AZJenks
Member Since 2014
10/22
Oh boy. Here we go.
Jenks broke last night's 295 PMPS in a big fashion, ultimately dropping 187 points throughout the PM cycle. He continued to slide through AMPS until he hit the 60s, then rebounded a bit into the 70s and had been hanging out there ever since. He's feisty and obnoxious, so I know he's feeling good.
But now I have a dosing problem.
One option is to try to hold the dose and see if he surfs these numbers. Unfortunately, we have no data for how he performs at this dose at lower BG readings. Just two days ago, we saw him from from 145 PMPS to 38 at +7, and tonight's PMPS reading will almost certainly be lower than that. I'm concerned about the risk, even though I'm here to monitor him all night.
Another option is to take a reduction. I just don't know how much. One unit is the obvious choice, but I'm not sure if it will have any effect once we factor in depot action. What I do know is that the reduced BCS dose of 7U given yesterday morning was not enough to control numbers. So an effective reduction would be somewhere between 1 to 6 units. Not really sure how to make that decision.
I don't know how to reconcile those two with the fact that he seems to be surfing just fine right now without any additional intervention.
Oh boy. Here we go.
Jenks broke last night's 295 PMPS in a big fashion, ultimately dropping 187 points throughout the PM cycle. He continued to slide through AMPS until he hit the 60s, then rebounded a bit into the 70s and had been hanging out there ever since. He's feisty and obnoxious, so I know he's feeling good.
But now I have a dosing problem.
One option is to try to hold the dose and see if he surfs these numbers. Unfortunately, we have no data for how he performs at this dose at lower BG readings. Just two days ago, we saw him from from 145 PMPS to 38 at +7, and tonight's PMPS reading will almost certainly be lower than that. I'm concerned about the risk, even though I'm here to monitor him all night.
Another option is to take a reduction. I just don't know how much. One unit is the obvious choice, but I'm not sure if it will have any effect once we factor in depot action. What I do know is that the reduced BCS dose of 7U given yesterday morning was not enough to control numbers. So an effective reduction would be somewhere between 1 to 6 units. Not really sure how to make that decision.
I don't know how to reconcile those two with the fact that he seems to be surfing just fine right now without any additional intervention.
Last edited: