10/23 Comet AMPS @ 119 - +4 @ 102 - Help! Switching from AlphaTrak to Relion

Amanda Comet’s Mom

Member Since 2021
Hello,
We decided this morning to switch to the Relion meter as the AT2 strips are craaaazy expensive.
I have had a really good trend with Comet & now I’m just confused.
Last night for AT he was 170 at PMPS and 150 at +3
This morning our first initial check on Relion he was 119. Isn’t 50-120 normal? I gave him his 1.5u Now I’m a little worried what his numbers will be. How often should I check him today on our first day of using this meter.
He also started Clavamox today so hoping his appetite will be ok.
 
Human meters read lower than pet meters. Btw, your Signature still says AlphaTrak2.

Since you've shot your lowest PS so far, you could start by testing at +1 and +2.

There is a formatting change that needs to be made to the SS - with human meters, the "take action" number is 50 and not 68. I can help make that change. I will send you a request for edit access to your SS. It will come to the gmail account linked to the SS.

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/comet-slgs-method.254473/
 
Human meters read lower than pet meters. Btw, your Signature still says AlphaTrak2.

Since you've shot your lowest PS so far, you could start by testing at +1 and +2.

There is a formatting change that needs to be made to the SS - with human meters, the "take action" number is 50 and not 68. I can help make that change. I will send you a request for edit access to your SS. It will come to the gmail account linked to the SS.

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/comet-slgs-method.254473/
His eating was spotty today, he ate for over an hour to try to get his 3 oz in. I missed his +1 so I did a +2 and he was at 100, will try for a +3 or +4 I have to run an errand quick. I approved your request thanks!
 
Also, we want kitties to have all green numbers below 100 if remission is the goal. Numbers between I think 72-150 are reference ranges for non-diabetic cats. Your vet might think your kitty is in remission if you’re seeing numbers in that range but the experience of the FDMB shows that cats who don’t get into the 50-80 range and stay there are unlikely to stay in remission. Look at my Ruby’s SS for the year 2021. I kept her on insulin even though her vets said she didn’t need it but then we got on steroids and everything went south again.
 
Also, we want kitties to have all green numbers below 100 if remission is the goal. Numbers between I think 72-150 are reference ranges for non-diabetic cats. Your vet might think your kitty is in remission if you’re seeing numbers in that range but the experience of the FDMB shows that cats who don’t get into the 50-80 range and stay there are unlikely to stay in remission. Look at my Ruby’s SS for the year 2021. I kept her on insulin even though her vets said she didn’t need it but then we got on steroids and everything went south again.
Thank you for this info! Is this the range I’m looking for for the Relion meter?
 
On the Relion you want to see mostly blue as a goal. A drop under 90 means a reduction since you are following SLGS. If you switch to TR it’s easier to keep her in healthy numbers. Then your goal is 50-100 but that can require a lot more testing. Given your last history I understand why you chose SLGS.
 
Back
Top