10/23 KiKi amps 132 +3 73 +4.5 101 pmps 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & KiKi

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28034&start=0
OK -- so here's the deal: I drew the insulin into the syringe, tapped out all the air bubbles, pressed the plunger as far up as it would GENTLY go (making sure any air bubbles exit before the plunger gets to that point -- sometimes that means pulling back the plunger and tilting the syringe to make that happen). Whatever tiny bit was left in the syringe is all he got for insulin. Now at +3 he is already @ 73. That is why I wondered if maybe the high preshot numbers were being caused from bouncing and suggested OTJ trial might be in order. I don't think I am capable of shooting any LESS amount and I think shooting MORE would bounce even higher. Do you think it's possible that his "normal" could be in the blue range instead of the green? I'll test again here shortly
 
Re: 10/23 KiKi amps 132 +3 73 +4.5 101

I assume you've played around with used syringes to see what comes out when you try to measure a dose like this?
I've mentioned this before several times, but I had no luck getting a Magic Drop from U100 syringes. Instead I used U40s, and compressing the plunger before inserting into the cartridge reliably pulled up one drop (which, as you've noted, requires squeezing and maintaining pressure when withdrawing the needle from the cat).

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 10/23 KiKi amps 132 +3 73 +4.5 101

the main clues I look for when I'm thinking about an OTJ trial for a cat are 1) low numbers, 2) 7 days on a dose with numbers under 120 and mostly green, or 3) inverted curves, which can signify too much insulin when the dose is that teeny (they can also signify too little insulin, just to keep things interesting).

I don't see any of those things on KiKi's spreadsheet at this point. Usually when the numbers look like this (mid-high blue on the ends and green in the middle), we suggest adding a snack at +8 or +9 (if his pancreas is working then the food will stimulate the pancreas and bring the preshots down), and/or we suggest fattening the dose to try to bring the preshots down. There have been cats who bounce from tiny doses, but usually we see inverted curves then and KiKi doesn't have those. Just MHO, but I would increase the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top