10-23 Ittle +12=60 +12.5=57 +13=56 +14 =74 +16=104 +18=102 /shot +1=80 +1.5=62 +2=60

Did you feed again? if so what time was it?
I fed him again...after +13. He didn't eat much. He was a lil nauseous from slight constipation. He had a BM and vomited bile immediately afterward. I tried to offer him food but, he wasn't interested. He slept until about an hour ago. He is now asking for food.
 
I fed him again...after +13. He didn't eat much. He was a lil nauseous from slight constipation. He had a BM and vomited bile immediately afterward. I tried to offer him food but, he wasn't interested. He slept until about an hour ago. He is now asking for food.
If you are planning on shooting at +18, you want to withhold food since you don't want the number to be food influenced.
I do feel for him as he hasn't had much of a breakfast, and he's been filling icky also you note he had a vomit, George can have that happen if he doesn't eat regular.

How long till +18?
 
If you are planning on shooting at +18, you want to withhold food since you don't want the number to be food influenced.
I do feel for him as he hasn't had much of a breakfast, and he's been filling icky also you note he had a vomit, George can have that happen if he doesn't eat regular.

How long till +18?
+18 is now(4:30pm) and I did pull his food 2 hours prior to +18
 
How you you feel about just waiting till PM. And if he bounces up , which he might you could shot the same 1.1 and then give the reduction in the AM.

IF he stays flat, then reduce tonight’s dose.
 
How you you feel about just waiting till PM. And if he bounces up , which he might you could shot the same 1.1 and then give the reduction in the AM.

IF he stays flat, then reduce tonight’s dose.
I went ahead and gave the 1.1u. Hope that didn't really just screw things up. I was scared to delay him anymore. Uh oh I hope I jdidn't mess up big time
 
I went ahead and gave the 1.1u. Hope that didn't really just screw things up. I was scared to delay him anymore. Uh oh I hope I jdidn't mess up big time
Just get a +1 and +2 so you know how active the cycle might be.

I was thinking more to give you a break. And the two 18 hours can potentially mess up 3 cycles. I have done them in the past with good success.

You are doing super managing 2 diabetic cats!!
 
He should be ok, just make sure you now get a +1.
Did he eat OK at +18?
I plan on being very vigilant with testing. He ate ok. Since I've introduced the MC, when needed, he's starting to turn his nose up to the LC. The true appetite test with him is chicken. I offered him about 2 Tbsp of shredded chicken and he licked the bowl clean. So, I think he may being picky to an extent with the LC. Plus, when he's not regular with BM's he eats less.
 
I went ahead and gave the 1.1u.
You really should have taken the reduction down to 0.8 or 0.75u, he went below 50. Please take it at the next shot, not taking reductions when they are earned can get you into very deep water, and see you fighting low numbers.

You do a great job of monitoring his BG, so hopefully you will be able to keep on top of this. As Bobbie has said get a +1 and +2, if he is flat or dropping at +1 try getting him to eat some right their and then, if he won't touch the LC then give him some MC (or mix it in with LC if that will get him to eat)
 
I think we thought that he would bounce by +18 for you to shoot the same 1.1 again. But the stinker didn’t bounce.

Yes , be vigilant with testing and like Gill said, feed him if he starts dropping early .
 
Briere, I just finished up work for the day and I see that you've had quite an exciting day with Ittle! Great that you're getting help from the wise ones. Hang in there..I know the first time this happens it's wild...but you'll get it .. and then 'enjoy the ride' :bighug::bighug:
 
Just so we don’t get confused, the test you got of 97 was before + 1 And the test of 80 is at at +1. That way everyone knows that it was 1 hour after you shot insulin.

But let’s get him carved up because onset hasn’t even happened yet. He has nothing to prove , we know he earned a reduction.
 
The best thing to do is to mix A tsp of HC gravy ( that’s where all the carbs are) with some LC. The reasoning is the HC wears off fast and the LC carries the BGs longer.
 
Yes he does tend to do that, it's what it looked like to me when I was looking through the numbers.
It's not unusual for him to be flat at +1.
He may have already onset, so now it's about trying to get him to stay up.
+2=60.. I just gave him another Tsp HC w/ a drop of karo....hope that's not too extreme since it seems he's leveling out
 
I would use the gravy but, my HC(17%) has no gravy:( I've been adding a lil water from the HC dry cat food I soaked and mushed up. Best alternate to gravy I could think of
 
Just be careful not to fill him up in case he hasn’t nadired yet.

At the next test if he’s holding 60 or above , I would hold off on the HC abd just offer 1 tsp of LC. IF he won’t eat that, try MC.
 
Stinker he is not making it easy.
How is his appetite?
I might go for a teaspoon of MC or a teaspoon of HC. I know he is not much different to the 60 at the mo. But I would feel more comfortable if he was coming up.
I'm only suggesting the HC since he already earned his reduction so we've no need to let him prove anything. Usually I wouldn't go for HC unless they were under 50

Check again in 30
 
Stinker he is not making it easy.
How is his appetite?
I might go for a teaspoon of MC or a teaspoon of HC. I know he is not much different to the 60 at the mo. But I would feel more comfortable if he was coming up.
I'm only suggesting the HC since he already earned his reduction so we've no need to let him prove anything. Usually I wouldn't go for HC unless they were under 50

Check again in 30
I agree. I would put some LC in with the HC to carry him a bit.
 
Stinker he is not making it easy.
How is his appetite?
I might go for a teaspoon of MC or a teaspoon of HC. I know he is not much different to the 60 at the mo. But I would feel more comfortable if he was coming up.
I'm only suggesting the HC since he already earned his reduction so we've no need to let him prove anything. Usually I wouldn't go for HC unless they were under 50

Check again in 30
His appetite is holding up...that's a bonus. I'm giving him about 1 Tsp HC 1/2 Tsp LC w/ 2 drops of karo. It's concerning that I'm not seeing any type of jolt from the karo, HC. or the 1/2 tsp of dry kibble I gave him at +1.5. In times past just a few pieces of dry kibble would send him sky high. It's almost like HC has no affect on him or I'm just holding him steady from dropping more.
 
His appetite is holding up...that's a bonus. I'm giving him about 1 Tsp HC 1/2 Tsp LC w/ 2 drops of karo. It's concerning that I'm not seeing any type of jolt from the karo, HC. or the 1/2 tsp of dry kibble I gave him at +1.5. In times past just a few pieces of dry kibble would send him sky high. It's almost like HC has no affect on him or I'm just holding him steady from dropping more.
It’s real apparent that he needed that reduction, especially coming off another 18 hour cycle
 
I got a +3=68!!!! Karo or food is finally kicking in!!! I'm not gonna let my guard down for one moment. I do realize this could be temporary
Test again in 30 minutes. If he is holding 68 don’t feed anything. In order to know that he is out of the woods , we want 2 test 30 minutes apart without food influence and seeing that he is holding or going up .

I will check in in 30 minutes
 
It's a small world! I was born and raised in Hubert, NC...about 8 miles from Camp Lejune Main gate. I currently live near Boone, NC.
You're to funny! Leave the ole' DH behind and come back home!
It is a small world! Yep , my Daddy was a Marine! My older brother , ( now gone) was born there also.
I also lived in Cherry Point ,NC when I was about 11 years old. I love the Carolinas. I976, my parents retired and went back down to Kinston , NC ,( after they got me and my older sister and brother married off here in PA) so I had a lot of exposure to NC as an adult for 25 years when I would go down and visit them. I love the beaches there. We went to Emerald Island every summer.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top