupils are huge. Got him home and his number is 443. It's +14 now. Should I give a token dose of insulin at this point?
Thanks for all of the good thoughts today. :-D
 
Good to hear, I was hoping all went well. 8 extractions!! Wow! Going forward, I'm hoping this will really make a huge difference for you guys.
 
how's he feeling? will he eat?
poor baby boy, that can't feel very good.
please give him extra scritches from me.
 
-when there eyes are huge like that, Im always afraid they could get hurt jumping off the bed so keep him close tonight.
-I was able to half the bupe dose and get a happy cat, without the BIG eyes. How long do they think he will need it? It works so well on pain...thank God!
-remember Fortiflora if he starts to get "loose" from the clavamox.

- shoot early tomorrow, if you didn't shoot tonight. You might want to back off a little bit until we see if the meds / extractions changes things, and if he is eating. Hopefully now he can go to a set dose...

-try to check ketones ASAP

WELCOME HOME KLINGER!


-
 
He had no problem eating when he got home from the procedure.
10/24 - amps 550 -He ate a little bit. Definitely in pain. Gave bupe, he ate more and then I gave him his insulin 3.6u and clavamox. Neg - Ketones. He seemed hungry all day - ate 2.5 cans by 2:00 p.m. Will reduce dose tonight based on the surgery and the numbers he threw the night of 10/22. Wonder how low he would have gone if I didn't give him the kitty crack. Looks like he goes too low over night and then he has HI amps. If I cut back on the PM dose maybe he won't bounce so high the next morning. Maybe? I'm going to try it and see. 10/24 - PMPS 493 fat 3.3 u's. Probably not enough, but I have to start somewhere.
Nancy, I'll cut back a little on the bupe dose tomorrow since I won't be home to keep an eye on him. Thanks for staying up with me the other night! It was great to have your support and immediate feedback.
Lori, I gave him extra scritches from you.
Gator, I really hope this makes a difference for us too. at least to get him a little more stable and not so all over the place.
Robin, I've been thinking about you! I remember what you said about October being a hard month for you. Sending you a (((((Robin)))).Thanks for checking in on Klinger.
For those that checked in on Klinger - thank you too! I'm so glad he made it out of the anesthesia! He felt your good vibes! Oh, and the vet preforming the dental extractions (not Klinger's regular vet) said that she does not like to give covenia (sp?) because once they get the shot and if they have a bad reaction, there's nothing you can do. That was great to hear. I didn't have to explain that to her! ;-)
 
please please please
start doing bedtime checks every night. You can tell a lot about where they might go from a +3.5 or a +3.75. :cool:

It would give us the best info we can potentially use M-th.
 
I will absolutely do my very best to get some pm tests done. I'm embarrassed to admit that DH and I are often asleep by +3 :oops: . Seeing his numbers the other night was a big eye opener (to me).
 
Best wishes for a speedy recovery.
After the extractions, you may be seeing a dose need decrease; Shadoe dropped a great deal after her single extraction.
She also went very low the next day, effects of the anesthesia. After so many extractions, I don't think I would want to decrease the pain meds too quickly.

It's good to hear you are having the acro/IAA tests done; it's helpful to know whether you have a functioning pancreas or not.
 
2ml of bup?!! Yes BIG eyes would happen on that type of dose. @-) I'm betting you meant .2 or .25ml? Bup should be .3mg/ml. Typical dose for cats is like 0.005 to 0.01 mg per pound.

Sorry, I just have to sanity check here. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top